We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing House”
Castle Hill House Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Castle Hill House Entrance
Hallway Rear of House and Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Castle Hill House Entrance
Hallway
Rear of House and Garden
Kitchen
Spiral Staircase
Spiral Staircase Landing
Spiral Staircase Cupola
Dining Room seating 28
Kitchen
Lounge
Central Staircase
First Floor Landing
Bedroom
Typical Bathroom/En-suite
Bedroom
Entrance Hallway
View of Castle from Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mams1983
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing House”
Reviewed September 4, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

House was easy to find with sat nav instructions, slightly on a hill sitting on a corner next to Tutbury Castle. One of the landlords Ian let us in and showed us around and fixed the gate that led to the garden where we had to park our cars before he left. All the rooms were nice and clean. Towels were included and some tea and coffee. Could easily get lost in the house! There were 27 of us staying there for a wedding that was near by. There was sufficient beds etc.

Although people did start to run out of toilet paper and there wasn't any spare anywhere, So I would suggest in bringing some of your own. We stayed there for 3 nights!!!

The house is close to some shops and restaurants thats 5-10 mins walk.

Can't really fault much about the house. Everything was perfect. Morning traffic might wake you up though.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trin42201...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and perfect for a large group!”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at this house with a group of 18 girls for a hen weekend and I cannot recommend it enough. The house has 8 bedrooms, all of a very good size, 5 of which have modern ensuite's and 2 of which were situated right next to a bathroom with bath/shower (so practically an ensuite!). There was plenty of room for everyone and we even had 2 spare bedrooms! The beds were extremely comfortable - everyone commented on that! The lounge area is large enough to seat everyone which is brilliant and equally there is a very spacious dining room. The dining tables in the photo are lots of small tables set out to form 2 separate dining tables however we actually moved them around to create one extra large dining table which seated 18 people (with room to spare). This worked out really well as it left us with two small tables spare which we kept to the side and used as drinks tables. The kitchen is also a really good size, there was room for us to all be in there at once. We had a huge tesco shop delivered and there was room for us to store everything - there is an American style fridge freezer in the actual kitchen and an extra fridge and freezer (both under the counter size) in the utility room which came in very useful. We hired a catering company one night who cooked us a 3 course dinner - definitely worth doing if you choose to stay here. The entrance hall is very grand with an absolutely huge mirror and was a great place for taking photos!! The house is set in a great location, the garden is lovely and backs onto Tutbury Castle which was such an amazing view and so close! You can walk up to the Castle in 30 seconds and pay to look round if you choose to. Electric gates lead to a private parking area which fit all of our cars perfectly. There is a lovely pub about a 5 minute walk away which does very good food.
Lisa and Andrew were really helpful during the booking process and also on arrival. It really was the perfect house - if you are a large group wanting a beautiful place to stay in a great location then you should definitely choose Castle Hill House. We all want to go back!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 5 x ensuite's!
Liked least: Sofas - could do with an update
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dancing in the hallway
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 29, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxurious AND comfortable
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 30, 2015
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you had a fantastic weekend and glad the Christmas decorations helped you get into the festive spirit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
amg2503
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous House For A Mixed Age Group”
Reviewed November 7, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I hired Castle Hill House for my 50th birthday weekend. The house is stunning & certainly has the Wow! Factor when you walk in. The details say it sleeps 28 and there are 8 bedrooms, most of which sleep 3-4 but bear in mind when working out your accommodation that you may not want to mix families in the same bedroom.
I loved the large kitchen & we seemed to spend most of our time in there. It was fairly well equipped (the fridge even had an ice-dispenser) but there were a couple of things we couldn't find which would have made life easier - baking trays & pizza cutter - but we managed & there was plenty of crockery, glasses, etc. The dishwasher was a bonus & meant that even after a dinner party for 21 people on the Saturday night none of our guests were stuck with the washing up!
There is a games room with table football, pool & table tennis that appealed to the teenagers in our group but only after we had put some of the chairs from the dining room in there as there was nowhere for them to sit while they were waiting their turn. The full Sky TV package was very welcome too so that guests could still watch their favourite sports fixtures!
The large dining room worked well for our dinner party & was a fairly bare room that once we had added fairy lights, bunting, balloons & table decorations looked stunning. Some of the furniture was a little past its best & a bit worn in places but overall it looked presentable & everywhere was very clean & tidy on our arrival.
Outside the grounds were well maintained with plenty of parking & a lovely seating area & climbing frame for the kids. I would have loved to sit outside with a chilled bottle of vino but unfortunately we didn't have good enough weather.
All in all it was a fabulous house to spend the weekend & everyone enjoyed themselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entrance hall's Wow! factor.
Liked least: No tea / coffee available for use on arrival, shortage of toilet rolls, no kitchen towels
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickiM123...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spectacular House with fantastic Views”
Reviewed April 4, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Got back yesterday from a four day break with family and friends. Booked Castle Hill House for our 10th Wedding Anniversary Vow Renewal, and I can honestly say that the house was a fantastic venue for the ceremony which took place in the amazing hallway and the whole house was a perfect backdrop for our photo's. Loved it so much that we didn't want to leave! Martin and Lisa couldn't have been more helpful, would highly recommend the house to anyone wanting a venue for a small celebration.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 25, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!
Liked least: The Peacocks screaming at 7am!
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing