We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“St Mawes Landmark” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Victory Inn

Victory Inn
Ranked #7 of 15 Restaurants in St Mawes
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The only traditional pub in St Mawes, we offer good value pub grub but also have some fantastic fresh fish specials every day. Each week we offer specials deals on our food. Friday nights is fish and chip night 2 for 12 pounds. We are dog friendly. Family friendly. Great range of ales and ciders.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“St Mawes Landmark”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Nice to see this really good, unpretentious pub managing the mix between being a pub and serving good food. We ate this time as part of a large party with small children all of whom enjoyed it. The fish and chips are particularity good, the beer (Betty Stogs) is well kept and there is a reasonable list of drinkable wines ,

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank elksatthame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    103
    36
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good for a quick lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We popped in for a quick lunch while self-catering a few miles away. We went for the standard fish and chips, which were first rate and cheerfully served. Typical English pub just off the harbour and we would go back if we holidayed in the area again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FPrefect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The kind of pub you find has a table when everywhere else is full. The service was friendly, but the menu was simply beyond the chef's abilities the night we were there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank scrittib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food in pub with pleasant vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Ate here 3 nights as we didn't want to drive and found eating well at St Mawes quite limited. Reliably good food with wide choice and several specials, as well as basic pub grub. The risotto accompaniments, which can be difficult, served with the fish were very tasty and properly cooked. Staff were friendly and attentive and the prices were excellent, particularly on the curry night and fish and chip night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank camper6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Although from the outside the Victory looks like your average boozer the interior is somewhat smarter and the food smarter still. Go on, go on, go on!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank joshie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victory Inn also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to Victory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing