We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best view in the world”
Review of Port William Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Port William Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The Port William has outstanding views overlooking the fantastic beach and cliffs.the staff are very friendly and helpful The rooms are clean and have some very nice touches The bed was very comfortable and the sound of the sea good to go to sleep to! The food was quite good, the pate quite the best we've had in many years The breakfast selection is excellent The pot holes in the access road were a bit of a worry but a bit of careful steering allows you to miss most of them I think that this is good value Cornish hospitality The place was busy on the dull days and staff run off their feet when the sun was shining but they remained cheerful and service was excellent at all times I would recommend this place to everyone

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparklenutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 645 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2011

We have visited this Inn 7 times and after our visit earlier this week would like to say how pleased we were with both the food and the service.
After a days strenuous walking it's very relaxing to get a good pint of beer and a lovely meal without any fuss.
On the 2 nights we were there the staff were very busy both for drinks and meals but we only waited 15 minutes maximum for our meals.
Especially good was the Sea Bass fillet, lightly cooked on a bed of root vegetables.
No fancy sauces just good old fashioned food tasting exactly as you expect it to.
We also had the half pint of prawns with a mild chilli dip and ciabatta followed by Chef's chicken curry and my wife had the fish cakes.
I have no reservations about recommending the pub food and atmosphere. Oh yes and they have free internet
We haven't stayed in the hotel

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank burtoncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We have stayed her a couple of times and have always found it to be excellent.

The food is good and served promptly, the rooms are clean and the staff are friendly.

Watching the tide come in over the rocks is fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matts1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Sue and Larry thank you so much for turning the Port William into an amazing pub. Been going to Trebarwith for 20 years and the pub alway had amazing views but that was about it. Finally its got a landlady & landlord who take pride in what they do, make guests feel so welcome from the moment they arrive and their staff are a credit to them.

Would 100% recommend

Ask about "H" he's part of the team.

Room Tip: All have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charliecoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

My Husband and I held our wedding ceremony at the Port Wlliam last November and it was the most amazing experience not just because we were getting married, not just because of the awesome location but because we and our guests( who all stayed at the inn too) were treated so amazingly by all the wonderful staff at the Port william. Nothing was too
Much trouble for the staff before the wedding during the wedding and the day after. The food was delicious and considering they were cooking for 26 people all at the same time everyone was so impressed by the portion size and taste.Our breakfasts and meals during the day were as good and all our our guests agreed. Ashley in particular was a shining star. He even came out to collect us in our car when a few of us got stranded after a storm and could only find one taxi!!! All my guests agreed they would without a doubt to return to the Port William for a holiday as the rooms are superb. I would recommend the Port William to anyone who wishes to visit this beautiful part of Cornwall.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michjasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

One of the best locations we've stayed in. Spectacular views - even in the rain! Hotel has lots of charm but all the modern cons that we are used to. All staff very helpful and friendly. They made us very welcome. Great value for money and can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley_Willis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Stayed here on a Tuesday & Wednesday in February and we enjoyed every minute of it. They welcome dogs so we took ours with us so she could enjoy the lovely walks and the beach too. Upon arrival we were shown to our room (No 5, I think) which had been newly redecorated and had a lovely view of the beach and cliffs. The room is equipped with all you might need and I thought a nice touch was the locally produced toiletries in the bathroom. Downstairs, the pub has a cosy feel especially with the log fires going which the dog loved lying in front of! The menu has a good choice of light or main meals with additional specials on a board and as mentioned before the portions are generous. Breakfast was also thoroughly enjoyable, cooked to order and really nice all whilst watching the waves crash onto the shore. A nice start to the day! We also enjoyed the walks on the cliffs and over to Tintagel, it doesn't take long and the views are beautiful. All the staff we encountered were so nice, friendly and helpful. One little thing which weirdly was also mentioned previously was the fact that when we checked out and complimented the staff our comments were rather dismissed, a shame because customer service is really important and these guys do a great job! We would definitely go back and would recommend to others

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJHTaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
1.7 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,371 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
293 reviews
21 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#3 of 24 in Tintagel
556 reviews
21.5 mi away
Rashleigh Arms
Rashleigh Arms
#15 of 97 in St Austell
318 reviews
10.5 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#13 of 55 in Padstow
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port William Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port William Inn

Address: Trebarwith Strand, Tintagel PL34 0HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Price Range: $123 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Port William Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port William Inn at Trebarwith Strand, near Tintagel, is a wonderful pub and restaurant on the North Cornwall coast, renowned for excellent pub food and a comfortable welcoming bar. There is also 4 star accommodation, with all 8 hotel rooms having a very high standard of finish and superb sea views, down to the sea and the dramatic cliffs. Magnificently situated, The Port William Inn nestles into the cliffs overlooking the dramatic Trebarwith Strand on the North Cornwall coast. When out, the tide reveals a mile of golden sand which can be viewed from the bar, the conservatory dining area and from the inn's eight luxurious en suite hotel bedrooms. Once you have visited we are sure you will agree there is no other inn in Cornwall with a location to match that of the Port William. You are also welcome to enjoy the inn's excellent food and drink from the bar and restaurant, while enjoying the superb views from our outside terrace. The Port William lies on the famous Cornwall coast path and is a very popular stop off point for walkers. Trebarwith Strand also offers a surf school and has Life Guards during the summer months. A short drive takes you to local golf courses and tennis courts while the world famous Tintagel Castle and Island are just a short walk along the coast path. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Port William Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port William Hotel Tintagel
Port William Inn Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing