We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as Always”
Review of Port William Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Port William Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Had a two night anniversary trip to the Post William on 2/3 March . Service excellent, rooms clean and comfortable, food tasty and resonably priced and staff helpful and friendly. It helps that the views from the rooms and restaurant are so special. Dog friendly pub/bedrooms, but all doggy guests were impeccably behaved so didn't really notice that they were there and there was no 'doggy' smell in the bedrooms either.

The one downside is the numerous potholes in the drive on the way to the Port William. Suspension didn't like it and there are so many this year that you can't avoid them, Come on St Austell get your access roads sorted!!

Room Tip: All rooms have beautiful views of the sea/beach except one which i think is a family room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PepelaPew1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
01840770230, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Hi,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us here. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our staff gave you the usual "Port William" treatment.

As for the downside that you have mentioned regarding the Pot Holes, this is an on-going and complex issue. The main fact is that we do not actually own the road and is known as an "un-adopted road", which means that neither the local council or any individual business or resident actually has ownership of the road leading up to our pub. We have taken the matter into our own hands and maintained the road for a number of years now, but feel that it has now come a time were far more intensive work need to be done.

That being said we are currently looking into the situation further, to see if there is anything we can do, as we do not want such a situation affecting the pleasure of any of our guests that stay with us. We are trying to reach an agreement with all local residents who have properties joining the road, whereby a contribution is made by them, with The Port William paying the majority of the cost. As you can see this is a tricky subject.

We do however note that this is a current issue for guests such as yourself and therefore you will be pleased to hear that we are due to do a complete repair and resurface of the road on the 19th of March 2013.

Once again thank you very much and we hope to see you soon,



Many thanks,

Ashley Sharp
Assistant Manager
The Port William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 645 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just returned from a lovely weekend away at the Port William Inn.

Everything about our stay was just about perfect. A very warm welcome from Ashley, bags taken to the room, and good explanation about dinner & breakfast arrangements. We had room 3 - spotlessly clean, great bathroom and very comfortable bed. But the best bit - being able to lie in bed and hear the mighty Atlantic Ocean roar.

We ate in both evenings - food at dinner well cooked, excellent presentation accompanied by superb service - especially from Will and Sam.

The landlord and Landlady - Larry and Sue are excellent hosts - chatting to guests and making a lovely atmosphere.

The cliff walks are stunning, the beach at low tide simply lovely - and the surrounding area very dramatic.

the one down side - no mobile phone service - but on second thoughts - what a bonus!!

Sue, Larry, the team - thank you for creating a perfect weekend - we'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akaBAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have eaten at the Port William in the past but this was our first stay. We stayed 3 nights.
We found everything from the room to the food just great. Our room (No. 7) was lovely, spotlessly clean, warm and decorated very nicely. Our breakfasts everyday were excellent and the staff could not do enough for us.
We ate there every night and these evening meals were equally as good.
Looking forward to returning, The Port William is in one of the most beautiful places in Cornwall.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosemary48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at The Port William. Perched up on a cliff it has the most amazing views from its windows of the crashing waves of the Atlantic. You can go to sleep with the window open and fall asleep to the sound of waves. Now I know there's building work going on at the moment but that really doesn't excuse the quality of the food on offer. We stayed 3 days. Breakfast was cold on the first day, cold and overcooked on the second day and on the third the breakfast was still cold and they had run out of orange juice and marmalade. We ate in the bar 2 nights but were so disappointed with the food we ate out on the last night. When we were checked out we received rather a poor apology and certainly no offer of compensation. This place is not expensive so we don't expect luxury but please Port William get your catering sorted out as its letting down your view!

Room Tip: room one is nearest the sea. Dogs are allowed in bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janebateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Always stop off at this lovely pub/inn for lunch before going on to Tintagel. ( About six years now) Can`t beat it for Location, Welcoming staff, and warm cosy atmosphere along with great food. I would also say it has improved in the last three years. Went to the pub for an evening meal on this visit, it was blowing a gale outside but so warm inside and the food as always was excellent. We enquired about rooms (for future booking) and with no hesitation were shown the vacant rooms, have to admit they were a little on the small size, but clean and inviting just the same. heating on, so room well aired, unlike one other hotel room we viewed. Another nice touch, one of the locals couldn`t get a taxi home, so memember of staff donned his coat, and took her home. There is some building work going on, but am sure by the summer all will be restored and the view will be as stunning as ever and weather permitting an enjoyable place to sit out, have lunch and admire the scenery. Now looking to book this inn for our next visit to the area.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ifwoollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked 2 nights here in January going by the ratings on tripadvisor. It wasn't all doom and gloom so firstly the positive comments; the location and view from the rooms (all but 1 I believe) are fabulous! Even bad weather couldn't spoil that. The staff were wonderful and very friendly, nothing was any trouble. The disappointments started when we were shown to our room, room1 which was the size of a postage stamp. I knew they were fully booked so no hope of a move. The decor was lovely, clean and fresh looking with a wonderful view of the sea but there was hardly room to walk round the bed. The worst part for me was that the bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in when we've been away! The pillows added to the experience and unfortunately myself and my husband had the worst 2 nights sleep for as long as I can remember.
I read that the food was wonderful, fresh and locally sourced so we were prepared to wait for our meals as we ate there both nights.
The first night my husband ordered the pie special, minted lamb, which he said was lovely but it came with frozen chips and peas, not even hand cut home made chips! I had the fish burger which was freshly done and tasty but again with the frozen chips and some salad. The second night I had the burger which was most definitely not home made and again the frozen chips, my husband had a sandwich which he said was very nice!
After a bad nights sleep we were looking forward to breakfast in the conservatory with view of the sea, unfortunately they are having some building work done at the moment which we weren't informed about at the time of booking nor was it mentioned when I rang previous to arriving. The view was somewhat marred by piled up tables, piles of breeze blocks and railings. Breakfast is served from 8.30 to 9.30 and about 9.15 a pneumatic drill and hammering started while we were eating. Would it have been too much trouble to wait until guests had finished breakfast? Having said that, the breakfast was lovely.
Unfortunately after the sleep experience, we won't be going back to stay, not even for lunch if we're passing, I can get frozen chips with my meal anywhere!

Room Tip: Request not to have room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianeadrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I am reluctant to do a write up on the Port William because it’s a little secret that you want to keep to yourself. Everything about the William is excellent, the location, the staff and the room standard. We booked in for three nights and loved it so much that we added an extra two nights to our stay. We can’t wait to go back, go on book it now.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with a window open, be aware that the recycling bins are are the window of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lop65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
1.4 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
291 reviews
1.7 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,370 reviews
21 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#3 of 24 in Tintagel
554 reviews
21.5 mi away
Rashleigh Arms
Rashleigh Arms
#15 of 97 in St Austell
318 reviews
10.5 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#13 of 55 in Padstow
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port William Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port William Inn

Address: Trebarwith Strand, Tintagel PL34 0HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Price Range: $119 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Port William Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port William Inn at Trebarwith Strand, near Tintagel, is a wonderful pub and restaurant on the North Cornwall coast, renowned for excellent pub food and a comfortable welcoming bar. There is also 4 star accommodation, with all 8 hotel rooms having a very high standard of finish and superb sea views, down to the sea and the dramatic cliffs. Magnificently situated, The Port William Inn nestles into the cliffs overlooking the dramatic Trebarwith Strand on the North Cornwall coast. When out, the tide reveals a mile of golden sand which can be viewed from the bar, the conservatory dining area and from the inn's eight luxurious en suite hotel bedrooms. Once you have visited we are sure you will agree there is no other inn in Cornwall with a location to match that of the Port William. You are also welcome to enjoy the inn's excellent food and drink from the bar and restaurant, while enjoying the superb views from our outside terrace. The Port William lies on the famous Cornwall coast path and is a very popular stop off point for walkers. Trebarwith Strand also offers a surf school and has Life Guards during the summer months. A short drive takes you to local golf courses and tennis courts while the world famous Tintagel Castle and Island are just a short walk along the coast path. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Port William Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port William Hotel Tintagel
Port William Inn Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing