We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Scenic Views”
Review of Tintagel Castle

Tintagel Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$366.79*
and up
Private, Full-Day Tour to Port Isaac, Padstow, and Tintagel from Cornwall
More Info
$366.79*
and up
Full-Day Guided Private Port Isaac, Padstow and Tintagel Tour from Devon
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Tintagel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This brooding 13th-century castle sits on the rugged and spectacular Atlantic coast in Cornwall, which recalls the myth and mystery associated with King Arthur and Merlin the magician. New exhibition explores the stories linking Tintagel to King Arthur which includes a 3D model of the site illustrating how it has changed over the centuries. Dog friendly and child friendly, this is a great day out for all the family.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Scenic Views”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I went to Cornwall for 5 days, and as plans turned out I only had Sunday to visit Tintagel. I really like the legend of Merlin and so I definitely wanted to visit. I was told on Sunday castle is closed, but it turned out that could be the best thing. There were only 3-4 other people in whole of area.
The views are beautiful. Merlin's cove is also beautiful. On low tides you can walk across one of the caves to the opening at other side.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kingkongsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,694
    874
    256
    73
    33
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“check the out of season opening times!! lol”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

we drove a fair bit out of the way to see the legendary castle. Have to say the views are amazing! but the castle is only open sat and sun out of season HOWEVER half the site is on the main land so you can see it for free during the week, the bridge over to the island has a barrier across it. The scenery is amazing and quite romantic, though make sure you wrap up warm. Don't forgot you have to pay to see the other half on the weekend (think it was about £5-6 each)
Oh and make sure you go to the loo before hand, EVERYTHING is shut during the week at the castle

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bristol1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Closed Castle but still such amazing views”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We took a right at Camelot hotel and followed it down to the headland to the right side of the castle.
Amazing panoramic views, simply breathtaking.

The castle itself was closed, however, we wandered around the grounds outside and were still pleasantly surprised by the views and area in general.

Quite a lot of hills, you have been warned!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank iamRayRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning but never knew you had to pay!”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Breathe taking views, birds of prey only a few feet away. The only issue we had was we didn't know it was English heritage and when we got to the bottom we found we had to pay. Lucky, as most of the time when walking we carry no wallets or purses, we had some cash.

It's a tough one on the thighs but it is defiantly in the memory bank forever.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank zmarriner84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One for photographers”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Definitely worth a visit. The car parks were easy to find after looking on Google and the castle is signposted well from the village. The slope is steep going down to the site but there is a jeep service that runs back and forth for a few quid. You dont need to purchase the guide but I did for a souvenir and found the map inside to be very useful.

A word of warning, there are MANY steep steps to climb and if like me you have problems with your knees or not generally active, it will tire you out easily...just make sure you take a break when you feel your legs are turning to jelly or burning and carry on when you're able.

The views are worth the climb and what's left of the castle is very interesting to look at.
If youre taking kids, make sure they take care if themselves and pay attention to cliff edges and possible falling rocks from above or side winds...and wear comfortable shoes.

And remember the steep slope coming down on the way in? Guess what that turns into on the way back...thats right...an incline up. Dont forget the jeep service ;)

A great couple of hours or so trip for photographers, kids and King Arthur fanatics.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Em B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tintagel Castle also viewed

 

Been to Tintagel Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing