We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cornishman Inn Tintagel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Visited again for dinner booked as very busy in summer. Good selection of food on the special board including fish, pasta and steaks. Great food and made to order and was very fresh. Had the cod and it was lovely but could have been a little bigger.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    73
    39
    16
    14
See reviews for
50
116
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chulmleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have just returned home from the Cornishman after a ten day stay. Yet again, we have had a wonderful holiday here. We cannot fault it - breakfasts were wonderful - a choice of four cereals; a variety of fruit juices; tea or coffee in abundance; a selection of bread for toast; strawberries, bananas, apples, pears, grapes; and a full English breakfast as well - which included enormous tomatoes; back bacon that actually tasted of bacon and not the watery stuff; fried, poached or scrambled eggs; mushrooms and beans! How can anyone complain at that?
The dinners were equally scrumptious! With a Specials board that provided FRESH swordfish, tuna steaks, cod steaks, crevettes etc. together with steaks that literally melted in your mouth, steak and kidney that could win prizes - all home made and so on and on and on ...
Our only complaint is that the stay was so wonderful we have returned home cosseted, overweight and sad that it is over until the next time!
Jeremy, Roch and the staff cannot do enough for you and the locals are friendly too!
The situation and the rooms are great - what more do you want?
P.S. Kids will love the huge garden with swings, bouncy castle etc. etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devondumplingsoap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here for a night on July 23. Must have been a break in the weather as we did not experience the heat we had experienced all over the rest of England.

Cornishman Inn was a stop on the way to Lands End for our family and we had no idea what we had gotten into. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised by the property, the staff and the village. Check in was a bit confusing at the Bar, but once we got through that we enjoyed a wonderful stay. Ate dinner there and breakfast the next morning and all food was excellent, recommend the curry.

Rooms were small, as noted here previously, but were well appointed given the space. Walking around Tintagel is quite easy from this location as well as walking to the Castle and Merlin's Cave.

When our two week visit to England was done, I asked everyone in group, separately, favorite hotel and place, Cornishman Inn and Tintagel were hands down winners.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiverpoolRed808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Due to the great weather, decided a quick one day-er in Cornwall. Decided on Tintagel and the Cornishman. Place looked nice enough, reviews okish. Room was good size, but only one window facing the street and the entrance door immediately to the right. This meant the room got extremely hot at night, had to leave the door open all night to try and help. It didn't. The basin was in the bedroom, and above it on the ceiling were masses of cobwebs. Not a great advert. We didn't eat here, a need for mussels took us elsewhere, food looked good though, enough cider for me. Cooked breakfast took nearly 40 mins to arrive, but was nice and ok selection of cereal/bread.

Room Tip: Eat/drink here. Stay maybe in cooler times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davem001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

room was small, hot, grossly disappointed to find a pillow case missing on the bed with pillows that really needing replacing, it was however clean. Breakfast sadly was nothing special and barely average - pretty basic - cornflakes, coco pops or muesli, orange juice from cartons, tea and instant coffee, white and brown sliced bread left in their plastic packet, one saugage, one egg, one bacon, and a possible tablespoon or two of beans with mushroom and tomato
Plus side, really helpful gentleman helped me up with my heavy suitcase and the bar was open late whichbar staff helpful and welcoming , nothing special at all, probably acceptable for a night

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sox2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a great place to stay, with clean well presented rooms and a relaxed atmosphere.It is in a good position in the town and close to the castle. The evening meal was excellent, they have a first class chef and a great menu so many local people were eating here too !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at the Cornishman Inn weekend 14th June for 4days/3nights.
The rooms are really good value for money & along with a welcoming approach from the staff, it makes this hotel which is situated right in the middle of Tintagel really enjoyable.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends & I would also stay here again.
Only 1 thing I found is that you could not get a coffee at the end of the evening, don't know if this was because the staff were being awkward as coffee is always available when
Breakfast is being served. How hard can it be to put a spoonful of coffee in a cup

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
0.3 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#4 of 5 in Port Isaac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wootons Country Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Longcross Hotel & Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornishman Inn Tintagel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornishman Inn Tintagel

Property: Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Address: Fore Street, Tintagel PL34 0DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cornishman Inn Tintagel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Cornishman Inn Tintagel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornishman Inn Tintagel Hotel Tintagel
Cornishman Hotel Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing