We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camelot Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel is set in the most beautiful settings affording magnificent views of King Arthurs Castle and views of the rugged coadtline. The hotel itself is very grand with fantastic decors. The 'light box' is well worth the experience of a visit and meeting Ted Stourton a renowned artist. The coffees were excellent. The staff were only too happy to meet our every need.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank boblin278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

766 - 772 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2014

The views from the rooms overlooking the castle are stunning, the room we stayed in was spacious and comfortable but had a worn feeling about it, frayed cushions and chipped furniture etc. The big let down however was the bathroom, it was very small for such a grand hotel. It was very much like a bathroom you would find in a Formula 1 Hotel on the continent. All the staff we encountered were very pleasant and friendly at all times. Would I stay here again....probably not.

Room Tip: Castle view rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mainze75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

As we entered into the hotel lobby, we felt the charm of this house. The friendly Lady at the reception let us feel that we were very welcome. On the Internet we have read some posts about Camelot Castle. The One loved it, others were negatively expressed. We are counting among those who love this beautiful house and we have a wonderful memory of our stay!
What constitutes the good atmosphere in the Castle is certainly the top motivated staff. You can feel that they like working there very much. Also the members of staff speaks from a large family, which is also lived so. The food is also excellent and it is definitely worth to reserve a nice table for dinner.
For us it is clear that we will stop at Camelot Castle again in another Cornwall stay!
Jacqueline, René & Beat (from Switzerland)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

The most idyllic setting. Glorious views. Helpful and friendly staff. Excellent food in both the restaurant and brasserie. A little eccentric but in a good way. A personal tour of art studios and a personal touch throughout with an owner who is involved and who cares about the customer.
Our new favourite place to be. We will definitely be back. From the bikers x

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sgaitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed there in mid June 2014 for several nights. It was definitely an interesting experience. To be fair, the views were breathtaking, the staff was helpful and the food was fairly good. To begin with the basics, the rooms were substandard, in my opinion. We were offered our choice of a wonderful large room with a cubical bathroom stuck in the corner or a tiny room with a fitted bathroom but a shower that was so small it was hard to move around in. We tried to upgrade for better quality but the choices weren't much better. The other half of our party had a small room with a hugh bathroom. There was no rhyme or reason for anything. The rooms had no literature whatsoever on the hotel or amenities...the staff did not seem to know what they were either. The only literature was a newpaper all about the hotel, the owners and articles that seemed to be about 'enlightenment' and such. And there was a copy of a 'poem/riddle', left on the bed for each of us, to read and figure out during our stay...that was very odd, indeed. There was no room service, as far as I could tell, although a staff member kindly carried some bread and tea up three flights of stairs for my sister, who was unwell. The hotel was very quiet, even when the parking lot was full and we couldn't figure out where all the people were. There was one small rickety elevator with a fair sized jolt when it stopped. I cannot believe it was the only one in the hotel but it was the only one in the lobby and the only one for our use. The hotel bill was handwritten and we had to tell what meals we had. It was one of the oddest hotel experiences of my life. And I travel extensively around the world. What I found really strange were the owners, oozing over you shortly after you arrive but forgetting the conversation a half hour later and doing it all over again...and the paintings everywhere...and the invitations to go to down to see the 'Light Box', which no one would explain exactly what it was. I didn't take them up on it for that very reason. Nothing made sense there...which intrigued me enough in the beginning before putting two and two together by the 4th day. Still, the town was lovely, the walks and the old castle ruins a pleasure as well. I'd definitely go back to Tintagel but I don't think I'd recommend the hotel to my own circle of Friends.

Room Tip: Room 307 had a nice bathroom with a sea view. Not all of the deluxe rooms have baths like that...it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Tolli2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The view almost makes it all worth it. My mom and I stayed one night June 11th 2014. The room was strange. Huge! However strangely furnished. The bathroom is a joke. We booked a sea view room but only one window opened. You cannot hear the ocean from the hotel. The food at the restaurant was expensive but very good. However the service was ridiculous. Staff were not trained well. A young woman server not only spilled soup but then turned to my mom and said "that was your fault." Dishes were dropped and we were subjected to listing to our servers issues about her day while our food sat getting cold. The books with the owners art work and the staff trying to lure you down to the "light box" was just plain creepy. We didn't go. With all that being said the views, sitting outside, and walking the trails almost makes it worth it. We were curious so we went. Over all the "castle" is old, needs repair, is dark, and dingy. If you are curious go but I wouldn't spend more then one night.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
9  Thank Cheri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed for 3 days from the11th june lovely setting and impressive reception rooms downstairs, the ensuite facilities in the room let down the rest of the hotel. It was more of a pod inside the room rather than a shower room. The restaurant was good although the menu did not change much each night. Overall a good stay but bathroom facilities ned updating

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
1.2 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
274 reviews
23.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
23.5 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
23.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Castle Hotel

Address: Camelot Castle, Tintagel PL34 0DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Price Range: $112 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Camelot Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Castle Tintagel
Hotel Camelot Castle
Camelot Castle Hotel Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing