We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay in quaint cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of One Fern Cottages

One Fern Cottages - stunning 16th Century stone cottage, with oak beams. Sleeps 5. Private parking.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One Fern Cottages - stunning 16th Century stone cottage, with oak beams. Sleeps 5. Private parking.
Lounge, with Range The stunning Victorian Range
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
One Fern Cottages - stunning 16th Century stone cottage, with oak beams. Sleeps 5. Private parking.
Lounge, with Range
The stunning Victorian Range
Kitchen
Cottage Kitchen
Kitchen- Oven & Hob
Beamed & Vaulted Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom- dressing area with views
Second bedroom
Dining Room- wooden floors and beams
Dining Room, with Stable door
The spacious dinning room
Bathroom
Bathroom- monsoon shower and bath
Downstairs toilet
Patio seated area
Second patio seated area
Parking space
Nearby Cartmel....a great place for a day trip
A Tarn near Coniston
A Lakeland Beck at Grasmere
Cartmel Racecourse- less than 3 miles away
The waterfall/beck running through Lindale
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Geoffrey...
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in quaint cottage”
Reviewed May 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

One Fern Cottages is a beautiful quaint cottage. Notwithstanding its age, it has all the modern features anyone could want. It's in the middle of a quiet village with lots of attractions within an easy drive. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone, particularly if you're looking for something with character and a little bit different. it wouldn't be suitable for people with disabilities and may not suit all older travellers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 19, 2015
Thank you for your lovely feedback. As the cottage is very old, it has some unique features which certainly add character to the place!! We do hope you can visit us again some time soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantel F
Louth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous & Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed April 21, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We have recently returned from One Fern Cottages and plan to book our next trip soon!
The cottage was very clean & tidy.
Equipped to the max!
Cosy log fire in living room.
Very comfortable!
In a lovely little village - would definitely recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open Fire
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2015
We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes Vicky Mair.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cosy clean warm and away from it all”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We have stayed here 4 times now. Each time everything has been perfect and no complaints. It is quaint with some really old features like the wood fire, rickety flooring and some low exposed beams. If you mind your head its a price worth paying for the comfort. A great balance between modern comforts ( central heating, wifi, leather suites and electric keyboard) with the old traditional and this worked really well for us. Being able to park one car immediately opposite the property in a bespoke place was really convenient.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy warm
Liked least: feeling a little off balance on sloping floors
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2015
It was a pleasure to have you back again and I am delighted you all had a wonderful stay. I think the digital piano has been a hit for you and other guests. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a1amf
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed November 23, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We stayed in this gorgeous cottage for 3 days and loved everything about it. It was well equipped with everything that you could possible need and more. It was spotless in every square inch not a single speck of dust anywhere. We loved it so much we didn't want to go out in the evening, so we made some beautiful food and snuggled up on the sofa. The cottage is in a great location for exploring the area and has lots of interesting places to visit locally with some lovely walks. I would highly recommend staying here you will absolutely love it, it's so quaint but also a real home from home with everything you need at your fingertips xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2014
We are thrilled you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you back for another stay in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grandmaje...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous Cottage”
Reviewed October 17, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Just returned from a three night stay at One Fern Cottages. I went with my husband and another couple who are great friends of ours. We all must say what a delight it was to stay in this beautiful property which is quiet and extremely well equipped. The owners have gone to so much trouble to make your stay as comfortable as possible providing everything you would need. We all like to play board games and spent the evenings doing this along with a glass of wine or two in the spacious dining room.
We ate in on two occasions but one evening we had a lovely meal at The Royal Oak just up the road. The pub is nicely decorated and had a good atmosphere. The waitress was very pleasant and the food was scrumptious. Try the Game sausage or the Steak & Ale pie with vegetables included all to be recommended.
One morning we caught the train from the station in Grange Over Sands to Arnside which only took 6 minutes and had a pleasant walk. It was very quiet being mid week but we all enjoyed the fresh air and exercise.
Lindale is a quaint village and the cottage is set in a superb location. We would very much like a return visit to this home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire and the facilities provided.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are so pleased that you had a great stay and hope to welcome you back to the Cottage sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
runcek
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay!”
Reviewed September 26, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage was the perfect setting for our Holiday. It is kept so clean and updated with wonderful modern touches. The location was wonderful and centrally located for seeing much of the Lake District. The kitchen is stocked with anything you'd need if planning to cook at the cottage. I would for sure book there again if ever going through the Lake District again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bathtub, hands down.
Liked least: The full mattress was very soft, but would be to other people's satisfaction I am sure.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and are pleased that you had a lovely stay. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yan S
1 review
“Excellent quirky cottage full of character”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This cottage is lovely abd the service, cleanliness and facilities offered was outstanding.

My 3 young kids all under 5 loved it. The bed room set up was great couldnt ask for more.

Set in a quite village but lots of things to do in the surrounding area.

I would strongly recommend this place to anyone thinking of going to the lakes.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that both you and the children enjoyed your stay. Happy children always make for a happy holiday!!

We do hope you will return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing