We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Village of the damed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camelot Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I have just returned from a long weekend in the North Cornwall area. We choose the Camelot Castle has our base for the duration of our stay in the area. We arrived on the Friday at around 2.30pm and our three rooms were not ready. The receptionist asked us to wait in the lounge and asked if we wanted tea or coffee which we thought would be a nice gesture as the rooms where not ready but they then added to cost of the drinks to our bill. The rooms where small and the beds smaller. The bathroom consisted on a plastic pod stuck in the corner of the room which was probably constructed in the eastern block and shipped in with 90% of the staff. The staff where always pleasant bur some of them struggled with basic English. The hotel was full of art work that looked like a bomb had gone off in a paint factory. On the plus point the views from the hotel are exceptional and the local area is truly lovely. The village of Tintagel is very nice and the King Arthur's Arms pub was a great resting hole with some really great food and service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank Steve60upper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

784 - 790 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

We arrived to Cornwall awed by the beauty of our surroundings and as we drove up to the castle we were thrilled. We arrived slightly early which was no trouble and were even upgraded by Mark the concierge who was wonderful and helpful. Our room was really a suite with a terrace and a hand carved four poster bed and you can walk over to next cliff to Tintagel Catle = legendary birth place of King Arthur . We were told this was Ava Gardner's room when she filmed a movie regarding King Arthur and we can see why . We felt like the Lord and Lady of the Castle - and met a wonderful fellow guest who is a photographer who took some shots for us in the Great Room . We loved it so much we stayed an extra night at the last moment and Mark again was very aacomadating and helpful . The restaurant was excellent delicious very fresh well prepared food and excellent service . It was a castle but casual relaxed and you were made to feel welcome . We can not wait to come here again and bring more friends /family as they were amazed by our photos . Thank you to all the staff

Room Tip: Room 103 is incredible with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AcadiaMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

All the staff were very welcoming and helpful. We were tired on arrival had our meals brought to our room. The room was spacious and clean with a beautiful view. The food was very good and served in a delightful dining room.
The hotel was dog friendly and our dog was made to feel as welcome as we were.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Being a photographer, this visually spectacular experience was beyond my imagination. 1st off, YOU'RE STAYING IN A CASTLE!! It's an awe-inspiring experience inside. With hints and nods to the local Arthurian legend, nothing can prepare you for the foyer with a solid wood roundtable with inscribed names of the famous knights.

Situated on the cliff top, the view from my room over ancient Tintagel castle was amazing to wake up to each morning.

Being situated with ocean views, the ever changing weather ensured a full experience of the natural surroundings... rain, wind, full blue sky... the character of the Cornwall coast is in full display.

You couldn't ask more from the staff. Always friendly, always available, you'll feel like you are indeed part of castle royalty.

The food enhances the experience too... for all budgets you can find great bar food, all the way to a reservation only dinner in the grand hall.

I was great to see the place so well looked after, and knowing they are continuing renovations to all the rooms... i can only count the days till my next visit!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the view over the castle and ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank G3photographics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel is set in the most beautiful settings affording magnificent views of King Arthurs Castle and views of the rugged coadtline. The hotel itself is very grand with fantastic decors. The 'light box' is well worth the experience of a visit and meeting Ted Stourton a renowned artist. The coffees were excellent. The staff were only too happy to meet our every need.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank boblin278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The views from the rooms overlooking the castle are stunning, the room we stayed in was spacious and comfortable but had a worn feeling about it, frayed cushions and chipped furniture etc. The big let down however was the bathroom, it was very small for such a grand hotel. It was very much like a bathroom you would find in a Formula 1 Hotel on the continent. All the staff we encountered were very pleasant and friendly at all times. Would I stay here again....probably not.

Room Tip: Castle view rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mainze75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

As we entered into the hotel lobby, we felt the charm of this house. The friendly Lady at the reception let us feel that we were very welcome. On the Internet we have read some posts about Camelot Castle. The One loved it, others were negatively expressed. We are counting among those who love this beautiful house and we have a wonderful memory of our stay!
What constitutes the good atmosphere in the Castle is certainly the top motivated staff. You can feel that they like working there very much. Also the members of staff speaks from a large family, which is also lived so. The food is also excellent and it is definitely worth to reserve a nice table for dinner.
For us it is clear that we will stop at Camelot Castle again in another Cornwall stay!
Jacqueline, René & Beat (from Switzerland)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
0.3 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
281 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
125 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,613 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
191 reviews
23.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Castle Hotel

Address: Camelot Castle, Tintagel PL34 0DQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Price Range: $108 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Camelot Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Castle Tintagel
Hotel Camelot Castle
Camelot Castle Hotel Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing