We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Tintagel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Tintagel”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

There's nothing too special about the Cornishman Inn in Tintagel, but the combination of good food, friendly people, a cute pub, a great location and an average room make it an overall good stay. We stayed at the Cornishman Inn on a whim but were pleasantly surprised, the rates were good, the rooms were clean and simple, and the pub was kind of funky and cute. The location can't be beat, it's the closest inn to the castle and right in the center of town so it's the perfect spot to explore from. Wifi was good and easily available and the staff were super friendly and accommodating. We didn't get a chance to try much of the menu but it seemed good! We would stay here again if in Tintagel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkelsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    81
    42
    16
    15
See reviews for
53
125
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very welcoming staff. Clean rooms with good ensuite bathrooms. Quite cold in the rooms while we were there, heater in room did not appear to work and bedding was thin. Nice pub. Can't beat the in-town location. Parking at rear of hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkrockit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camelford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

we live locally & often eat here. the food is freshly cooked & the specials change regularly unlike other pubs in the village.
our young son is always made welcome & the garden terrace & children's play area at the rear is very popular when the weather is good. you will not be disappointed if you eat here.
we have not stayed in the accommodation but if it's anything like the food I'm sure it's great!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tintagel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend who are live here in Tintagel came here one night with my dad who was visiting, we wanted to eat out in the village and being locals to this pub ( on occasion) we always noticed how good the food looked and smelled but had never eaten here, so we ventured here not so long ago and had a meal.
I had vegetable lasagne off the specials board, my boyfriend had the chicken curry and my dad had the veg chilli.......all very nice, flavours were really good in the lasagne and dad loved his chilli said there was a great contrast between the spiciness and flavour :)
We have always visited the pub for drinks and a game or two of pool and now we know that the food is great we shall definitely eat here again when we are looking for a pub dinner :):)
Great staff and friendly cat too!!!
There's always a great selection of ales too!
Reasonable prices on food and also drinks are fairly affordable too :)
We shall be back for beer and food :):)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Ate here, didn't stay so can't comment on the rooms. We've been coming to Tintagel for years but never liked the look of this pub - our loss as it turns out! Service and food both really good, and very friendly and accommodating also.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BAGEL01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

What a great place. Stayed for three nights and had a fantastic time. The friendly welcome we got from the staff. Some good local real ale, food was very good and reasonably priced so too the wine list. Room was very nice. The breakfasts where also very good. We had a lovely time stopping here and would not hesitate coming back. Big thanks to Al he was a top bloke at a top inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivhudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night, we returned to Tintagel after staying here last summer at the Bossiney House Hotel, but thought we would opt for a change. We arrived at 11am and they allowed us to check in early which was great. The staff are friendly and helpful. We stayed in room 9, it had a small double bed and a small toilet room which had no windows and was extremely cold. The shower is actually in the room which was fine but the room itself was very cold, there was a small heater which barely let off heat even when on full. A suggestion to the hotel would be to get a thicker quilt, it was very thin so we struggled to get warm and stay warm. The curtains were also very thin and we were up early as it did not keep the light out. As mentioned previous, breakfast was 8-9, very early for the easter weekend. However cannot fault the location, in the centre of the village surrounded by pubs, small shops, the castle and costal walks .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank carly_bowles17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeremy238, Owner at Cornishman Inn Tintagel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Sorry you found the room to be cold.
There is a high / low setting and a dial 1-6, maybe you had it on the low setting. I tried it and it was warm within 15 minutes, there are also blankets in every wardrobe in every room.
We are also addressing the breakfast issues. Starting in May we will be serving breakfast in one of our bars and increasing the times of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tintagel
0.3 mi away
Camelot Castle Hotel
Camelot Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tintagel
1,218 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tintagel
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Wootons Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bossiney House Hotel
Bossiney House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Tintagel
174 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Cornish Arms
The Cornish Arms
#1 of 1 in Pendoggett
222 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Wellington Hotel
The Wellington Hotel
#1 of 2 in Boscastle
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornishman Inn Tintagel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornishman Inn Tintagel

Property: Cornishman Inn Tintagel
Address: Fore Street, Tintagel PL34 0DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Tintagel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tintagel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cornishman Inn Tintagel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Cornishman Inn Tintagel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornishman Inn Tintagel Hotel Tintagel
Cornishman Hotel Tintagel
Cornishman Inn Tintagel Cornwall, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing