We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In much need of a good clean and renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peveril of the Peak Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Dovedale B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We booked our stay through a Groupon Voucher deal which was £69 for 2 course evening meal and bed - Breakfast was extra at £10 per person. Groupon claimed the value of the hotel stay was £173 and we had it discounted to £69. I must say that in no way was it worth £173. I would have been asking for my money back but at the Groupon price it was just about worth it.

The staff were helpful and friendly but the rooms were very shabby. I also had been told that the hotel was undergoing refurbishment so expected the rooms to at least be fresh and clean. Ours certainly wasn't and the wallpaper had stains on it where someone had spilt a drink the bedding was well worn, however, the sheets and pillow cases were white and clean.
The bathroom left a lot to be desired with cracked tiles and bath panel and mould but the towels were white and clean.

The food was average and could have been a bit warmer but pleasantly served by the waiters.

Log fire was good but the place lacked atmosphere and had a mishmash of furniture with no particular style or theme.

Would visit Dovedale again but probably not this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 5 which had a nice view of the country side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CSHLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 120 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2012

After reading some of the other reviews we didn't know what to expect but we really liked the hotel. A fantastic location, a footpath to Dovedale in the car park, we woke to great views as the sun rose. "Yes" the decor is a bit tired, a fact acknowledged by the management as there is an ongoing refurbishment programme. The restaurant was fine, I'd rather have a few things done well rather than a menu like a telephone directory! The wine list, whilst limited was not "5 star prices" as one reviewer said, have they ever stayed in a 5 star hotel? We had a bottle of red at £17.95. Our room was large, as I said, great views & a large bathroom.
After the meal, sat in the lounge, leather sofas & a log fire.
Breakfast was a buffet, only quiblble was the lack of real coffeee.
Definitely going back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank covblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We were bought a night away at this hotel as a present and all involved were expecting it to be a lovely night away. However a few weeks before the break we were in the area and stopped in to book the room. Immediately we were told they were due to be shut for a large portion of January for refurbishment….which I have to say was a relief as I thought the outside looked tired and in need of a bit of TLC. The staff there were helpful enough and we booked a room for the first weekend in February.

When we arrived for our weekend we noticed that nothing on the exterior of the hotel had changed so we assumed the refurb had happened inside however when we got to our room we were disappointed to find that it was in a less than desirable state. There was black mould all around the window, rust around the safety rail in the bath, cracks in the tiles, wallpaper peeling off and horrifyingly a blood stain on the bed cover.

Trying to make the most of the situation we ignored the little ‘imperfections’ and took the top cover off the bed and tried to carry on regardless. We spoke to the staff a number of times and aside from being a bit peculiar at first contact the staff there were lovely! We had an afternoon in the peaks and then came back for the dinner; which was to say the least mediocre. The food was limited in both choice and taste. The most disturbing part of the meal was when I looked up to the blinds over my head covering the skylights and realised that every one of them was covered in mould. I have to say at this point we were at a total loss to think where in this hotel the refurbishment that had rendered the hotel closed for the majority of January had taken place. Once again the staff could not have been more helpful throughout the meal and they were more than willing to hold a conversation.

The morning following our stay there was a good 7 inches of snow that had fallen overnight and as a result of the snow the hotel put on complementary late check out, extended breakfast times and reduced emergency room rates in case anybody was stranded. They cleared the drive well and offered help with get cars out from the car park.

All in all the general state of the hotel could be a lot better. With a bit of renovation the hotel would be perfect. Definitely cannot complain about the staff at all. I would love to see this hotel brought back to life and would happily visit again if it was!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BP2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012


What everyone else is saying about the hotel being run down and tired is 100% true. The dining room however, looks like it's been refurbished recently and was fine

We arrived just after lunch time on Saturday. The room we had was a superior. It had a nice big flat screen on the wall. It also had dog hairs all over the floor and paint flaking off the bathroom ceiling

We went to the bar and asked for a sandwich from the bar menu, as we'd had a long drive and hadn't eaten yet. We were told that the chef had gone out to buy food and would be back shortly. No problem, I'll have a packet of crisps. No crisps. Bar of chocolate? No chocolate. Any food at all ?  No, nothing

Went back to the to the room and waited an hour and a half before phoning reception to see if the chef had returned yet with the food. We were told that the chef wouldn't be returning until 6:30 when the evening meal was served. So we were stuck in the middle of nowhere in a hotel that didn't have any food at all, apparently. I complained and the very nice receptionist brought me some sandwiches. Felt a belt weird having to complain in a hotel just to get some food (of any description)

Only 1 veggie option when it was time for the evening meal - goat's cheese crumble with Mediterranean vegetables. I'm not a fussy eater but I couldn't finish it. It was bloody horrible. It sat in about half an inch of water and grease. My other half said the fish wasn't too bad though. Still find it hard to believe that we put a man on the moon over 40 years ago and you can still only get 1 veggie option on the menu in most places

Overheard other people asking for things such as Merlot, Zinfandel, cheese and biscuits etc only to be told that they didn't have any. Still no bar snacks at all in the evening

Surely the weekend is your busiest time so you'd make sure that you'd got enough in ? Wouldn't you know how many people to expect as well as they'd booked ? Or am I missing something ?

The only positive thing about the place is the location. Oh yeah, and the log fire, that was nice 

We definitely wouldn't go again and wouldn't recommend it to anybody else. If you do fancy going it's probably worth taking some food with you, you know, just in case they've not got anything in

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank janglypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis R, Manager at Peveril of the Peak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, it would appear that there may have been some communication problem here between what our young barman was aware of and what was conveyed to you but he has now been reprimanded for incorrectly advising you that there was no sandwiches available, we don’t stock chocolate and crisps as a rule and as you point out once the Assistant Manager was made aware there was a problem sandwiches were delivered promptly to your room.

The room you were in was a pet-friendly superior and I apologise that you found dog hairs in the room, this is not acceptable and I have spoken with our Head Housekeeper in this respect. I was also disappointed to hear that you did not like the vegetarian option nor felt there was enough vegetarian choices however the general feedback we received from the other 60 diners that evening regarding the overall food quality and the vegetarian dish was mainly positive. We certainly had cheese on the dessert menu that night at a supplement charge of £2.25, as far as the wines that you overheard other people asking for we had in fact introduced a new wine list last week and are in the process of running down the old wines via a bin ends list the total list currently has in excess of 30 wines so we still managed to offer a good range for those clients that actually ordered wine. We do endeavour to act on all our guest feedback and we always welcome that to be delivered to one of us in person so we could act on it at the time as you will have seen with the prompt response to your issue with the sandwiches which were delivered to you on a complimentary basis but that point seems to have been omitted from your review? Once again thank you for your post-visit comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

I could tell we wouldn't like this hotel as we approached from the road. It is desperately tired looking and in dire need of exterior refurbishment.

The interior is much the same. We had a superior room booked but there was nothing 'superior' about it I'm afraid. It was terribly dated and had that old musty aroma that turns your stomach on entry. In excited anticipation I whipped back the smelly curtains for a glance of the stunning Peak district and was faced with a disused tennis court, overgrown with weeds and what not. Depressing.

Needless to say myself and my wife were unwilling to stay overnight so we checked out almost immediately. However, having said all of this it is a 3* hotel that just needs a little tlc, I hope the owners can find the funds to bring it up to modern standards. It can't be denied that the surrounding location of Dovedale is stunning.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lazylee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a night and two days walking. We had a suite which had been cobbled together to fit in an unfinished 4 poster resulting in a hole where a bed light would have been and an offset picture clearly formerly between 2 beds. There was still very old masking tape around the french windows from a long ago attempt to paint the outside, bathroom needed some attention, grounds looked tatty.
Restaurant was huge and we were the only ones in there . The food was unimaginative and a poor choice. Wine price was very high but the wine we chose tasted like a cheap supermarket bottle; there was no house wine, other drinks were over priced.
There was no atmosphere, no log fire and only 2 other guests!
To be fair it was only a couple of weeks with the new owner and so we are hoping that there will be a massive improvement as this is a great location which we have used before and would be willing to give another try.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lynnm156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We had a 2nite stay 16/17 dec , very relaxing wk end food was nice hotel was very warm room nice the staff were great. We have booked again for february so looking forward to seeing how the refurb is comming along......

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dovedale
0.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
15.2 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
896 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ashbourne
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peveril of the Peak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peveril of the Peak Hotel

Address: Thorpe, Dovedale DE6 2AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Dovedale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Dovedale
Price Range: $117 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Peveril of the Peak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country House takes its name from the novel by Sir Walter Scott, with the oldest part of the building dating back to the 1830s, and enjoys a stunning location in the quaint Peak District village of Thorpe. The Country House has 11 acres of manicured gardens and grounds and the towering hill of Thorpe Cloud as a backdrop. A footpath leads directly from the house to the famous stepping stones on the River Dove, on the Derbyshire and Staffordshire border ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Peveril of the Peak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Peveril Of The Peak
Peveril Of The Peak Hotel Dovedale, Derbyshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing