We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, pristine, cottage in an ideal location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sun deck with a sea view - even closer when the tide is in!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Sun deck with a sea view - even closer when the tide is in!
Quiet residential street - no through road, so very little traffic
Plenty of comfortable seating
Dining table for six
Newly refurbished kitchen. Induction hobs and fan assisted oven.
Family bathroom
Master bedroom - spacious and bright.
Master bedroom.
Master bedroom - restored original wardrobe and shelving.
Master bedroom.
Small double room. Hanging rail and under bed / cupboard storage
Small double room. Note that bed is only accessible on one side
Bunk room - window has a nice view across the valley.
Bunk room - two full-sized bunk beds with bedside tables and lamps.
Bunk room.
Utility room with Meile fridge/freezer and AEG washer/dryer leading to sun deck and W/C.
View from back door of sun deck
A great vantage point for watching all the activity down on the harbour.
Floor plan
Park directly outside the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
teresa d
Woodbridge, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, pristine, cottage in an ideal location”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Fisherman's Cottage was a wonderful place to stay and we are still congratulating ourselves for having found it. It is a vert comfortable, charming place, in pristine conditions and we were impressed by how thoughtfully it was equipped; we had all that we needed to enjoy a great week. The location is exceptional, close to the sea and the restaurants and pubs and all sorts of stores to satisfy the requirements of travelers, even a hair stylist and some very nice boutique. The beds are great and super comfortable (the bunk beds are, of course, better for children even though we have an adult sleeping there). The spacious deck is a lovely space to relax or to have an informal meal or a drink with a view of the sea. The kitchen has very good and new appliances and all necessary dinnerware and cooking equipment. The owner even left a bottle of wine for us. One of the beauties of Fisherman's Cottage is its location in St. Mawes. After exploring the area for a week we were very happy to have chosen this spot as our base. It is beautiful, not overwhelmed by tourists and from it one can plan many great day trips by car or ferry (steps away). We recommend the walk to the Castle and for the dedicated walkers, the one to St.Just. We enjoyed enormously the Lost Gardens of Heligan and the visit to Falmouth was fun and interesting. We parked in front of the cottage and the spot was never taken. The owner, Danny Halsey, was very prompt to respond to our emailed questions and very forthcoming about all the details of the place. We were four friends in this trip and we all would like very much to go back to Fisherman's Cottage soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QueenNore...
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cosy, brilliantly located gem of a cottage”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just the perfect little cottage for us two for a week - our friends came for 2 nights and we had a great B&Q out on the terrace which is bathed in sunshine all afternoon and evening.
50metres from the Rising Sun Pub that serves the best fish & chips in England.
A stones throw from The Idle Rocks hotel with the best sun terrace in town to enjoy drinks as well as a lovely restaurant that always offers gorgeous food and wonderful catch of the day - perfect.
The cottage itself is cosy...clean,,,well equipped with a decent size living room with comfy sofas and a fire should you need it. We had to try it out and used it once - brilliant!

Lovely little kitchen with a super induction hob that I became quite addicted to! The table seats 6 people so great for when there's more than two of you.
The kitchen had all the pans and pots we needed to cook - perfect.

Master bedroom comfy and neat - double bed but fine for us for a week. The 2nd room a small double bed with access from one side only so not suitable for some but fine for our chums for the two nights they stayed.
The third room is small with built in bunks which would suit two children nicely with a small Wardrobe for storage.
Splendid little bathroom with shower over the bath - the best shower water pressure I've enjoyed in a while. Everything in the cottage designed to make the best of the space.
For those who need TV - great to have all the access to Netflix as well as extensive digital choice and the broadband speed is fast and reliable.
We loved it - had no problem parking the car directly outside the cottage which was so convenient however should some inconsiderate person park outside (as they did on one occasion) there is a large carpark 50 metres away and charges are very affordable.

A great place to enjoy St Mawes and the Roseland - great walks , lovely beaches - two in town and others a ten minute drive away.

We will definitely be back - loved it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The terrace in the sun , the view and location
Liked least: Mattress a little hard for me but husband didn't complain!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Walkbiker...
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage, beautiful area”
Reviewed December 2, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Lovely well equipped cottage, comfortable and very clean. Owner very helpful if needed for information re area etc. Beautiful location. Would definately stay again - recommended to my family for relaxing break with lots to see.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area
Liked least: Had to use car for some trips to Falmouth
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 11, 2014
I so glad you guys enjoyed your stay, we'd love to welcome you back to Fisherman's Cottage again. All the best, Danny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing