We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ruins in fantastic setting”
Review of Tintagel Castle

Tintagel Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$360.97*
and up
Private, Full-Day Tour to Port Isaac, Padstow, and Tintagel from Cornwall
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Tintagel
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This brooding 13th-century castle sits on the rugged and spectacular Atlantic coast in Cornwall, which recalls the myth and mystery associated with King Arthur and Merlin the magician. New exhibition explores the stories linking Tintagel to King Arthur which includes a 3D model of the site illustrating how it has changed over the centuries. Dog friendly and child friendly, this is a great day out for all the family.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely ruins in fantastic setting”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Third visit to Tintagel. Fabulous as always. English Heritage seem to have taken over a small restaurant at the bottom and the prices for food seemed a bit steep but foreign tourists did not seem to mind and they were doing a good trade. We settled for cheesey chips to share which filled our tummies til tea time. Did notice that a lot of people struggled with the very steep steps including a blind guy, an old guy walking with sticks and young families with buggies. There did not seem to be a secure buggy park so not sure how these would have managed to get up to see the ruins on the cliffs? Beach at the bottom with the caves was very busy but a lovely happy place to visit with people swimming in the sea and investigating the caves. Again, another steep walk down to the beach BE WARNED PEOPLE....(!)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElpixTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,582
    800
    240
    69
    29
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A walk through legends”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Legend says King Arthur was born here, and he might have been - who knows for sure?

Tintagel has steep cliffs, rocky ledges and, in many places, nothing to stop you falling off them into the rock-strewn sea below, especially if it's breezy. It's an awe-inspiring site. The remains of the castle are sparse, but clearly show rooms and a few portals and floor areas. On our last visit, we watched a kestrel, hunting below us on the cliffs. On the land-side ruins we listened to a storyteller in medieval garb, reciting the tale of King Mark and his donkey's ears.

The way into Tintagel is long and steep across an isthmus and up the cliff face. If you are pregnant or have any mobility problems, you might want to just view it from the hotel overlooking the site. If the steps are too much once you've started, don't be afraid to stop at a corner and let the rest of the queue pass you by for a while. There is only one narrow way in and out, and people are passing both ways all the time, especially on busy weekends.

The ticketing process is a bit confusing. There's a shop and there's a kiosk at each entrance and you can buy a ticket at either, but nowhere are you informed of this piece of essential information, or that having bought your ticket at the shop you can nudge past the queue at the kiosk (as there's only one way in).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JanGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
302 reviews
148 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Fantastic! This was by far the highlight of my holiday in Cornwall. Fabulous views and emotion pure. The castle itself has all but disappeared, however, there is enough still standing to excite the imagination.
I very nearly missed a great day in a great place. All the reviews that I read stated "not for the old", "not for people with walking difficulties", "not for the young" I am 68 years old, have serious health problems which affect my sense of balance and have an aortal aneurysm which means over-exertion can be life-threatening. Couple that with travelling with young grandchildren (6 and 4) it is probably understandable that I thought paying the entrance fee would be a waste of money.
Ignoring the reviews was a very good decision. Yes, the steps are steep and some of the treads are high. Yes, the climb down and the climb up are long; and that needs to be tackled twice. Take it slow, don't be rushed by people behind. There are plenty of opportunities to take a rest because the mass of people causes natural roadblocks. There are plenty of handrails to help.
My advice to the old and infirm - if you can climb stairs at home then do Tintagel but do it at your own speed - the rewards are worth the effort.
I now have something in common with King Arthur and Merlin. We have all done Tintagel.
So should you -enjoy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Drehort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Level Contributor
137 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Splendid views and castle”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is obviously a very touristy attraction, but it is worth doing if you are fit enough. The walk to the castle, and the access to the castle are very steep, although for a small charge, there is a land rover service up and down the lane. We didn't use this service, and obviously it only gets you to the entrance. There is no other help to get you to the castle, so for those with mobility issues, this may be as far as you can go. It is worth the climb though, the views are just stunning - complete panorama of the surrounding area. We visited on a hot, sunny day but the wind when on the cliff top was something else. For families with smaller children, a word of advice - once on the top, the cliff tops are exposed with nothing to stop anyone going over the edge. We will definitely visit again because the access to the coastal path is great and will make for some amazing walks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank harlyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
315 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Breathtaking but not for the faint of heart”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Not for the faint of heart. Just walking down to the entrance was a bit steep from the parking area and the village(although you can get a ride down and up from the village for 2 pounds/per person each way). Once you get there, it’s down and up with slippery steps (when it rains). If you want to get to Merlin’s cave down on the beach, make sure you know when the tides are since it’s only open during low tide. Also, trying to get down to the beach is treacherous since the last few concrete steps have broken away and it’s a scramble down rocks (getting down was easier than getting back up, too). As for the ruins, the steps are very steep but the views are spectacular. The cliffs are not fenced off, either, so care needs to be taken if you are bringing kids. Worth the trip, especially if you like ruins, Arthurian legends and great views.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tintagel Castle also viewed

 

Been to Tintagel Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing