We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So friendly !”
Review of Port William Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Port William Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So friendly !”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed in room 7 for just 1 night on 26/1/13 , it was clean and tidy and boasted lovely sea views. The food was very good value for money and a nice breakfast was on offer. The one thing that stood out the most was how friendly and welcoming the staff were ! . We walked a little of the coast path opposite the inn, and although this is nothing to do with the Port William it was riddled with dog mess which made climbing it very tricky , so be careful !!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, they will of course be shared with every member of the team.
We couldn’t be happier with our vibrant and bubbly team, each person has their own personality and we encourage them to interact with customers to ensure their every need is met.

See you soon!
Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    169
    78
    38
    21
See reviews for
162
316
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pontypridd
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Port William recently and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Our room was modern and spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable and the view breathtaking. The servicing of the room was first class. Breakfast was also good with the exception of the bacon which, it appeared, had been left hanging about a bit before finding its way onto my plate. Coffee superb; Tea not hot enough. All the staff we encountered were extremely friendly and check in/check out was efficient. Somewhat surprisingly for a Sunday in January, finding a parking space was not easy. We did just but I imagine this becoming increasingly difficult as high season approached. If you are looking for a get away from it all break in comfortable, reasonably priced accommodation offering fabulous views we can highly recommend the Port William.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonnyPontypridd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This pub is so well located its a shame the food and service wasn't better. They welcome dogs which is great for us but my niece waited 15mins to be served at the bar, we had to ask for milk for tea and butter for bread which was a bit dry. The soup was lukewarm but other food fine. Such a shame really as Trebarwith Strand is my favourite beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Had Sunday lunch several times as we live quite near and have not been disappointed whether visiting as a couple or with all my family - the view is breathtaking and the bar staff are always helpful and attentive. Food hot and tasty and reasonably priced. Love the roaring open fire especially when the sea is rough and you come in from the cold.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexybabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cradley Heath West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Booked this in January 2013 for the new years eve night. Looked forward to staying here for the following 11 months and was not disappointed. The views from the room are stunning, with the added bonus of some really stormy seas to watch. The rooms are very clean and tastefully decorated, and the bathroom was lovely.
Meals are wonderful with a great selection and the beers are equally as good. Ashley just doesn't stop, he is always on hand to see if you are ok and along with the rest of his team make your stay a very pleasant one. I use this place a lot as we have a caravan in Cornwall and absolutely love it here.
I would definitely recommend this to anyone.
Nearly forgot to mention the Cornish breakfast which is absolutely amazing. Great selection and just what was needed to soak up the new years eve drink indulgence.

Room Tip: All but one room has a sea view so make sure you don't get the one without the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slartybartfast_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your amazing comments, we try and take great care of all our guests and make it a stay to remember! We are continually working extremely hard on offering the same wow factor as our location offers to this side of the windows, glad to see its paying off!
We hope you have had a great start to the year and we hope to see you as often as possible in 2014!

Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The port William is a lovely place, living only 5 miles away I visit often for the great food, lattes and sea view! Wether it is summer or winter, rain or shine the port William is always full of character and cozy! The food is lovely, lots to choose from, healthy and yummy! Good portion sizes too-no daft portion control! There are many pubs in the local area but this is the only one to have good views food and atmosphere. Also prices are reasonable! Me and my husband often dine here and always have a lovely time!

Room Tip: Swimming pool-sea Fitness-open beach and great surf Sleep quality-always like to go home and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlyBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent visit.
We’re glad our hard work is paying off and our customers either old or new are enjoying what we have to offer.
We have a new Coffee and Main Menu coming very soon, so be the first to try our new delights!

See you soon, Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at the Port William Inn. We received a friendly welcome from the bar staff who checked us in efficiently. Upon seeing our room our first opinion was that it was very small and basic which given the hefty nightly rate was a bit disappointing and it was certainly not luxurious accomodation as was described in the advertising. We had a meal in the pub downstairs which was very nice, Our main issue was our sleep or lack of it. The bed was hard which we appreciate some people like however the bedding was quite cheap in quality. The duvet was man made and thin and the pillows were more like bricks. We had a very disturbed sleep and I am still aching today. If we had of booked in for more than one night I would have had to cancel any further evenings as I could not have coped with another uncomfortable evening. On a lighter note the breakfast staff were lovely and after many cups of coffee we did start to come round! We would visit the pub again if we were in the area for a drink and meal but would definitely not stay again. Fantastic location though so we can see why people are drawn there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking to time to share your thoughts on you recent stay.
Let me start firstly by apologising for your disturbed night’s sleep, we pride ourselves on offering the most comfortable stay and being a real “home from home”.
Like you have said certain things are personal choice, but we do like to think that we cater for everyone’s desired comfort, which it seems on this occasion was not the case. Please be assured that, we are going to carry out a thorough audit of all our linen and amenities to ensure that all our customers’ needs are met.
Thank you also for pointing out that you enjoyed every other aspect of your stay, we are working extremely hard on offering the full package so many thanks for you constructive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
1.7 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,254 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
117 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Wootons Country Hotel
1.8 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
176 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port William Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port William Inn

Property: Port William Inn
Address: Trebarwith Strand, Tintagel PL34 0HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Port William Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port William Inn at Trebarwith Strand, near Tintagel, is a wonderful pub and restaurant on the North Cornwall coast, renowned for excellent pub food and a comfortable welcoming bar. There is also 4 star accommodation, with all 8 hotel rooms having a very high standard of finish and superb sea views, down to the sea and the dramatic cliffs. Magnificently situated, The Port William Inn nestles into the cliffs overlooking the dramatic Trebarwith Strand on the North Cornwall coast. When out, the tide reveals a mile of golden sand which can be viewed from the bar, the conservatory dining area and from the inn's eight luxurious en suite hotel bedrooms. Once you have visited we are sure you will agree there is no other inn in Cornwall with a location to match that of the Port William. You are also welcome to enjoy the inn's excellent food and drink from the bar and restaurant, while enjoying the superb views from our outside terrace. The Port William lies on the famous Cornwall coast path and is a very popular stop off point for walkers. Trebarwith Strand also offers a surf school and has Life Guards during the summer months. A short drive takes you to local golf courses and tennis courts while the world famous Tintagel Castle and Island are just a short walk along the coast path. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and LateRooms so you can book your Port William Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port William Hotel Tintagel
Port William Inn Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing