We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tintagel Arms Hotel
Ranked #16 of 24 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

The room was nice, clean, and well stocked. The staff were very, very friendly and always made sure we were ok. Had dinner there one evening and it was one of the best home made pub meals I've had in a long time. Would happily recommend the place.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich_george
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 211 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2012

Came to celebrate our weding anniversary and chose the Tintagel Arms based on positive reviews but principally because we had experienced Sharon & Lee's hospitality when they ran the Wharnecliffe. What a welcome, we hadn't seen them for 10 Years, but we were treated like old friends from arrival to departure. The breakfasts are superb, and the lunch-time and (especially) the evening menus are varied offering quality and good portiions of food, Sunday lunch is particularly good for quality and value. Special mention for Mary who gives outstanding service and local advice, and all the other staff. We are definitely returning and have already started to recommend to family and friends, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: We didn't ask for a room with en-suite bath, if you want a bath rather than shower ask when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherryLodgeGtBilling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

This Hotel is a Little gem. The owners Lee and Sharon could not be nicer.nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were spotless and towels soft and fluffy. We ate in the restaurant and were bowled over by the quality of the food, very good value and beautifully presented, I have been to top restaurants that don't serve such good food. We stayed on Newyears night and the food was still the same price !! WE also had our dog with us and she was made very welcome. We would recommend this place to anyone. By the way, if you do stay, ask Lee about the Camalot Hotel on the headland, wierd ! and if you visit it Dont say you know Ted.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidanHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Having read several revIews, my husband and I booked a couple of nights, weeks in advance. On arrival initially parking was difficult and when we actually located the 'reception' it was at the bar of the busy hotel. Here we were asked to settle our bill in full before even seeing the room. We asked to see our room first and before we had chance to even unpack we were again asked to settle our bill promptly. NOT a good first impression.
However although disgruntled we did pay up as we had a busy weekend planned walking and did not want to waste time looking elsewhere aswell as lose our deposit.
We have no idea who the owners were, but the young lady who served us much of the time was polite and very helpful, she also showed interest in us as customers and enquired what we were doing and also wished us a safe journey home. Those little touchs are always appreciated,..it would have been nice to have been asked if we had enjoyed our break when we handed the key back, instead of just a nod from a man behind the bar.
The food was excellant, both breakfasts and a wonderful evening meal. Freshly cooked, hot and ample portions. It would have been nice to have seen the red tablecloths shown in the website rather than bare tables. Our request for extra pillows was dealt with promptly. Our room was spotless,cosy, bed very comfortable and was pleasantly quiet. My only problem with the room was the position of the tv which was oddly placed on the wall at the left of the bed though to be fair there was nowhere else for it to be positioned.
Overall we did enjoy our stay and we would book again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBWalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We were met by the surely owner who went out of his way to be grasping and unpleasant. We decided not to stay as, in our opinion, the whole place was shabby, did not look particularly clean and we were happy to forego the deposit we had paid for the booking.
Money has been spent on the frontage, the rest of the establishment leaves a great deal to be desired including the ridiculous car parking.
Definetly one to miss!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RockfishJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

All the owners, staff and regulars were helpful and friendly from the moment we got there. The owner's a cracking bloke with a great sense of humour who always had time to help us with anything we needed. The room was spotlessly clean (and I'm hyper-critical of this kind of thing) The bed was very comfortable! Breakfast was fantastic- made to order and although I had the full english, I heard the owner happily accommodate several other patrons specific requests. Just a fantastic place and I'd recommend it 100% to anyone staying in Tintagel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimD1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Warm and friendly from the moment we arrived. The staff and the owners did all they could to ensure a comfortable and pleasant stay, without being over powering or in your face.
The room was bright and airy. Our en- suite shower was large (wonderful not to knock your funny bone every time you tried to wash) and spotlessly clean, as was the whole room.
The restaurant food was excellent, our Sea Bas was succulent and beautifully cooked.
We stayed for a couple of nights while we explored the North Coastal Towns of Cornwall.
Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sue Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tintagel hotels
0.1 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,356 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wootons Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#3 of 24 in Tintagel
551 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Avalon
The Avalon
#6 of 24 in Tintagel
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintagel Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintagel Arms Hotel

Address: Tintagel Hotel Fore Street, Tintagel, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tintagel Arms Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reception open from 7:30 till 21:00 ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tintagel Arms Hotel Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing