We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much to see”

The Old Post Office
Ranked #6 of 20 things to do in Tintagel
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Loudwater,Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not much to see”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was sending a card to relations in France thought they would love to get a card with a stamp saying posted at the old post office, I had to get entrance for two £7.60 I think and as far as the house goes this was a waste of time. WE did get our three cards stamped so the 40p we spent on them and the postage to France we could have probably stayed at Wootens Hotel for the night & have Carl cook us a wonderful meal again

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    199
    68
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A MUST IF YOU ARE IN THE VICINITY OF TINTAGEL”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

An interesting National Trust property to visit if you ever find yourself in the vicinity of Tintagel. The inside is furnished with 16th century items and the rear garden is delightful. To be recommended. Found out from my visit where the saying "to be left on the shelf" originated from!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank appleblossom81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Simple and refreshing”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stepped out of the brash, touristy main street of Tintagel into this haven, and was immediately delighted by the coolness, and the promise of the garden beyond. Following the signs, and trying not to be decapitated by low beams I found a fascinating set of well laid out rooms. The information in the folders did serve to confuse as much as help since it was not well structured or ordered. Overall a pleasant visit, certainly worthwile for trust members, although slightly more marginal otherwise.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Timothy_314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Interesting Property”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Old Post Office is administered by the National Trust and therefore free to members. There are some interesting Victorian postal equipment and the private rooms are furnished by period furniture. The are some intricate samplers which may be more of interest to the ladies. There are also some pleasant gardens but in general, I would only visit if you are a member as the admission price may seem excessive for the 30 minutes you are in the property.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, UK
Level Contributor
201 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A charming place”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a small museum kept in a very well preserved cottage that had several uses in the past.
It is mostly interesting to get a sense of how people might live In the area.
Low ceilings and a lovely garden.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank arimaior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Post Office also viewed

 
Tintagel, Cornwall
 

Been to The Old Post Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing