We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camelot Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

l have just returned from a week in this great hotel. l was a bit apprehensive, firstly because of some of the bad reviews, and also because as l'm not a confident driver, l decided to do the trip with a coach company, and having seen the beautiful interior of the hotel, and read of it's many distinguished visitors, l wondered if the coach group would be treated as the 'poor relation visitors' as has been my experience previously in other hotels. Not so this hotel, we were greeted at the door by one of the owners, and made to feel welcome straight away by all of the staff. My room had a great sea view ,was basic, but spotlessly clean, and yes the shower room was small, but for goodness sake, the hotel is being refurbished and in a place as big as this that doesn't happen overnight! The lounges and dining room are so beautiful, full of history, with log fires burning, and a cosy atmosphere that makes you reluctant to venture out! Evening meal with candlelight, looking at the moonlit sea, and great food, with attentive staff. Stunning walks around the hotel, Tintagel ten minutes away, l could enthuse forever! Loved it, and will be back there as soon as l can. Thank you Camelot Castle Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffhaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    332
    165
    153
    171
See reviews for
229
723
41
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Three things really stood out for us during our stay here. Firstly, the views were magnificent - we spent quite a lot if time relaxing in the lounge or brasserie just soaking it all up. Secondly, the fact that we could take the dog AND how welcome he was made by everyone scored big points with us. I know having animals around isn't to everyone's taste but then why would you come here if you felt like that? Thirdly, the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff (and management) meant we felt right at home. We will be going back!

We did read quite a number of less favourable reviews but only once we got home and I have to say we were surprised. All of the negativity expressed there made us look at each other and furrow our brows. Ok the place was a little quirky but so what?

If the owners remain aloof and don't engage with their guests no doubt they would be slated as being arrogant and distant. Too friendly and attentive, hey, they become "creepy". Come on, give them a break!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulBrwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Camelot Castle Hotel – a photographer’s delight !
My husband and I spent an enjoyable weekend at the hotel, which has a unique and prestigious position in the truly unspoilt Cornish countryside with its amazing views, welcoming log fires and an ambiance consistent with a historic part of English heritage. The hotel has amazing views of the coastline from both the public rooms and the bedrooms - a photographer’s delight!

We were delighted to find that all staff were professional, efficient, helpful and responsive to our requests and on two consecutive evenings the owners of the hotel introduced themselves to ensure that the facilities met our satisfaction. Dogs and responsible owners are welcome at the hotel and bar staff ensured that our Irish Red Setter dog had fresh clean water after his walk - which we thought was great!

The public rooms are spacious and comfortable with furniture that reflects the style of the period – the artistic décor promotes interest for guests on all floors of the hotel. We visited both the restaurant and the Golden Age Bar and were delighted with the presentation and standard of food from both the a la carte menu and the bar menu. Cream teas are delightful experience on the terrace outside the hotel overlooking the Atlantic ocean, Bossiney Cove and the rugged cliffs.

Having read previous unkind comments about this hotel on the Tripadviser we wanted to reassure potential guests of the good service we had received during our stay at Camelot Castle. The refurbishment of the hotel facilities is still in progress and the en suite facilities need further attention to make this hotel one of the better places to stay in Cornwall and a great place to meet people from all over the UK and abroad.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keene003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_m75, Manager at Camelot Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi Thanks so much for this review this is the experience of 95% of our guests who truly love it here.

The negative reviews on this site are indeed a mystery we love working here many of the staff have been here for over seven years and Camelot Castle remains one of the most unique and different and beautiful places to stay in all England.

See you soon.

PS if you would like to help further with Camelot Castle promotion please email us at reception with all the email addresses of your friends around the world and we will send them our latest and future great offers. Please send them to enquiries@camelotcastle.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Feeling tired after travelling from Devon where we had been on holiday we arrived at Camelot at a cost of £215.00 per night. The look of the castle is amazing. BUT!!!!

On arrival we were greeted by a friendly lady (don't be fooled) and directed to our room. Nice four poster bed + twin beds, so far so good, then a portacabin of a bathroom plonked in the corner, so small you couldn't move, black mouldy shower curtain - absolutely disgusting. Thread bare carpets and a dirty fusty smell. I explained to the lady, who agreed with me about the bathroom, that I couldn't justify the amount per night for the poor standard of room/bathroom and did she have anything else. Her reply was no and that we didn't have to stay and could just leave. I explained it was late, we would have to travel back to Warwickshire and we had an autistic son but she got more and more angry. Her attitude was appalling and I asked to see the manager.

By this time my son was having a meltdown, it was dark & late. A man, supposedly the manager came over and like a parrot voiced the same. He had no compassion, he could see my son, he didn't want to even try and help, refused to give our credit card details back and threatened to call the police, which I asked him to kindly do.

In the end because of how traumatic it was for my son we left at 9.45 at night with nowhere to stay. These people are insensitive and should not be still in business. When I stated how many terribles there were on Tripadvisor his reply was "I'm not bothered". DO NOT STAY HERE, give your custom to the local B & B's & hotels, they are fantastic people who care.

Room Tip: Just avoid all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
58 Thank WILSON11_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_m75, Manager at Camelot Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
There are two sides to every story and in this instance there were certainly two sides to this this one. Enough Said. We do our best to make every one welcome here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tintagel hotels

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Despite damming reviews we found this to be a very welcoming hotel with friendly & helpful staff the owners made you feel like visiting freinds not paying guests. Would come again our little dog was made to feel like visiting royality

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_m75, Manager at Camelot Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
exactly we can work out what is going on with these silly negative reviews Camelot Castle is a lovely place...We love it!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Arrived at Camelot after spending a week in St Ives.Went with a totally open mind after reading lots of reviews.We hadn't booked,just decided to look first.The two staff at the reception were very pleasant and polite and we were shown a deluxe four poster sea view room which we took.The views were stunning from the room.The room was a great size room,it did have one of the "pods" for the ensuite which people have said about, but it was adequate,the shower was hot and it was not as small as what I imagined from some descriptions on here.The four poster bed was the most comfortable bed ever and added to that old castle feel.The furniture in the room suited the place and added to that old castle feel,it made a change to go somewhere that hasn't been destroyed by modernisation.The public hotel rooms were also stunning,lovely old stone fireplaces,lovely wall paper and furnishings.I found the paintings,which have been talked about a lot on here,ok.I wouldn't say they looked ugly in anyway,as has been said on here,they actually looked good ,but that's just my opinion.Overall the service and mannerism of any staff who we dealt with was great.Also while we were at Camelot no one tried to sell us anything or gave us talks about cults or anything.We did see all of the owners briefly walking through the hotel,they said hello,how are you to people as they passed and that was it,we were never pestered and didn't see anyone else pestered.The other guests who we got chatting to were all enjoying it there,as were we.It is such a relaxing place and a pleasure to wonder around looking at the lovely things in there.Dogs are so welcome also,which is a great bonus in a hotel,lots of the guests had dogs with them,as did we,it was nice to sit in the lounge bar with your dog at ease.Its very important to us that our dog is made to feel welcome too and that you are under no pressure with your dog.Camelot is great for dogs.The hotel overlooks the old ruins of Arthurs castle and out to sea,which is very spectacular.You can also stroll into Tintagel,about a 10 minute ish walk! If we had more time there, we could see lovely walks from the hotel.Will do that next time! We would definatly go again based on the experience we had there.We are thinking of booking in October for longer, for our wedding anniversary.If its as good as the night we have just spent there we will be pleased.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheilaswheels007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

What a shame and big disappointment staying here. My husband and I expected the hotel to be so romantic! Instead the room was not well kept, hotel furnishing were outdated and dusty...there was something in our rm that was making us feel sick like dirty rugs and dust.. They would stalk you and try to get you to see the lightbox....with this so called horrible painter that hung around the hotel. The owner was more concerned about you buying a painting. We were dodging them and running out when we could and spent as much time away from the hotel as we could. We thought about checking out but we were stuck there as there was not 1 vacancy any where in Tintangel. It was August and everyone was booked solid! So we made the best of it! We ate the Breakfast there 1 morning it was horrible! We didn't do that again! Also ate dinner there the 1st night it seemed ok. The staff was pleasant, but service was extremely slow. The views from the dinning room were spectacular. The 2nd night we ate dinner it was disgusting! My pork was over cooked and dessert (creme Brulet) was over torched and crusty! I could hardly eat it! After that we ate locally in the pubs and the food was great! It was not worth the money they charged at all! We were very disappointed and could not wait to check out! Don't waste your time booking with this place! The owner is full of himself and letting the hotel deteriorate. Sad because the views of Tintangel are absolutely spectacular! FYI we don't mind what your religion is and it did not bother us in the least, but he should not own a hotel till he learns the basic skills on how to do so! Our room was 309 the view was awesome but not worth the money!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
49 Thank Ilovetheuk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
1.2 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
119 reviews
23.0 mi away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,563 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.4 mi away
The Wootons Country Hotel
3.1 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Castle Hotel

Property: Camelot Castle Hotel
Address: Camelot Castle, Tintagel PL34 0DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Camelot Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Castle Tintagel
Hotel Camelot Castle
Camelot Castle Hotel Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing