We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay, gorgeous location and excellent...”

Review of The Bower House

Sitting area with picture window. Wonderful view of the Pennines from the two sofas.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting area with picture window. Wonderful view of the Pennines from the two sofas.
Looking towards the sleeping end. One large studio room gives great sense of space. The comfortable double bed. Can easily be folded away but few people bother.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Sitting area with picture window. Wonderful view of the Pennines from the two sofas.
Looking towards the sleeping end. One large studio room gives great sense of space.
The comfortable double bed. Can easily be folded away but few people bother.
Kitchen with bathroom beyond. Well equipped galley kitchen with all facilities.
Wood burning stove and TV. Books, maps, stereo, digital radio, free WiFi.
Magnificent view to the Pennines. Private sandstone terrace has field access and splendid open views
The Jacuzzi hot tub is normally available to guests for a small charge.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
soph1305
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely stay, gorgeous location and excellent facilities”
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a wonderful stay here, it was the perfect location, a beautiful rural village only a short drive from the main town of Penrith. We had our baby and small dog who were made very welcome, Freddy was kind enough to get a brand new high chair for our stay. There are some gorgeous circular walks from the doorstep which we enjoyed very much with our dog. The facilities were great with washing machine and tumble drier and a large open field for the dog. Glad there was a fire we could use as the temperature dropped quite a bit in the evenings. A great holiday we hope to return!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CelynBedf...
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage in a gorgeous setting”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I treated ourselves to a long weekend here in April. It's set in a lovely little village about 8 miles out of Penrith which was just far enough to feel like we were away from everything but still close enough to easily go an get supplies when we arrived. The cottage itself is really well equipped and felt really homely. It wasn't warm enough to eat outside when we were there but having the view out across the valley was still a great way to start the day. And at night, you can see an amazing number of stars due to the lack of light pollution.

Freddy was really welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed as well as letting us know that he would leave us to it but he was only over the way if we needed anything which I think is just the right balance :o)

The village itself is lovely for walking round and there are gardens there which felt like walking round the secret garden! The cafe in the village is great too. We didn't have chance to sample the pizza but we did have an amazing cooked breakfast there on our last morning.

We would highly recommend Ullswater and the adjacent Aira Waterfalls which are only a short drive away. Both are absolutely breathtaking and by comparison, when we drove all the way out to Windermere, we were quite disappointed! The drive there through amazing scenery was lovely though. At Aira Waterfalls we walked up to see the falls and around the surrounding hills then came back down to eat a picnic by the lake. We also got up early enough to watch the sun rise over the lake on our last morning which is beautiful if you can face getting up that early!

My only niggle - and it's a really minor one that won't matter to everyone - was that the wi-fi was a little sketchy. We had the laptop with us for my partners photography stuff which worked better than our phones though.

Overall, it was a lovely weekend in a gorgeous setting and we would definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It felt really homely and the location was lovely.
Liked least: The wi-fi was a little frustrating. There were some places we wanted to look up online for directions which would've been difficult if we didn't have the laptop with us.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithy815...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cottage”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Spent five days in The Bower House. Great location - a 15 minute drive to Penrith, 30 minute drive to Ullswater and 60 minute drive to Windermere.

The cottage was homely, warn and welcoming. Extremely well stocked with just about everything you could need in the kitchen. Comfy bed and sitting room.

Cottage was extremely well cleaned on arrival. Slightly patchy wi-fi but completely understandable given the size of the property.

Would happily stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well stocked kitchen - didn't need to bring any utensils.
Liked least: Patch Wifi.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily F
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Felt like home as soon as we walked in.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have just arrived back after a wonderful, relaxed week in the Bower House.

After a busy day exploring Cumbria we didn't arrive until after 10pm on our first night however Freddy was cheerfully waiting to give us a tour of the cottage and make us feel welcome.

The cottage was perfect and we were settled and content with our home away from home immediately. It was just what we needed and there is nothing that I would change about it at all. The cottage was full of character and personal touches and fully equipped with everything we needed (including fresh flowers!!) The village is also lovely - make sure you visit the Mill Yard Cafe for lunch in the courtyard or a candlelit Saturday night dinner (we did both).

Morland is a beautiful part of Cumbria and the cottage was a great base to explore Cockermouth, Ullswater, Grasmere and the like, all of which you can reach in under an hour.

Would highly recommend a stay at Greengill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character of the cottage and the location
Liked least: Style of bed could be reconsidered
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Wifi signal was weak but worked
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paul C
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magical place in the beautiful lakes.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Firstly freddy and faye were very welcoming perfect hosts.Every possible home from home items you could possibly need were there. The cottage and the views from the patio was all I could of hoped for. I would go again without a second thought. Thanks guys for making my stay memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location away from the day to day routine.
Liked least: Leaving .
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraMann
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect little countryside retreat”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in September 2012

we stayed here back in September 2012 but when I tried to write a review it wouldn't let me submit so am trying again!
We were a couple and also had another couple stay with us for a few nights, even with them staying there was ample room for us all. The cottage is very cosy and cleverly designed to make use of the limited space. It had just been refurbished/built when we arrived and they were finishing off the patio when we were there. I believe a fire was being installed too so it will be even cosier now. It's about half an hour to the nearest lake - Ullswater, which in my opinion is one of the better ones, as it is less touristy and crammed with holiday makers like Windermere. We had a small dog with us so there were plenty of walks in the area. The village itself is very pretty, it has a restaurant and a pub so we ate out most nights. The owners are very friendly and always happy to offer advice if you want some information on the area. We would certainly look at returning to this place should we ever visit the area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage and gardens
Liked least: the distance to the lakes
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing