We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub with great views”
Review of Port William Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Port William Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely pub with great views”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have been coming to the Port William for a number of years now.
Easter was our first return for this year and I am sure we will be back time and time again. The food is reasonable pub food, although it has improved on last year - a different menu and cook.
The setting is fantastic and with the right conditions the sunsets are amazing.
If you are expecting restuarant food then this is not the place for you but if you want honest food and a great setting......
It can get very busy and the new extension will help but waiting time for a table can be 45mins and bookings are only made for tables of 8 or more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TH1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    171
    79
    38
    21
See reviews for
165
317
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We received a warm welcome on arrival, the room/bed was lovely and had great character. Bathroom nice with a good shower. The view from the window was amazing too.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening and both me and my gf wanted honest pub grub, no frills. Which is exactly what we got, the food/beer and service were very good indeed. Highly recommend this place

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossflock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband an I decided to stop for a late lunch as we had been a couple of days before for a drink and thought as it was a beautiful spot ,we would come back and try the food,but we were sorely disappointed!! We knew the full menu wasn't available in the afternoon,but didn't mind. I ordered a pasty and my husband ordered scampi ,both with chips.We were very disappointed when the food came,the pasty had been microwaved and was soggy and we were given frozen chips that weren't even cooked properly.When my husband bit into the scampi he was sprayed with hot liquid ,obviously could have done with being cooked a little longer!! It had been the first pasty I had on our holiday too and was so looking forward to it,what a disappointment!!Beautiful spot but,sadly, food spoils it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunworshipper58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

what a lovely warm and welcoming place this is everyone very friendly and helpful, lovely food and rooms beautifully decorated and warm and cosy...i will definitely be back thanks for a lovely stay.
melanie, yate

Room Tip: room 7 was large and you can see the sea when laying in bed lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melanie350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willersey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Spent a family weekend in Feb and had a fab time. The rooms were cosy, warm and the staff were so attentive and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts were awesome with a great selection and the evening dinner was quality. Will be returning for sure. The location is 5* with a 2mins walk to the beach and then you can take the coastal path to Tintagel etc. Awesome !!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had a two night anniversary trip to the Post William on 2/3 March . Service excellent, rooms clean and comfortable, food tasty and resonably priced and staff helpful and friendly. It helps that the views from the rooms and restaurant are so special. Dog friendly pub/bedrooms, but all doggy guests were impeccably behaved so didn't really notice that they were there and there was no 'doggy' smell in the bedrooms either.

The one downside is the numerous potholes in the drive on the way to the Port William. Suspension didn't like it and there are so many this year that you can't avoid them, Come on St Austell get your access roads sorted!!

Room Tip: All rooms have beautiful views of the sea/beach except one which i think is a family room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PepelaPew1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
01840770230, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us here. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff gave you the usual "Port William" treatment.

As for the downside that you have mentioned regarding the Pot Holes, this is an on-going and complex issue. The main fact is that we do not actually own the road and is known as an "un-adopted road", which means that neither the local council or any individual business or resident actually has ownership of the road leading up to our pub. We have taken the matter into our own hands and maintained the road for a number of years now, but feel that it has now come a time were far more intensive work need to be done.

That being said we are currently looking into the situation further, to see if there is anything we can do, as we do not want such a situation affecting the pleasure of any of our guests that stay with us. We are trying to reach an agreement with all local residents who have properties joining the road, whereby a contribution is made by them, with The Port William paying the majority of the cost. As you can see this is a tricky subject.

We do however note that this is a current issue for guests such as yourself and therefore you will be pleased to hear that we are due to do a complete repair and resurface of the road on the 19th of March 2013.

Once again thank you very much and we hope to see you soon,



Many thanks,

Ashley Sharp
Assistant Manager
The Port William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just returned from a lovely weekend away at the Port William Inn.

Everything about our stay was just about perfect. A very warm welcome from Ashley, bags taken to the room, and good explanation about dinner & breakfast arrangements. We had room 3 - spotlessly clean, great bathroom and very comfortable bed. But the best bit - being able to lie in bed and hear the mighty Atlantic Ocean roar.

We ate in both evenings - food at dinner well cooked, excellent presentation accompanied by superb service - especially from Will and Sam.

The landlord and Landlady - Larry and Sue are excellent hosts - chatting to guests and making a lovely atmosphere.

The cliff walks are stunning, the beach at low tide simply lovely - and the surrounding area very dramatic.

the one down side - no mobile phone service - but on second thoughts - what a bonus!!

Sue, Larry, the team - thank you for creating a perfect weekend - we'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akaBAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
1.7 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,276 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
119 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Wootons Country Hotel
4.5 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
234 reviews
1.4 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#3 of 24 in Tintagel
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port William Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port William Inn

Property: Port William Inn
Address: Trebarwith Strand, Tintagel PL34 0HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Port William Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port William Inn at Trebarwith Strand, near Tintagel, is a wonderful pub and restaurant on the North Cornwall coast, renowned for excellent pub food and a comfortable welcoming bar. There is also 4 star accommodation, with all 8 hotel rooms having a very high standard of finish and superb sea views, down to the sea and the dramatic cliffs. Magnificently situated, The Port William Inn nestles into the cliffs overlooking the dramatic Trebarwith Strand on the North Cornwall coast. When out, the tide reveals a mile of golden sand which can be viewed from the bar, the conservatory dining area and from the inn's eight luxurious en suite hotel bedrooms. Once you have visited we are sure you will agree there is no other inn in Cornwall with a location to match that of the Port William. You are also welcome to enjoy the inn's excellent food and drink from the bar and restaurant, while enjoying the superb views from our outside terrace. The Port William lies on the famous Cornwall coast path and is a very popular stop off point for walkers. Trebarwith Strand also offers a surf school and has Life Guards during the summer months. A short drive takes you to local golf courses and tennis courts while the world famous Tintagel Castle and Island are just a short walk along the coast path. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Port William Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port William Hotel Tintagel
Port William Inn Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing