We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cordial, Great View!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bosayne Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bosayne Guest House
Ranked #4 of 25 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Saginaw, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cordial, Great View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Bosayne Guest House has a terrific location and view in Tintagel, Cornwall. It was a bit closer to the coastal cliffs than I had imagined from the Google Map, so I was quite pleased. From our first floor window (2nd floor, in U.S. terms), we could see the sea, horses grazing across the street, an occasional person walking toward town. It was very quiet -- as we settled in our chairs for breakfast, I was surprised to learn that it had rained hard the night before.

The hosts Julie and Keith were very helpful. Though we were already out the door for our first day's activities, my friend, who is diabetic, had forgotten to ask to have her kit placed in the refrigerator. Keith went upstairs to get it from our room, brought it down to her, still outside the house, and divided it up between the 'fridge and freezer, per her instructions. On one evening, it was Mother's Day in the USA, and my friend's daughter phoned her on our hosts's phone to give her good wishes. Julie brought up the phone to my friend so she could talk to her daughter, and was available afterward to retrieve it near the stairs. She even followed up by asking my friend about her daughter. Considering the phone call was made using the phone number for the guest house, Julie's cooperation and thoughtfulness were much appreciated.

A nice touch at breakfast was that an interesting book of the area was placed to the side of the table. A notebook choc full of activities and pamphlets was available in the guest reading room, along with other books of local interest in the breakfast room.

Room Tip: Book early for the super ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuggeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    40
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
109
38
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

Given how cheap Bosayne was I had some reservations about what we might find when we got there. However, despite being a third of the price of the place we stayed at the night before the service and experience was about three times as good. Right from the start when we were greeted at the door by the owner offering to find us some newspaper for our wet boots the service was excellent, very friendly and welcoming. The room was compact but well furnished with a comfy bed and a nice selection of tea, coffee and - joy of joys - fresh milk rather than processed. The owners were very helpful in suggesting somewhere to eat out in Tintagel and breakfast the next day was excellent. My wife had a very good cooked breakfast and I had porridge - which was delicious - and home-made bread. The whole place is eco-friendly which is great to see and they were happy to let us leave our stuff there while we explored Tintagel. Amazing value and even at twice the price it would have been good value for money

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Croydonjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed here for one night and had a double and single room. The house is beautifuly appointed, with great attention to detail. The rooms were charming with pretty furnishings, bedspreads, and very comfortable beds. The breakfast was superb, you MUST try the Aberdeen Butteries the lady of the house makes, they were to die for. The owners were lovely people, friendly, helpful, and great hosts. The B&B is located just on the edge of town, a 2 minute walk away from everything and close to a hiking trail to the coast. There is free parking available as well. This is an excellent B&B, just what you would hope for.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank off_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mol, Belgium
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

It was great to have a breakfast à la carte. The picknick was great, the bread and the cookies were home made and they were excellent, therefore I asked Ms Walker the recipe of scones, they might be excellent as well. Mr Walker is kind and a real gentleman.

I am sure that once I come again.

Martine (a member of Chantals group) of Belgium.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martine_vangeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brixton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

We were welcomed with homemade cake and tea and a friendly owner. The breakfast was amazing-thee bext fry up, with homemade banana bread and a great assortment of different cereals, cookies and fruit.

The room was big and felt homely, and was clean.

The B&B is in an ideal posititon-a short walk to the coastal path, the castle and the little village.
Had a really good stay and would go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nean81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

We were staying in Penzance for a week and wanted somewhere to stay on the way back home to make the most of the Bank Holiday - so after browsing online for accomodation we found the Bosayne Guest House, and after speaking to Keith briefly managed to book an en-suite double room for the 2 nights we wanted. It wasn't a long drive but on arrival Keith made us a hot drink, and supplied us with a home-cooked cake and fruit that his wife had prepared earlier! Not often you would get that sort of service!

Our room was clean and neat, the only critiscism I would have is that being in the top part of the house, there wasn't enough room for a stand-up shower so had to crouch in the bath to wash.

Other than that, we had a lovely night's sleep. There was no time that the doors were locked, as everyone had a key to the front door as well as their own room. Breakfast was delicious, with a very good selection on offer including a full english breakfast (vegetarian option too), fruit juice, kippers and cereals.

If you like cats too - Julie and Keith have 2, as well as one grey tabby who seems to have adopted them (and who will try his best to beg for food!).

All in all - a wonderful home from home, highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrPeteUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worksop
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

Stayed in the self catering cottage and what a lovely little place it is. Small and cosy but more than adequate. Bedding and towels provided.
Every imaginable piece of kitchen equipment available.
Excellent little extra touches like butter, eggs and homemade bread was waiting for us which we didnt expect...very thoughtful.
Exceptionally clean and a most comfortable bed...didnt want to get up in the morning!
A great dog friendly cottage in a great dog friendly village.
The village itself has 5 pubs with plenty of establishments to eat and can recommend King Arthurs Arms.
Ideally located for great coastal walks, and Tintagel Castle, King Arthurs Halls as well as The Old Post Office, all well worth a visit.
Very friendly and accommodating hosts...will certainly be back !!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tintagel hotels
0.2 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#2 of 25 in Tintagel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trenowan
Trenowan
#1 of 25 in Tintagel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bosayne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosayne Guest House

Property: Bosayne Guest House
Address: Bosayne Atlantic Road, Tintagel PL34 0DE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bosayne Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable, homely and relaxing place to stay. Ideal location to explore Cornwall. Active environmentally aware B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bosayne Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bosayne Guest House Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing