We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay and great value”
Review of Trevenna Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tintagel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trevenna Lodge
Ranked #9 of 24 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed with my husband and 16 year old son for three nights we booked a double room with an adjacent single room for our son on the second floor. This option was perfect for us as we all had our own space (in previous B&B's we've had to share a family room which is fine for younger families, but at 16 a young adult sharing with Mom & Dad is not ideal) There is also free wi-fi in all the rooms which was really handy for our iPhones and iPads.

Accommodation - lovely traditional english house with great views and has been renovated so everywhere is fresh, bright and relaxing as well as being clean and tidy. Our bedrooms were complete with low ceilings and beams. The bedrooms we stayed in had a high quality finish such as memory foam mattress, feather quilts and pillows, quality towels and toiletries. There was a wide selection of teas, hot chocolate and coffees. This gave the feeling of 'home from home' can honestly say we have never slept so well on holiday before.

Breakfast - fabulous wide choice everything was cooked fresh to order and there was a buffet of fresh fruit, cereal and yoghurt. Most items were sourced locally the sausages in particular were great.

Hosts - nothing is too much trouble for the family who run the place. Everyone was welcoming and friendly especially Caroline who showed us to our room and was always on hand with some sight seeing advice and local tips. They all obviously work hard to ensure you have the best stay but somehow make it look easy! The rooms are cleaned everyday with fresh towels and nice touches like chocolates and biscuits.

Overall we had a great stay and will definitely go back we would recommend to anyone wanting to visit Tintagel or the surrounding area as this would make a good base

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traceylou09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline V, Owner at Trevenna Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for all the kind comments, it is lovely to get such positive feedback from our guests! It is nice to know that the work and extra attention we put into the B&B is appreciated. We certainly enjoyed having you to stay at Trevenna and we hope to welcome you back again soon! Warm regards, Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 76 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Trevenna Lodge the 16th of July, and fortunately we weren't welcomed by Bonnie the Cat (we met her a little later) but by Vivian, who kindly showed us the way for room #1.

Once we brought our bags upstairs, Vivian and her husband Fred suggested us to have a walk at the church, the one that we could see from our window. Great suggestion, since it's a very suggestive place ! Moreover, we asked if it was possible to eat fresh crab and they suggested us a nice place in town !

Talking about the room, it was VERY NICE ! It was clear that the whole room was renewed very recently (we later found out it was just last winter) and with a delightful taste !
The bathroom was very clean (and that would be more than enough) and once more you could bet that the renovation was VERY RECENT !

Being Tintagel a metropolis, it was very hard to fall asleep with all the noises.... of course I am joking, and being Trevenna Lodge a little out of the center, the place was so calm that there wasn't any noise and we slept VERY WELL !

Let's talk about the breakfast: everything was cooked by Vivian and presented by her daughter Caroline. I had a wonderful homelette and my wife a tasty salmon with eggs: we both agree in saying that it's rare to have such a great breakfast !

Last but not least, we asked for a suggestion on the best way to arrive to our next destination and we had Ashleigh (daughter of Caroline) showing us the best ways to travel in Cornwall and giving advices on the best places to visit.

Summing up, we had 3 generations of kind girls helping us to have the best stay possible... not a thing that happens every day ! We consider ourselves VERY LUCKY in finding Trevenna Lodge, and if we will ever come back, we'll return for sure !

Room Tip: Room #1 is a great choice - very large, very clean, very renewed, and if you look out you see the ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalkingAboutWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline V, Owner at Trevenna Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

We were so happy to read this wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to write it and for posting the nice photos as well. We are thrilled that you had such a pleasant stay with us and we certainly enjoyed meeting you both. We hope you had a lovely time on the rest of your travels in England and we hope that we will one day welcome you back to Trevenna Lodge! Warm regards, Caroline and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Really wanted to comment on what an excellent find this B&B is. I've been working not far from Tintagel off and on this summer and have stayed at Trevenna Lodge on a few occasions now. It is very comfortable (great beds!), very clean and the family running it (and their cats) are exceptionally friendly (a special thanks to Caroline for being so thoughtful and helpful with everything) It's all been refurbished recently and is looking fresh and stylish, lots of nice little extra touches too. Nice sea views from the room, great to wake up to. Breakfast is superb with lots of choice - loved the porridge, it set me up for the day.
Overall very good value for money!
I recommended it to a couple of my staff and they also had only good things to say about it. Will most definitely stay when down this way again and would suggest it to others for holidays, a very relaxing place to have a break for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline V, Owner at Trevenna Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for taking time to send us this positive feedback! We are so pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stays with us here at Trevenna Lodge over this past summer. You are always most welcome here and we hope to see you again soon! Kindest regards, Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Reading through the reviews, I'm apparently the only person in the recent past who doesn't love this place. Perhaps it's me, but I'm just here trying to give my honest opinion.

I was quite excited to stay in Cornwall, especially in Tintagel. However, I was semi-let down by this place. First, you walk through a gate (that I wasn't even sure I was supposed to walk through) and are greeted by a cat. (At other B&B's the owner's would come out to greet us.) You walk into what appears to be a reception area, but all you see are three doors with "Private" marked on them, almost like you're a contestant on "Let's Make A Deal". We rang the bell and a lady who was nice enough came to meet us. She seemed a little disorganized, but showed us to our room in short order.

We stayed in Room #3, which was on the top floor. Before I continue further, make sure you watch your head climbing up the stairs as I whacked mine pretty good while carrying luggage up. Extremely low overhang, and I'm only 6'0". Unfortunately, this continued in the room, as it was a vaulted ceiling with large beams in the room, which forced me to almost walk sideways most of the time. There was a "closet" in the corner (under the vaulted ceiling), but it was separated from the room by a curtain, which was rather tacky. Unfortunately, the bed was so large in the space next to it, doors wouldn't work, so a curtain was the only option.

The bathroom (which, is now en suite, contrary to some earlier posts that it was across the hall) is quite large, but unfortunately, it's about 70 percent wasted space. Once again, blame the vaulted ceilings. The toilet is in an awkward place behind the door, and although there is a large corner bath with shower head, there lacks a shower curtain. So a bath/shower-esque experience was had. Perhaps this is the awkward American in me, but my thought is, either have a bath, or have a combination; but don't just put a shower head in the bathtub and call it good.

Breakfast was good, in a nice open area downstairs. Although it was a tad slow, our hostess told us that one of her cousins (who normally did the cooking) was on holiday in London that week, so cooking was a little slower.

All-in-all, the place looked a bit run-down, however at the same time, I realize that the new owners were still renovating and getting everything where they wanted it. After seeing the pictures, I was excited for a spacious room with a sea or castle view and potentially a fireplace in my room. (Even though it was hot that week, and wouldn't have been used, still would have been cool.) Unfortunately, I got an extremely cramped room, with very little space, a headache from walking up the stairs, and views of the house next door.

Personally, I was not impressed; however, if I would have had a different room, this review may have been much different. With that said, I won't make a recommendation (stay here or don't) either way. It served it's purposes of providing a bed and cleanliness and breakfast; it just had some quirks as well. Room #3 wasn't for me. Be aware that a few of the rooms aren't exactly what was advertised.

One of the benefits, is that it was within walking distance of the city. We walked to dinner the night we got there, and we walked to the castle the next day. The owners allowed us to leave our car parked in their "driveway" until we were done at the castle and ready to move on.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cory J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline V, Owner at Trevenna Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Thank you for your review. I regret that it has taken me time to respond as we have had such a busy and wonderful first season and welcomed so many guests from all over the world. I am sorry that you feel that you did not have a good experience at Trevenna Lodge. Our website shows photographs of our accommodation and in no way misrepresents what we offer. Our goal is to welcome our guests to a friendly, clean and comfortable Bed and Breakfast. We work very hard everyday to achieve this.
We thank you for staying with us and wish you and your family all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My fiancé and I had such a wonderful stay at Trevenna Lodge. It is beautifully presented throughout with such careful attention to detail, and a mouth-watering selection for breakfast. Caroline was a fantastic host succeeding in being attentive but not overbearing. We stayed in Room 1 and the bed was a welcome retreat after camping the previous night! It was so comfortable! The room was immaculately clean and I especially loved the little chocolates on our pillows! Caroline has thought of everything from the variety of tea available in the room to the lovely toiletries in the bathroom. It is such a brilliant location as well; situated at the end of a residential road it is peaceful but is still only a short walk into Tintagel town. We absolutely loved Trevenna Lodge and it will definitely be our B&B of choice whenever we visit Tintagel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fieval0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline V, Owner at Trevenna Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you very much for posting this kind review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our hosting, breakfasts and the beds so perfect! We hope to welcome you back again one day. Warm regards, Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at trevenna lodge when we did the South West Coast Walk. Our room was made very lovely. Everything was absolutely clean. The bed was like a dream, exactly what we needed after an exhausting day.
The breakfast was delicious with a very big choice of everything that belongs to a great breakfast (fresh fruit salad, fresh cornish Yoghurt, Orange Juice). The Host was very lovely and friendly! We can recommend trevenna lodge to everyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LonelyWalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline V, Owner at Trevenna Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Trevenna Lodge. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us; we certainly enjoyed meeting you. We hope that you had a lovely time along the rest of the Coastal Path. We hope that we will welcome you back again one day!
Warmest regards,
Caroline and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Trevenna Lodge felt like home! From our friendly welcome with our kind host Caroline to the delicious home cooked breakfast to the spacious rooms.
The location is perfect, in a quiet cul de sac right by town, we walked everywhere within Tintagel including the castle and the lovely coastal walks.
The room (ROOM 3) was better than expected and the renovations felt fresh and high quality. The room was welcoming and well suited to our needs. Please note that our room was the top level and the roof beams although a feature of the room, did slightly impose on the space, very tall guests would need to be wary of the beams. The bathroom was very spacious however there was no shower, it was simply a bath with a shower head to hold, we didn't mind as this is our preference. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very peacefully. We loved our space and it really felt like a peaceful retreat just like home.
The breakfast was fantastic!
You could pre-order the night before or simply tell Caroline what you would like.
We had the full English which was generous and tasty. I also had the omelette and the porridge, both of which tasted as good as home, perhaps better!
There is a buffet of cereals, lovely fresh fruit and delicious Cornish yoghurt.
Caroline was a wondeful host, kind, attentive and pleasant. She is an avid DVD fan and had a nice selection of DVD's available to guests free of charge as all room TV's have a DVD player built in.
Please note that Caroline and the team at Trevenna are currently undergoing small renovation works, however we could not hear them from our room and the works and/or workers did not interfere with our stay in anyway. They have renovated what has been completed to a high standard and I can see this is going to be a very popular B&B option in Tintagel.
We will be recommending to friends and would love to visit Caroline again one day.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms (3 &4) have exposed roof beams, which impose ever so slightly on the head spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belinda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline V, Owner at Trevenna Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a generous and detailed review of Trevenna Lodge. We are happy to receive the positive feedback on our recent renovations and we especially appreciate all the beautiful photos that you posted! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again one day.
Warmest regards,
Caroline and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tintagel hotels
0.2 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#3 of 24 in Tintagel
540 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Avalon
The Avalon
#7 of 24 in Tintagel
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Trenowan
Trenowan
#2 of 24 in Tintagel
246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bosayne Guest House
Bosayne Guest House
#5 of 24 in Tintagel
241 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trevenna Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trevenna Lodge

Address: Castle Heights Atlantic Road, Tintagel PL34 0DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Price Range: $66 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trevenna Lodge offers a friendly and relaxing bed & breakfast and self-catering cottage in the stunning coastal village of Tintagel, North Cornwall.Ideally located in a quiet location just a five-minute walk from the centre of the village, Trevenna Lodge is a perfect base for visiting Tintagel's best attractions as well as for access to the South West Coastal Path and the rugged beauty of North Cornwall. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trevenna Lodge Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing