We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cornish Gem”
Review of Trenowan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trenowan
Ranked #1 of 24 Tintagel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Cornish Gem”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a very special place and visitors enter a world where nothing is too much trouble for the hosts Vivienne and Ian. The Blue Room is beautifully furnished with a dressing room and bathroom attached.. The location is also superb and its hard to leave this area of outstanding natural beauty. A word about breakfasts, they are "hearty", beautufully presented and cooked exactly to order. You will even be asked if you choose to have your eggs scrambled if you would like them soft or firm! Its a great joy to be with Viveinne and Ian and join them in their home and whilst very helpful will also respect your desire to "do your own thing".
A real Cornish Gem and our second visit of what hopefully will be many more.

Room Tip: Take whatever room is available you will find nothing better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brendan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
149
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed for two nights. Vivienne and Iain are wonderful hosts - very friendly and accommodating with advice and recommendations. The guest house itself is a wonderful building with excellent guest rooms and breat breakfasts. A great place from which to explore Trebarwith Strand (highly recommended!), Tintagel and Boscastle. The cliff-top coastal walk from just outside Trenowan to Tintagel castle is spectacular and well worth doing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john65lyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Linen Room at the beginnig of July 2012. From the moment we stepped into the B&B until we were waved off by Viviene and Iain after 2 nights stay we felt welcome and pampered. The owners really have though of everything and take their 'job' seriously. The afternoon tea served on arrival and the locally sourced toiletries in the room were just perfect. I hope to be able to return year after year but feel we will have to book well in advance.

Room Tip: We were more than happy with the linen room despite getting the impression it may have been the smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coral F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I have spent two nights at this B & B this week. I can only agree with what all the other reviews have said how wonderful it is there. The position of the B & B and hosts Iain and Vivienne are wonderful. We stopped in the gold room, it is so lovely with the most comfortable bed. I think the breakfast is the best I have had at any hotel or b & b that we have stayed in before. Do not hesitate to stay here. I hope we will again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spoolerWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here, first time with our 3 children, 15,12 and 4. Vivienne and Ian are genuinely warm and gracious hosts and immediately make you feel at home. Gorgeous rooms with stunning views,lovely potions and lotions in the bathrooms and lots of other thoughtful little touches all add up to the feeling of being very pampered.Homemade scones, delicious jams, tea served in beautiful cups and saucers and huge and scrumptious breakfast are very much the order of the day. Vivienne and Ian managed to have combined keeping this b and b small and personal whilst delivering a boutique hotel experience. If you are thinking its a little pricey for a b and b, it is worth every penny and you most certainly get what you pay for. We will be back and we would wholeheartedly recommend this gem of a place.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I'm traveling with my mother, and we booked Trenowan for two nights after reading the wonderful reviews here, and it's all true. This is the loveliest B&B I've even been, the rooms and just gorgeous, you can see it's been decorated with love. there's so much warmth in the house, both Vivienne and Ian were incredible, nice and helpful. The beds were amazing as well! We couldn't think of any flaws and were sad to leave.

Room Tip: both rooms have a sea-side view I think, we stayed in the twin (blue room) which is also quite large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amesburyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south gloucester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Welcomed with home made rock buns straight out of the oven. Amazingly friendly hosts with recommendations of where to eat which were a massive help. Breakfast was lovely.

So clean and comfy couldnt fault it. Will definitely recommend to family and friends and will be back.

Vivienne and Iain you are a credit to the industry..

Room Tip: choose the gold room for an amazing bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tintagel hotels
1.1 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
115 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
#4 of 6 in Tintagel
253 reviews
0.8 mi away
King Arthur's Arms Inn
King Arthur's Arms Inn
#2 of 24 in Tintagel
493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Port William Inn
Port William Inn
#4 of 24 in Tintagel
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trenowan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trenowan

Property: Trenowan
Address: Treknow | Tintagel, Tintagel PL34 0EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a relaxed and friendly coastal retreat with a touch of indulgence - somewhere where you can take a deep breath and unwind following a day out exploring the Cornish coast and moors, visiting National Trust properties or surfing at nearby Trebarwith Strand then Trenowan, a Victorian house with coastal views and within 300 yards of the coastal path is the B & B for you. A warm welcome with a pot of tea or coffee and homemade cake awaits you here at Trenowan before a visit to Tintagel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Trenowan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trenowan Tintagel, Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing