We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing way to bring in the New Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Port William Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Port William Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Cradley Heath West Midlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing way to bring in the New Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Booked this in January 2013 for the new years eve night. Looked forward to staying here for the following 11 months and was not disappointed. The views from the room are stunning, with the added bonus of some really stormy seas to watch. The rooms are very clean and tastefully decorated, and the bathroom was lovely.
Meals are wonderful with a great selection and the beers are equally as good. Ashley just doesn't stop, he is always on hand to see if you are ok and along with the rest of his team make your stay a very pleasant one. I use this place a lot as we have a caravan in Cornwall and absolutely love it here.
I would definitely recommend this to anyone.
Nearly forgot to mention the Cornish breakfast which is absolutely amazing. Great selection and just what was needed to soak up the new years eve drink indulgence.

Room Tip: All but one room has a sea view so make sure you don't get the one without the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slartybartfast_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your amazing comments, we try and take great care of all our guests and make it a stay to remember! We are continually working extremely hard on offering the same wow factor as our location offers to this side of the windows, glad to see its paying off!
We hope you have had a great start to the year and we hope to see you as often as possible in 2014!

Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    161
    77
    37
    22
See reviews for
153
305
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Cornwall
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

The port William is a lovely place, living only 5 miles away I visit often for the great food, lattes and sea view! Wether it is summer or winter, rain or shine the port William is always full of character and cozy! The food is lovely, lots to choose from, healthy and yummy! Good portion sizes too-no daft portion control! There are many pubs in the local area but this is the only one to have good views food and atmosphere. Also prices are reasonable! Me and my husband often dine here and always have a lovely time!

Room Tip: Swimming pool-sea Fitness-open beach and great surf Sleep quality-always like to go home and have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlyBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent visit.
We’re glad our hard work is paying off and our customers either old or new are enjoying what we have to offer.
We have a new Coffee and Main Menu coming very soon, so be the first to try our new delights!

See you soon, Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at the Port William Inn. We received a friendly welcome from the bar staff who checked us in efficiently. Upon seeing our room our first opinion was that it was very small and basic which given the hefty nightly rate was a bit disappointing and it was certainly not luxurious accomodation as was described in the advertising. We had a meal in the pub downstairs which was very nice, Our main issue was our sleep or lack of it. The bed was hard which we appreciate some people like however the bedding was quite cheap in quality. The duvet was man made and thin and the pillows were more like bricks. We had a very disturbed sleep and I am still aching today. If we had of booked in for more than one night I would have had to cancel any further evenings as I could not have coped with another uncomfortable evening. On a lighter note the breakfast staff were lovely and after many cups of coffee we did start to come round! We would visit the pub again if we were in the area for a drink and meal but would definitely not stay again. Fantastic location though so we can see why people are drawn there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking to time to share your thoughts on you recent stay.
Let me start firstly by apologising for your disturbed night’s sleep, we pride ourselves on offering the most comfortable stay and being a real “home from home”.
Like you have said certain things are personal choice, but we do like to think that we cater for everyone’s desired comfort, which it seems on this occasion was not the case. Please be assured that, we are going to carry out a thorough audit of all our linen and amenities to ensure that all our customers’ needs are met.
Thank you also for pointing out that you enjoyed every other aspect of your stay, we are working extremely hard on offering the full package so many thanks for you constructive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

well I should do all I can to stop travellers discovering this place, and keep it a secret !!!
The port william is a real Gem ticking all the boxes great location,great food and beer,fantastic clean well equipped rooms ,and a great team lead by Ashley , If you are looking for a destination thats going to please then book a stay here . I am going back as soon as I can ,oh yes and its dog freindly too !!!

Room Tip: all rooms have breathtaking views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for you great feedback! It’s great to hear that we are going in the right direction.
See you again very soon!

Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mytilene, Greece
Level Contributor
182 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Arranged a surprise birthday for my wife here. She always wanted to stay here. We have eaten several times here and it is wonderful. Watch out for their specials. This was the first time we stayed here and the view of the sea was lovely and who cares if the skies of Greece were not with us, it added to the character. The room was cozy and lovely.

Breakfast choice was super! We both had the poached eggs with smoked haddock! the other choices were fab too.

Always great here. the surf is good and the beach is lovely.

HINT: please be careful not to get caught out by the tides, people have lost lives along there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bangin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Glad you has such a great time, we are working really hard on everything we have to offer, so are all thrilled you enjoyed your first stay with us! Make sure it’s not your last!

See you soon, Ashley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Came here a few times on our recent trip to Cornwall as always, food was mostly good and Ale selection also good. However we almost DIDN'T come back, because if you're sitting there throughout the day, say from 3p.m as we were, and want to eat there too, the table you're sitting at can be reserved at 5p.m, you will be asked to move to a table across the room (making you feel very uncomfortable) because the table "will be needed by 6.30pm" and you're planning to eat, and yet, when we left at 7.45p.m - the table was still devoid of people! We saw others turned away as well for other tables that stayed empty, presumably because the people who' reserved it got put off by the weather and didn't turn up. May I suggest you only take reservations in the new section and let the rest of us relax in the conservatory, spending money all day and eating a three course meal without being made to feel unwelcome and as though we're in the 'wrong seat'? Just a suggestion! Oh, we went to order at 5.55p.m and were told no orders taken before 6p.m - last year we were able to order at 5.30pm with the knowledge the kitchen wouldn't open until 6 no problem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fenny89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Many thanks for sharing your feedback on your recent visit. We are truly upset to here that you were made to feel unwelcome, as it is our ethos to make feel people feel that this is a home away from home. With regard to our tables booking system, we only reserve tables for our hotel guests of which there are only ever a maximum of eight rooms therefore given the amount tables we have this is never an issue. We try and reserve the tables in such a way that it does not affect our customers already in the pub, unfortunately from time to time our guests wish to reserve a specific table and sometimes do so days or weeks in advance and therefore we have to comply with their request. I can only imagine that this such occurrence took place on your visit.

Once again let me apologise for any misunderstanding and I hope my explanations have made it clearer to see how and why we do things.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Fancied a midweek break so threw a dart and came up with The Port William.

Staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and warm. Stunning views accross the bay and listening to the roar of the tide as it came crashing in was a joy.

Lovely supper and reasonably priced. Breakfast in the morning was fresh and plentyful.

We took the dog who was more than happy and catered for.

I have no problem recommending The Port William for a break and think we may well return at some stage in the New Year. Thank you for making our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaughingChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we are working really hard on making people visits here ones to remember. I will of course share your comments with my team.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
1.7 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Wootons Country Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port William Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port William Inn

Property: Port William Inn
Address: Trebarwith Strand, Tintagel PL34 0HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Port William Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port William Inn at Trebarwith Strand, near Tintagel, is a wonderful pub and restaurant on the North Cornwall coast, renowned for excellent pub food and a comfortable welcoming bar. There is also 4 star accommodation, with all 8 hotel rooms having a very high standard of finish and superb sea views, down to the sea and the dramatic cliffs. Magnificently situated, The Port William Inn nestles into the cliffs overlooking the dramatic Trebarwith Strand on the North Cornwall coast. When out, the tide reveals a mile of golden sand which can be viewed from the bar, the conservatory dining area and from the inn's eight luxurious en suite hotel bedrooms. Once you have visited we are sure you will agree there is no other inn in Cornwall with a location to match that of the Port William. You are also welcome to enjoy the inn's excellent food and drink from the bar and restaurant, while enjoying the superb views from our outside terrace. The Port William lies on the famous Cornwall coast path and is a very popular stop off point for walkers. Trebarwith Strand also offers a surf school and has Life Guards during the summer months. A short drive takes you to local golf courses and tennis courts while the world famous Tintagel Castle and Island are just a short walk along the coast path. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Port William Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port William Hotel Tintagel
Port William Inn Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing