We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprise party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bossiney House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Certificate of Excellence
cornwall
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Surprise party”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We have just held a surprise 70th party for my father and wanted to thank Douglas and the team for a fantastic day. You all worked tirelessly and helped make the day truly memorable. Nothing was too much trouble, from making sure the kids were kept occupied to heroically feeding 100 guests both lunch and supper. Many of our guests stayed at least one night and all commented on how relaxing the stay was. Throughout the night we were kept well fed and watered, the food superb and the small bar miraculously coped with all of us.

Thanks again chaps, would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caveyavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    63
    16
    7
    7
See reviews for
58
73
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Our visit got off to a very bad start when we were told the restaurant opening times on our arrival but not that it was completely booked out for the evening! We even informed the person on reception that we were going out but would be back for dinner! When we returned to eat we were first told that there was no chance of a table, then two minutes later that we could have one in about half an hour if we would like to wait in the bar. The person behind the bar then told us there was no chance of a table! After a 5 hour drive to get to the hotel we then found ourselves having to get back into the car and go in search of food..... after which I was unable to park back at the hotel due to the number of people (not hotel guests) in the car park.

The room was basic but clean, not much more or less than you would expect for the price.... However we didn't expect to be woken up during the night by the sound of the people in the next room snoring, obviously the walls are a bit on the thin side!

Breakfast was hot and plentiful and of a good quality. We did manage to eat in the restaurant the following evening and the food really was good, steaks were cooked to perfection!

The waiting staff were excellent and very friendly. The people that messed us around appeared to be the owners though they didn't introduce themselves. The issue with the restaurant wasn't limited to ourselves, there was a couple booked in the following day who were also unable to eat in the restuarant, and whilst having a drink in the bar I heard the same man booking people in and not telling them that they need to book the restaurant.

If the owners read this, would it be so difficult to inform your guests, many of whom will have driven a long way, that they may like to book the restaurant in an e-mail at the time of booking or at check in? I know I would have appreciated it.

I'm sure if it hadn't been for this issue my rating would be higher, hence the title, but I won't be going back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MikeN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Bossiney House Hotel really fits the bill for a family holiday on the North Coast of Cornwall. Yes some of the areas are a little dated, but the bed and breakfast rate for peak season is quite reasonable and the owners could not have been more helpful with our many requests. We enjoyed the breakfast and although there have been comments about food being kept warm in buffet style. the dishes were freshly cooked, and readily renewed, not to mention a large continental style selection. Angus (the Deerhound) is part and parcel of this hotel and the owners are always happy to 'exclude' him if necessary. The hotel abuts the coastal path and a ten minute stroll brings you onto the wonderful Cornish coastline where walks to Boscastle or Tintagel are spectacular. There are nearby surfing beaches at Trebarwith Strand or Widemouth Bay, wild walks on Bodmin Moor or beautiful coastal villages such as Port Isaac nearby. Teenagers are accommodated for with free Wifi, which was also pretty handy in sourcing days out in wet weather, and there is also a swimming pool to expend that last bit of energy. Thank you to all the staff for their advice and help in making our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greekgods_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

We have just got back from 2 nights at this hotel and I have to agree with many of the previous comments. When we arrived our greeting was efficient and impersonal but overpowered by the stench of the dog's (untouched) fish dinner in the reception room.
Our booking was incorrect and even though I had made 3 telephone calls with the hotel about the needs of our booking these had not been noted, The details that I had been given and had thought I had booked, were not possible to have. We were able to reselect rooms but not one the ground floor as requested (I had recently had a fall and finding stairs difficult).
Our room was clean but very dated and did not have a sea view. The bed was clean and comfortable with nice linen and towels were fluffy and white.
Our daughter had a very average room with a nice view over the garden to the sea but the 'ensuite' was half of the wardrobe. To be honest I thought this was one of the most oppressive and unpleasant 'ensuite' that I have ever seen.
The owners could hardly mange a smile if we encountered them in the hotel although the staff at breakfast were very efficient and friendly, The breakfast itself was plentiful and well cooked, although, as previously said kept warm on a hotplate and so was tepid if not newly added.
An expensive hotel for what it really offers and not one I would recommend. We stayed the previous night at a newly refurbished hotel in nearby Bude for the same price. There we had a double bedroom with new lught coloured fittings, a modern bathroom and also a lounge with kitchenette. No comparison.
Advice to the Bossiney ..... you can only make one first impression ..... the dogs dinner turned our stomach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike186245, General Manager at Bossiney House Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
We are sorry that you appear not to have enjoyed your stay at Bossiney House. If you had raised any of your issues at the time of your stay, we would have done our best to resolve them. We are surprised that you claim that our attitude was not friendly as we pride ourselves in communication with our guests. Naturally, we do not force our attention on anyone and, in August, we have to respond to all our guest needs.

Similarly, we are saddened to hear that you did not appreciate Angus the deerhound. Angus is a valued member of the team in our family run hotel but we well appreciate there some who are not animal lovers and are always happy to remove him from public areas should any guest request it. I can honestly assure you we do not feed him noxious substances and he is calm, clean and sociable and has more than a few admirers too.

Just a word on your reservation and check-in. We reserve rooms on a “first come” basis and during your three telephone calls we carefully detailed what room options there were. You chose the first floor room that you finally stayed in. When you checked in and said you did not want stairs we offered you a suitable ground floor room that we had available. We believe we responded to the best of our ability on each occasion of a request from you.

We are glad that saw some merit in our breakfast. We offer buffet because we can offer a wider selection of foodstuffs (10 hot items and extensive continental buffet). Tea or coffee and toast are served to the table and then guests can select as much as they wish and thus service is delivered faster than if individually prepared. We replenish and replace when needed all the food on both the hot and continental buffets until service ends and thereafter we leave some all foods until all our guests have finished and left the restaurant. It would be cheaper for us if we plated food individually but each system has its merits and we think a buffet serves our guests best.

We try hard to keep our services high and prices low competitive. We are not moved by your comparison of our breakfast-included price with a room only price from a competitor reopening and seeking to fill rooms in high season.

We most certainly do not want dissatisfied customers and would have been glad of the chance to talk your concerns through directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

This was our second trip to the Bossiney House Hotel and it was excellent....again! The rooms are lovely and clean and spacious. The staff were excellent, friendly and always willing to help! The resturant was amazing - both dinner and breakfast - in fact my partner thinks the streak is the best she has ever had. The locations is perfect - for families visiting Tintagel, Boscastle or the beach or walkers looking to go to Bodmin and Dartmoor! And then there is Angus The Dearhound..............He is so cool and not intrusive or demanding and adds to the relaxed atmosphere!! Will be going back soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weloveangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

I took a group of 23 active but older walkers for a 4 night stay on a half board basis. Everyone commented on how good the food, service and standard of cleanliness was. For our purposes the location was excellent, being near the facilities in Tintagel, on a convenient local bus service to such places as Bude, Boscastle and Port Issac and also being near the coastal path and to Bodmin Moor. The group rate included a simple afternoon tea and was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walker01684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

This hotel and resturant were a lovely surprise. The food was excellant and it was close enough to Tintagel Castle to explore the area and town centre. The only draw back was the cold rooms. Tried putting central heating on but room never seemed to warm up. Would recommed the costal walk the views are amazing.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinecuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
0.7 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Wootons Country Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bossiney House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bossiney House Hotel

Property: Bossiney House Hotel
Address: Bossiney Road, Tintagel PL34 0AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bossiney House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 20 rooms, bar, Cedar Tree Restaurant, ample off-road parking, WiFi and free internet access, all set in over an acre if gardens. We are ideally located for short getaways and longer breaks, anyone looking to explore Cornwall's many delights. With our facilities we can cater for couples, families, individuals and business trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Bossiney House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bossiney Hotel Tintagel
Bossiney House Hotel Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing