We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Peveril of the Peak Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Dovedale B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 25, 2014

It is true that the hotel is dated and on the down side the room did smell a little musty but it was clean .The weather wasn't great this bank holiday and the room appeared cold however once we had climbed the wonderful "hill" at the back of the hotel we were soon warmed up and ready for dinner. The hotel caters well for walkers...and although we were there for the walking too the early meal at 7.15 the early breakfast, only served until 9.00 am and of course the early check out by 10.00 am were a little disappointing. We had only booked in for one night and wanted to make the most of the stay. However as cheshire townies who love good food we were amazed at just how good dinner was and I believe there was plenty of variety....better to do a few dishes really well than lots in a mediocre way. We thought the 3 course meal, given that it was so tasty was VERY good value for money. We had salmon mousse and figs with cheese It was wrapped in bacon rather than prosciutto as far as I could tell...... But very tasty. Then A beautiful piece of salmon with lovely prawn risotto, pork with a mango centre lots of veg and potatoes. A lovely poached pear ice cream and chocolate and lemon tart to finish...really delicious. Breakfast was great too, both the full English and the smoked salmon and scrambled egg! Yes we spotted the packed lunch goodies too....really welcomed! The staff were customer friendly and the lovely duvets were very cosy at night we weren't cold at all! Recommended provided you know it is dated! Ps and there was wifi!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dianepb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 119 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as a family of four. The hotel has wonderful grounds and on the first evening we were lucky enough to be able to sit outside with a bottle of wine in the sun which was lovely. The food in the restaurant was nice, but limited choice for those outside of hf holidays and at £23 quite expensive. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was lovely.

The rooms are a bit dated and a little dark but more than suitable for a base to stay when out enjoying the lovely countryside and surrounding towns. On the second night we ate out in Ashbourne where there was plenty of choice.

Aside from the views, the staff were what made the hotel - everyone was very accommodating and always polite and courteous.

Stayed: August 2014
5  Thank cat1586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

stayed one night , fantastic views from hotel gardens and that's about it.
We was placed in the depths of the hotel, room smelt of damp marks on all walls , hotel is in great need of a revamp , shower was like a bird bath.

I suggest if your under 60 and not on a HF holiday then stay in the centre of Ashbourne.

Not a pleasant stay in all .

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank moransarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights on a HF Holiday. The location cannot be beaten close to Dovedale and the beautiful village of Ashbourne. For a walking visit in Dovedale you couldn't pick a better location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank bryan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed at the hotel as part of an HF holiday learn map and compass break. On arrival there was plenty of car parking near to the main reception area which was dominated by a superb log burning stove.
I was allocated room 7 which was in the newer part of the building. My room was large and spacious with a super king size zip link bed and comfortable bed linen. One small problem was the lack of a headboard. The bathroom was functional with very good hot water, though the actual decor in both the bathroom and bedroom was a little tired and dated.
The choice at breakfast was very good and guests made up their own packed lunches from a very good variety of snacks, crisps, biscuits, fruits and sandwiches. The 3 course dinner in my opinion varied in quality with good starters and puddings but a poor choice of main meals and undercooked vegetables rather spoilt the overall effect.
All staff I found to be very courteous and helpful with special mention of Richard who although always very busy was efficient and well mannered.
All in all a good stay and enjoyable trip.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have just returned from the Peverill following a birthday weekend for my Aunt. Eighteen of us stayed as a group and we had a brilliant time. The rooms were lovely and warm. The 3 course evening meal was delicious, I had the Linguine which was so tasty. The service from all staff was second to none from Steve and Yvonne on reception and bar to all the restaurant staff. The hotel itself is warm and inviting with the log burning fire and leather settees. Although we didnt use the outside verandahs we could imagine ourselves sat out with a cold drink on a lovely summers evening. Several walks around the area cater for all capabilities from the ambler to the avid walker.
All in all a warm and inviting hotel we will be sure to return to in the coming months.
Thanks Peverill of the Peak for making my Aunts Birthday so special.
Sue & Ian

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slongden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

the room decor was old fashioned and the fabric in the bathroom need restoring - worse still, the carpet in the corridor had an pleasant odor reminiscent of an old people's home
the food was average and dining rota was suitable for children, not adults
one group leader was uncommunicative to the point of rudeness
nice location but I'm used to better accommodation & politeness

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dulciermdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, HF Holidays Ltd at Peveril of the Peak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for posting your feedback. HF Holidays aims to create a comfortable, sociable, country house experience for our guests. I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Sarah Davis, Research & Development Manager, HF Holidays Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dovedale
0.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
15 mi away
Breadsall Priory Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.3 mi away
Callow Hall Hotel
Callow Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mappleton
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peveril of the Peak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peveril of the Peak Hotel

Address: Thorpe, Dovedale DE6 2AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Dovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dovedale
Price Range: $116 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peveril of the Peak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country House takes its name from the novel by Sir Walter Scott, with the oldest part of the building dating back to the 1830s, and enjoys a stunning location in the quaint Peak District village of Thorpe. The Country House has 11 acres of manicured gardens and grounds and the towering hill of Thorpe Cloud as a backdrop. A footpath leads directly from the house to the famous stepping stones on the River Dove, on the Derbyshire and Staffordshire border ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Peveril of the Peak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Peveril Of The Peak
Peveril Of The Peak Hotel Dovedale, Derbyshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing