We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wootons Country Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in September 2011 and were very happy with the experience. The room was nice, clean, and comfortable and everyone at the hotel was great. Very helpful. The owner spent a lot of time helping me set up a taxi to pick us up at the train station, which was great. The location was great as they are at the top of the trail to the castle. We also ate most of our meals in the pub and really enjoyed the food and enjoyed watching everyone watching the various sports on the TV. Obviously a local hangout. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lwright_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 90 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2011

Conveniently placed at the top of the long walk back from the castle, this place is just heaven. Rooms comfortable and reasonable (£60 dble room "special" in the middle of August 2011.) Without exception, all staff were welcoming and helpful. Visitors treated with the same cheerful friendliness as the many locals.

Don't be put off by the decor (The main bar seems a bit dark and gloomy on first entering) or the city-centre-pub type lettering of the Specials board. There's a lounge with couches and armchairs and a much lighter restaurant overlooking the lovely terraced garden - which is another delight on a sunny afternoon.

Dogs are allowed everywhere except the restaurant.

The food is of consistently high quality: there's something to suit eveyone and their Sunday carvery is extremely good value. The best beef I've eaten in a restaurant in years and an array of hot crisp vegetables. A bit of Cornish magic

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank retired-ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We styed here for a night while visiting Tintagel and found the staff warm and friendly. The owner even worked with me for a good 15 minutes to try to get the free WiFi hooked up to my laptop (not successful) and smart phone (successful). The pub is full of locals with good food and great beer; though perhaps a better restaurant choice for dinner would be the Oilvegarden about 1 block up the road that opened in Spring 2011. Breakfast was great. The room was nice and comfortable and the hotel is located between the center of town and the castle - very convenient!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The room at the wootons was clean and had everything we needed but overall we didn't find it as friendly as other places we stayed on our trip. Breakfast had everything available but the "full english" was rather "luke warm". Was a disappointing stay considering it was our most expensive venue at £80 per night. The title of a Country Hotel lead us to believe this was more than a high street pub/inn.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ian_young, Owner at The Wootons Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

We do not qualify for small business rate relief and we have to pay 20% VAT on our room lettings so we a have to charge this to be competitive. When you consider that the budget national hotels charge £55 per night excluding breakfast, we do not consider rooms with a lovely view over the countryside to be overpriced at £80.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

My Wife & I first stayed here in April 2010 when I returned from Afghanistan and had a most fantastic time.
When I suddenly found that we had a children free weekend only a week ago I had no hestitation but to see if there was any availabilty. I was very please to find not only had the Wootons got a room free but it was the most romantic room that we had had before!

Thank you Ian for accomadating us at short notice

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Whenever business or pleasure takes us to Tintagel we always enjoy our stay at Wootons.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValStearman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

Both the staff and the locals of this pub are some of the friendliest people I have ever met. We can't wait to go back for the 4th time!

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Smiley4385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
0.3 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
188 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
498 reviews
9.9 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wootons Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wootons Country Hotel

Address: Fore Street, Tintagel PL34 0DD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Price Range: $50 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable inn with modern en-suite accommodation, free parking, restaurant, and many other facilities, close by King Arthur's Castle and the local beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Wootons Country Hotel Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing