We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly pub in St Mawes”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Victory Inn

Victory Inn
Ranked #7 of 16 Restaurants in St Mawes
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The only traditional pub in St Mawes, we offer good value pub grub but also have some fantastic fresh fish specials every day. Each week we offer specials deals on our food. Friday nights is fish and chip night 2 for 12 pounds. We are dog friendly. Family friendly. Great range of ales and ciders.
uk
Level Contributor
135 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Friendly pub in St Mawes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Went for snack lunch and the Sunday roast lunch 2 days later
Good food reasonably priced, good service and atmosphere. Would visit again

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gardenloverUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    103
    37
    17
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

We had a 4 night break in st mawes.remembered this place from years ago.food was good and we ate in the victory each of the 4 nights.sticky toffee pudding is to die for.gets very busy with diners so book if you don't want to be disappointed.very warm welcoming staff too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Rip-off!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

We visited the Victory Inn a few years ago and returned today hoping to repeat the 'gourmet pub' experience that we had had previously. Big mistake! We opted for the light bites menu and both ordered Welsh Rarebit (one up from cheese on toast?)
This consisted of two pieces of sliced (cheap?) bread with only one slice covered in cheese mixture which was served lukewarm on cold plates. Having each taken a bite we sent them both back only for the same plates, complete with bedraggled wet lettuce, to be returned to us with with warmer cheese but the accompanying second slice of bread was now stone cold and dry. If they can't get this right get then there's little hope for the rest of the menu!
Add to this, a surly barman and unfriendly staff - an experience not to be repeated

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rustybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjmemc, Public Relations Manager at Victory Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Hi There
Sorry for the experience that you had, this barman has now moved on and the rarebit is off the menu.
Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sadly average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Great drinking pub but feel ripped off to pay over 6.00 for 5 defrosted small prawns called king prawns.

This place has been taken over again through a divorce settlement ? Get back to reality and the proper home cooked food like you used to do.

Your chef is great, let him cook I have been coming here for 20 years and have seen the highs and lows of The Victory.

You have a captive audience in he winter, why let your standards slip just because its the winter.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dashwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
190 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Okay for a quick one”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Hubby and I visited this pub twice. On both occasions the staff were friendly and there was a nice fire going but there is definitely the feel that this pub is the one the locals use. I don't have a problem at all with this and it is good to know it is well utilised. Quite a lot of seating which is a little narrow if you happen to be slightly broad in the hips but the beers on offer were good and the service was fine. We didn't choose to eat here but that wasn't because it didn't appeal we just didn't have time to try them out - maybe next time!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank mouse010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victory Inn also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to Victory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing