We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb Cornish Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hedgend Cottage

View over the hamlet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View over the hamlet
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
View over the hamlet
Driveway and parking area
Driveway
Walk way through lower garden and trees to the steps for main garden area
View from garden to Tintagel and Castle hotel
View to Lundy island from the garden
View from Glebe cliffs to Tintagel island with castle ruins
Trebarwith at high tide
St Nectan's Glen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tintagel, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LuciaPott...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb Cornish Cottage”
Reviewed June 18, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have just spent a week at this rustic cottage and have come back feeling so relaxed. The cottage was very clean and quite quirky as the bedrooms were downstairs. The gardens were lovely with some great views. There was a barbecue which unfortunately due to the weather we didn't use. The cottage is a 5 minute drive from Tintagel which is a lovely town. Once we had booked the cottage we were sent detailed information regarding the cottage as well as surrounding areas and also recommendations for eating out. This was so helpful and we actually followed alot of the instructions as this was our first visit to the area. We have a dog and we found some lovely walks around the cottage.
We would highly recommend this to anyone seeking a typical Cornish Cottage getaway. Thanks Jenny H for making our holiday so enjoyable :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tracy258
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice clean compact holiday cottage very well equipped”
Reviewed June 12, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our stay was very pleasant ,the only thing this cottage lacked was a full length mirror and although the garden was not attached to the cottage and was a short walk in distance it was a lovely sized cottage garden with table chairs and bench a real suntrap.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julez m
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden treasure with amazing views”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Having just come back from a week in Cornwall in Hedgend Cottage, I had to write about this beautiful, peaceful hidden treasure just outside of Tintagel. We took our 2 year old Springer spaniel, who loved the freedom and the space outside the front door. We spent most of our days out and about, guided by the owners very informative guide, and spent the evenings sitting at the top of the garden where you get amazing views over Tintagel and the island of Lundy. Coming from a city, it was so relaxing to spend time in this peaceful hamlet, with everything you need a short drive away. The cottage is clean and well equipped, the owner extremely helpful and the locals friendly. I would not hesitate to book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet, the beautiful garden
Liked least: Having to go home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2014
Many thanks for this review and for rebooking next year.

Your family and your spaniel are very welcome next year. It is a joy to share with such lovely guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F W
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not exactly what was written on the tin!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The area is gorgeous without a doubt. However the description of the accommodation was misleading to say the least. The open access to the driveway which lead to the garden and lack of any fencing, meant that spending time outside with two dogs was not relaxing as they had to be under constant supervision. Nor was it particularly safe with vehicles and neighbours cats all easily accessible. We had not realised it was an end of terrace and therefore not as private or peaceful as we had hoped.
So really it was all down to description and clever photography that lead up to expect a very different place. The last straw was that we asked about WiFi prior to our stay and it was not made clear that there is none. Certainly accessing from local shops and pubs is not the easiest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: Dark interior
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2014
Many thanks for the review although I think you have your tin upside down.
We as a family only let this property a few weeks a year and prefer to keep it to ourselves and maybe not sharing is a better option as we love the peaceful location.
Can I say-
a) The property is always clearly advertised with no wifi, I have the email to you confirming this prior to your stay so calling/messaging myself and the caretaker all hours for a password was very 'odd'.
b) Two attached houses are semi-detached not a terrace.
Ours being at the end of the drive means it is not possible for any person or vehicle to pass. The property next having been rarely used for over a year means there is rarely another being next door.
c) The garden itself has fencing and cornish stone walls, the drive doesn't but there is no reason to gate such a lovely entrance.
d) We advertise for only guests with well-behaved dogs therefore those needing constant supervision are not welcome. This location is perfect for dogs and all of ours love the gardens.
e) Cats will climb any wall or fence...not sure how you expect this to be prevented but I'm sure many would like to know.
f) As clearly stated-no cars can pass the property so vehicles are not an issue-how far did you have to go to supervise your dog? Certainly never had this issue with other guests. The road is a long walk.
e) A car is essential, you can read this in the adverts. It's 2 miles to the nearest shops and besides making this very clear we also love this fact as do many others.

My 15 year old daughter says thank you for the compliments on her photography and that they are so clever as she worked really hard when taking them.

All in all I think your view is very much a contrast to all the lovely reviews we have had on our website for the short time that we have shared the property. I'm sorry you felt the need to distort the facts and that you find what you are looking for in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing