We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Lovely”
Review of Port William Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Port William Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Stayed here on a Tuesday & Wednesday in February and we enjoyed every minute of it. They welcome dogs so we took ours with us so she could enjoy the lovely walks and the beach too. Upon arrival we were shown to our room (No 5, I think) which had been newly redecorated and had a lovely view of the beach and cliffs. The room is equipped with all you might need and I thought a nice touch was the locally produced toiletries in the bathroom. Downstairs, the pub has a cosy feel especially with the log fires going which the dog loved lying in front of! The menu has a good choice of light or main meals with additional specials on a board and as mentioned before the portions are generous. Breakfast was also thoroughly enjoyable, cooked to order and really nice all whilst watching the waves crash onto the shore. A nice start to the day! We also enjoyed the walks on the cliffs and over to Tintagel, it doesn't take long and the views are beautiful. All the staff we encountered were so nice, friendly and helpful. One little thing which weirdly was also mentioned previously was the fact that when we checked out and complimented the staff our comments were rather dismissed, a shame because customer service is really important and these guys do a great job! We would definitely go back and would recommend to others

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJHTaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 636 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2011

Simply fantastic! This was our second visit to this beautiful spot and will certainly not be our last. We were lucky enough to catch the "Open mic Blues Night" this time. Some great local and not so local talent ( the performers that is) and very friendly too. We cannot fault the staff all of whom were polite and helpful. Cannot say that we had the same experience of the landlord as a previous reviewer as he was pleased to hear our views on our stay when he checked us out. Perhaps he was just a bit shy although he certainly came to life during his blues session! Speak as you find, as the saying goes.
Overall ten out of ten and that goes for "Lightnin,' and his mates as well.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank himner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace_StAustell, Accommodation Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2011

We are so glad that you came back to stay at The Port William and that you had another enjoyable stay. We really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experiences – thank you. We do hope you see you back here very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

A wonderful relaxing few days at the Port William. Having rented cottages near by before and used the pub we decided to stay at the pub this time
Rates - Very reasonable
Room - Glorious and sea view - Matress was very soft!
Food - As ever very good but portion sizes are enormous!
Would stay again
However, when we checked out and tried to pass on our priase is was rather ignored by the owners/management. Ashley and the younger staff were most attentive.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngiWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace_StAustell, Accommodation Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us. I am glad you were pleased with your room – over the winter we have redecorated and upgraded all of the rooms. The mattresses we use are from Vi-Spring and are very good quality so we are glad that you found it comfortable. We are proud of the team at the pub and are glad you found them attentive; on speaking with the mangers they assure me they are always very happy to hear feedback (especially when it is so complimentary). We apologise if this didn’t come across. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Just returned from 2 nights at the Port William , Staff very friendly and Helpfull, Location is great if you want to get away from it all , yet still be close to places like Truro - Padstow for day trips , Food was reasonably priced and service was fast and efficient, great full english breakfast which could last you till Diner time , room was clean and tastfully decorated a great place to sleep while listening to the sounds of the tide coming in spalshing against the rocks , will be going back in the future

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IandLDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace_StAustell, Accommodation Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2011

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Good accommodation, excellent pub grub - especially breakfast - and very friendly staff. How the owners (managers) could be described as "rude" and unwelcoming beggars belief.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rydepirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
01840770230, Manager at Port William Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2011

Many thanks for your review. We really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experiences. Please be assured that all your comments are discussed by us a team and acted upon accordingly.

We do hope you see you back here very soon!


Ashley Sharp
The Port William

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

we stayed here previously in 2008 or 2009 and had a really good time staff were friendly and helpfull the food was good.so we decided to visit again and the owners seemed to have changed and they werent very welcoming and we didnt enjoy our stay at all the food wasnt very good.we will never visit again

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2o6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

I have been going to Trabarwith Strand since I was a kid and it has always been one of my favourite places in the whole world. So when I was looking for a long weekend by the sea, The Port William came to mind.

To be honest, i wasn't expecting much from the Inn (apart from the view), but it was great. We loved the food (my boyfriend still talks about the beef and ale pie) and the breakfasts were HUGE!

There was an offer on the month we went (£60 a night i think) and we thought this was a bargain. I presume in the summer the rooms are quite a lot more.

We decided to go for dinner somewhere difference one night (the pub at the end of the road, can't remember it's name), and through the food at the Port Williams was a lot better!

Loved the food, loved the view, loved the cider!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank red122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
1.7 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,344 reviews
21 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
927 reviews
21.7 mi away
The Pier House Hotel
The Pier House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlestown
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
125 reviews
10.5 mi away
Old Custom House Inn
Old Custom House Inn
#13 of 55 in Padstow
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port William Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port William Inn

Address: Trebarwith Strand, Tintagel PL34 0HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Price Range: $86 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Port William Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port William Inn at Trebarwith Strand, near Tintagel, is a wonderful pub and restaurant on the North Cornwall coast, renowned for excellent pub food and a comfortable welcoming bar. There is also 4 star accommodation, with all 8 hotel rooms having a very high standard of finish and superb sea views, down to the sea and the dramatic cliffs. Magnificently situated, The Port William Inn nestles into the cliffs overlooking the dramatic Trebarwith Strand on the North Cornwall coast. When out, the tide reveals a mile of golden sand which can be viewed from the bar, the conservatory dining area and from the inn's eight luxurious en suite hotel bedrooms. Once you have visited we are sure you will agree there is no other inn in Cornwall with a location to match that of the Port William. You are also welcome to enjoy the inn's excellent food and drink from the bar and restaurant, while enjoying the superb views from our outside terrace. The Port William lies on the famous Cornwall coast path and is a very popular stop off point for walkers. Trebarwith Strand also offers a surf school and has Life Guards during the summer months. A short drive takes you to local golf courses and tennis courts while the world famous Tintagel Castle and Island are just a short walk along the coast path. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Port William Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port William Hotel Tintagel
Port William Inn Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing