We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy days ........”
Review of Port William Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Port William Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was our fourth stay at the Port William & it won't be our last.
We had a lovely time - plain & simple.
The staff are so helpful, polite and courteous.
The food is very good and the breakfast is excellent, with a really good choice.
Our room was clean, modern and the view is second to none.
Thanks to everyone at the Port William - see you soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemary48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

It was great having you back here again, we also hope that there will be many more visits to come! Seeing the same faces time after time is a great measure of how well you are being treated! Your kind words will be shared with the team.

See you soon, Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 622 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2014

Visited here on a Sunday storm watching and decided to stay for Sunday lunch. Lovely older style pub with rooms low beams and bags of charm. Roaring log fire warm and cosy and welcoming . Small amount of parking right on the cliff edge and a turning circle at the top. Single track road leading in with potholes . Food was a good standard we had the roast excellent homemade yorkies , all fresh vegetables and piping hot a very nice venue restaurant overlooks cliffs and surf .

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank traceybodmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Many thanks for your great comments, rain or shine we are a pretty special location, the worse the weather the more dramatic we are! We are rapidly becoming famous for our traditional Cornish Sunday Roasts, so I’m glad you had the chance to give one a go. We really believe the pub oozes character and charm as well as the staff. You will be pleased to here we have had the pot holes repaired, the terrible weather does bring them back every now and again, but we try our best to keep on top of them.

We hope to see you again very soon, Ashley!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Recently stayed three nights at the Port William, all the staff were very friendly & helpful. On our second day they had a problem with the gas, no hot water or heating until about 4'oclock. The staff were extremely concerned & kept us upto date with what was happening. The bill therefore was amended. Happy us! We ate every night in the bar which was great pub grub. Our room was room no 1, apparently the smallest, which we wanted for it to be cosy. Was not disappointed, well equipped with the best tea tray we've ever had! Stunning views of the raging sea. Will return again for sure. Thankyou Port William!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you so much for you great comments and thank you for being so understanding regarding our issue with the gas, it was one of those things that was out of our control, but we knew how important it was to all our guests to have it back up and running as soon as possible. Your feedback will be shared throughout the team and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Fantastic food and location but what really made our visit was the staff, right from my phone call to ask for a booking to us leaving, the staff were so friendly, caring and even though the place was busy made us feel very welcome and genuinely cared, they are a credit to the Port William. We will be back even though I was petrified looking over the cliff edge:)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank 98katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I was recommended this place for a winter break especially as it is in a popular location. I was not disappointed even though the weather was grey and generally miserable. There is a lot to do and see in the area and walking is good if not foggy. It is usually at its prettiest in the spring when the coast flowers are wonderful and you can walk up from the pub in either direction along the splendid coast which is carparted in wild flowers especially in April and May. It is set in a steep valley which runs down to t he splendid cove of Trebarwith Strand near Tintagel. The pub is set up into the cliffs above the cove (the sand is only accessible at low tide) and most rooms including the bar and conservatory overlook the cove. It is a large and comfortable bar area with often two stoves warming it and the whole atmosphere is welcoming and fairly cosy.

~I had a good small double bedroom with ensuite (included a bath with a shower over it which is rare these days) and several people staying even when the weather miserable. Most facilities were very good with good furniture providing storage a chair and excellent tea/coffee tray etc. I also had a view of the cove and the only blip was that the TV was not digital so could not get sub titles and a little TLC in the ensuite was needed for loose toilet roll holder. Excellent wifi in the bar and my room. Breakfast was very good with several choices and help yourself tea/coffee etc. There was several kinds of fruit and yoghurts and choice of fruit juices - there could have been a few more cereals but on the whole very good. It was also served at a civilised time of 8.30 to 9.30. The staff were excellent and generally I always think you get better service in a pub than the usual b and b as there are more staff about at all hours especially this place as it is open for food all day.This makes is more flexible.

Parking was ok mostly linear on the separate road to the pub and alongside it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorneslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you so much for you kind comments. We are working extremely hard on all the areas of our business to make each customers visit one to remember. Everyone loves our location (its hard not to!), but we are now offering that same “WOW Factor” this side of the windows!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon,
Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My husband and I have visited the Port William before for a meal and always liked the place so decided to stay there for a long weekend in November.
Our room was well appointed and had a fabulous sea view of Trebarwith Strand, it was wonderful to wake up to that view in the morning! Really good cooked breakfast in the mornings, with plenty of choice to suit everyone! (Though highly recommend the full Cornish!)
It was very good value for money and we would definitely stay again in the future!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_Shep109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear we met and exceeded you expectations, which is always our aim to every guest.

We all hope to see you soon,
Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed in room 7 for just 1 night on 26/1/13 , it was clean and tidy and boasted lovely sea views. The food was very good value for money and a nice breakfast was on offer. The one thing that stood out the most was how friendly and welcoming the staff were ! . We walked a little of the coast path opposite the inn, and although this is nothing to do with the Port William it was riddled with dog mess which made climbing it very tricky , so be careful !!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments, they will of course be shared with every member of the team.
We couldn’t be happier with our vibrant and bubbly team, each person has their own personality and we encourage them to interact with customers to ensure their every need is met.

See you soon!
Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
1.7 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
125 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
188 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mill House Inn
The Mill House Inn
#1 of 1 in Trebarwith
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port William Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port William Inn

Address: Trebarwith Strand, Tintagel PL34 0HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Price Range: $121 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Port William Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port William Inn at Trebarwith Strand, near Tintagel, is a wonderful pub and restaurant on the North Cornwall coast, renowned for excellent pub food and a comfortable welcoming bar. There is also 4 star accommodation, with all 8 hotel rooms having a very high standard of finish and superb sea views, down to the sea and the dramatic cliffs. Magnificently situated, The Port William Inn nestles into the cliffs overlooking the dramatic Trebarwith Strand on the North Cornwall coast. When out, the tide reveals a mile of golden sand which can be viewed from the bar, the conservatory dining area and from the inn's eight luxurious en suite hotel bedrooms. Once you have visited we are sure you will agree there is no other inn in Cornwall with a location to match that of the Port William. You are also welcome to enjoy the inn's excellent food and drink from the bar and restaurant, while enjoying the superb views from our outside terrace. The Port William lies on the famous Cornwall coast path and is a very popular stop off point for walkers. Trebarwith Strand also offers a surf school and has Life Guards during the summer months. A short drive takes you to local golf courses and tennis courts while the world famous Tintagel Castle and Island are just a short walk along the coast path. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Port William Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port William Hotel Tintagel
Port William Inn Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing