We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location. Excellent Hostel with good facilities”
Review of YHA Tintagel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
YHA Tintagel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This Hostel is situated half way down the cliff just outside Tintagel. The location is excellent and gives far reaching coastal views. Dorm beds are available and in quieter periods it is possible to have a private room at additional cost. Self catering facilities are excellent.

There is a cycle store.
Shops pubs etc available in Tintagel which is 1 15 minute walk.

Very helpful volunteer Hostel Manager

Room Tip: Upgrade to a private room if you want privacy and freedom from snoring. Phone signal up the hill .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 61 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2013

A great hostel with good enough facilities. We hired the whole place with friends for a really fun weekend. The kitchen facilities were sufficient to cook for 20 or so. There are 4 bunk rooms, 2 for 4 and 2 for 6. The position on top of the cliff is wonderful and it is only a short walk to Tintagel Castle and the town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenhayllar2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is wonderfully placed, right on the South-West Coast Path. It is completely isolated but less than 1 mile from Tintagel - which has good bus services. It is only a small youth hostel, staffed by volunteers - very helpful and friendly guy when we stayed. The cooking and dining facilities are good, and absolute basics can be bought. The shower is also good. The best thing was that one could see the sea, only a few yards away, while lying in bed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This really is an incredible place - as others have said, it is difficult to get to, especially for those without cars, but the views make it very worthwhile. The hostel is situated about a 15 minute drive down an extremely bumpy gravel path about a mile's walk from the town along the southwest coastal path.

I have stayed here twice now, in September 2010 and 2011, both times in the same dorm. It is the typical hostel indoors in that it has seperate male and female dorms (male at one end of the building and female at the other, facing the cliffs) with toilets and showers and a large communal lounge/kitchen. The wardens own small flat (run by seasonal volunteers) with a tiny shop is in the centre of the building. The kitchen is very well equipped with all the utensils you will need, including two fridges, a large cooker and a microwave. The only problem I found is that the female shower is a bit on the small side - not the shower itself but the space between the entrance door and the shower itself - you have about 6 inches in which to hang your clothes and get dried off and dressed - not the place to go then if you are at all overweight. If you stay here for long though, with all those long and exhilerating walks, the extra weight won't hang around for too long!

The hostel itself may not be that spectacular but it certainly makes up for it in its location and terrific views with amazing sunsets.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeysirGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

i stayed here recently on a driving trip around cornwall. the hostel is down a few bumpy dirt tracks. the hostel itself faces out to see on the stunning north cornwall coastline. it's about 15 mins walk from the town of tintagel and 10 mins from tintagel castle. there are male and female dorm style rooms, i don't think there is an option for seperate room. there are no meals available, though there are gas stoves, ovens and fridges for you own food. the yha staff sell some small things like chocolate bars and tins of soups. there is a washing machine, but no dryer and i found it very hard to dry my clothes. i ended up having to take my damp clothes into tintagel town and use the laundromat there. this is one of the best hostels i stayed in on this trip, many happy memories, even though the weather was a bit dreary, but made the coastline very dramatic.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somethingaboutkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

A real gem this place - an old quarry master's cottage right on the cliff top, with superb views. Only six rooms so never busy, I challenge anyone to find a more perfect location. Excellent self catering kitchen facilities and very comfortable dining room furnished to a high level. Usual YHA type rooms, ie. bunk beds and wooden floors, so as long as you're not expecting hotel style bedrooms you'll be happy, particularly if you get the family one with panoramic view the length of the room.
Two small downsides - family rooms pricey at around £85/night, though this is normal unfortunately for families of five. Other one is the thin walls, which do not block out the snoring of fellow hostelers... However the location more than makes up for these, with Tintagel village a lovely 20 minute walk away and the beach at Trebarwith Strand a mile walk the other way. Cannot comment on friendliness of staff as they rotate every five days, having stayed on three occasions all three wardens were extremely pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickycowslip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boscastle-Manager, Manager at YHA Tintagel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
0.4 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
1,314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
274 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
YHA Boscastle
YHA Boscastle
#2 of 6 in Boscastle
61 reviews
20.7 mi away
YHA Eden Project
YHA Eden Project
#6 of 37 in St Austell
373 reviews
0.4 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#3 of 24 in Tintagel
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Tintagel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Tintagel

Address: Dunderhole Point Glebe Cliff, Tintagel PL34 0DW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Tintagel
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Tintagel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Tintagel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Tintagel Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing