We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under rated and exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camelot Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Port El Kantaoui, Tunisia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Under rated and exceptional”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Staff food service rooms location everything about the place was decadent and cool and top class i could not recommend this place more we were in room 305 special views and the biggest comfiest bed in cornwall

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harbourbarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    328
    156
    139
    159
See reviews for
216
696
39
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Yes the views are stunning, but that is it!!
We looked at the web-site before we visited the castle and the type of room we were expecting had absolutely no comparison to the one we had. There were no big windows with panoramic views to sit and enjoy, most of the window was blocked by the outer castle wall, however if we strained we could just about see the sea. The room was tiny and the decorative state was awful.
Yes, they were in the middle of a refurbishment (we did not know this when booking, nor were we told), and yes, they were full, but you do not advertise a room that has no comparison to one received.
We paid £100 for this room (breakfast was not included) and when I went to the bar to purchase a bottle of water it cost me nearly £4 for a tiny bottle.
Tintagel itself is lovely and the people friendly, I would go back again but not stay at the castle.
There are lots of bed and breakfast places around, which included breakfast, for half the price. The pub in the village (opposite the thatched post office) did great food at reasonable prices.
I contacted the ASA regarding the false advertising of their rooms and they were made to put other photos on their website, I am still waiting for a refund...........

Room Tip: Go to a bed and breakfast in the town and walk to the castle to see the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
34 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tintagel hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Me and my hubby stayed at the castle for 1 night in 2012 and were blown away so we took my mum and dad for a special treat for 3 nights. It is a lovely charming place with stunning views, the staff were helpful and friendly they treat us like royalty. I dont understand the bad reviews on here you should go and make your own mind up. We will defiantly be going again next year :-D

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauranbenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The views are absolutely magnificent and I would stay for those alone! The staff are very helpful and work hard to make you feel welcome which we always appreciated. The food was of a very good standard and satisfying.

The room was very clean (which is a must), decor pleasant, prefer a slightly bigger bathroom but it didn't bother us. We had a great night's sleep and felt really refreshed the next day.

I loved the way 'art' pervades this place, it really adds to the whole experience. The price is very reasonable for what you get.

Next time we visit Cornwall which I hope will be soon, we'll be sure to come here again.

Perfect for my family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A lot of hysteria on here about the background of the owners. Even a quick online search would warn you of the eccentric atmosphere of the place. This was our second stay, but we knew well before our first that this was no normal hotel. We're not scientologists, or religious at all, come to that. Sure, scientology seems to comprise of some weird, wonderful, and potentially dangerous ideas. But then beliieving in a prophet who was born of a virgin mother, who could multiply food by magic, and came back from the dead, is hardly rational in my eyes. And not-to-be-named religions that forbid the use of contraception, and so quicken the spread of HIV are just as dangerous as anything scientology teaches, surely? Anyhoo, the hotel. We love it here. Sure, some of the carpets and fittings are a little tired, and there are draughts. The "loo pods" are rather uncomfortable. But the views, the grand entrance hall, the comfortable beds and the warm welcome we've had from staff mean we will be coming back for a third time. Nobody tried to convert us to any belief system, or sell us any art. Our only interactions with Ted Stourton were brief and pleasant. We thought the weird, "acquired taste" art and the unashamed self-promotion of the owners just adds to the eccentric atmosphere of the place, and just enhanced our experience. It was just an interest factor for us. The reception staff are very pleasant, knowledgeable and helpful, and service and food at breakfast was also very good. We'd recommend this place to anyone who's prepared to try something a little different, and for whom the total weirdness of the Camelot Castle Hotel would be an attraction, not a turnoff.

Room Tip: Room 108 is a "Moor View" room (i.e. a cheaper one) but has a wonderful balcony with views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimbobscroggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed at Camelot Castle for two nights, 18 - 20 Feb 2013. Husband was on business, so myself and our black Lab tagged along! When we first arrived I was in awe of the size of the hotel, and it was lovely to see such outstanding scenery. Once inside we were greeted by Irina, who was gracious and informative. It was an absolute joy to see the inside too. Almost like stepping back in time, even to the elevator which had the sliding door that had to be closed to make it work! Shame not all patrons read the notice and did so! We were shown to our room, and to say that this is the most pet friendly hotel we have ever stayed in is putting it mildly! We have taken our dog to Spain and France, and although she has stayed at many hotels, this has to be the best! Our room was a little worn and tired, the furniture was too, but the bed was so comfortable! We also had one of the pod style bathrooms which really do not go with the unique and quirky hotel, but it was sufficient, we had plenty of hot water, it was very clean, and better than sharing a bathroom with others! Having been on the website before going to the hotel, it was made very obvious that this was a pet friendly hotel, so I am surprised at people on here complaining about dogs and the barking and smell! If you knew it was pet friendly and this was a problem, you should have perhaps gone to another hotel? There are certainly plenty in the area! The view from our room was of the sea, and it was breathtaking. The breakfast was outstanding, we were served quickly and the food was piping hot. The same could be said of dinner. We also had a cream tea on one of the afternoons and the scones just melted in our mouths. The staff were very well presented, so very polite at all times, and all of them could not do enough for you. At dinner the owners came round to check that all was ok and that we had everything we needed and whatever nationality the staff were they had an exceptional command of English, and all of the staff worked extremely hard to make sure that we enjoyed our stay. It was also lovely to be able to go and sit in the lounge area and have my dog with me, and not have to leave her in the room all the time. She certainly enjoyed sitting by the fire after a lovely walk along the cliff, while I enjoyed the exquisite coffee they served! Also in the entrance area there is a piano for anyone to use, a chess board and several other little quirky items, but I won't spoil all the surprises for you! I found the hotel to be just as it stated in it's advertising, and great value for money. I will definitely be tagging along again when hubby is back in the area!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view, it is absolutely stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

this is a lovely hotel a victorian dream the staff are are very helpfull and will do all they can to help you we stayed with our gsd and would recomend this as the best pet stop in cornwall i am living with cancer but the peace and views made me very happy well done camelot
god willing i will be back

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
1.2 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
115 reviews
22.8 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
0.3 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
St. Moritz Hotel
St. Moritz Hotel
#1 of 4 in Wadebridge
931 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
459 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Castle Hotel

Property: Camelot Castle Hotel
Address: Camelot Castle, Tintagel PL34 0DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Camelot Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Castle Tintagel
Hotel Camelot Castle
Camelot Castle Hotel Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing