We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful real fire in the lounge”
Review of The Rising Sun

The Rising Sun
Ranked #6 of 18 Restaurants in St Mawes
Price range: $11 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed January 26, 2013

amazing log burning stove in the lounge where we sat on comfy leather sofas and overstuffed chairs eating amazing chips and drinking delicious lattes.... great!

Thank Angulimala28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 396 of 471 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

Food was ok. I think this place has an identity crises. I couldn't understand why we were sat on the sets on Antiques Roadshow eating our lunch.

The dessert , raspberry cheesecake had a Chinese fighter base. It was so thick and hard that I had to put up a fight to eat it. I am sure most of it fell on the floor from the fight. The only thing I liked was the fire.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Leylahni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stay in St. Mawes annually around October/November and have done so for the past 4-5 years.

When we are en-route, there's one thing at the top of our priority list...... FISH & CHIPS in The Rising Sun!! :-D

Whilst we have never stayed in the hotel, so can not comment on that, we are well experienced in the dining room!

The atmosphere at this time of year is a little more 'relaxed' as its the end of season, but still service is with a smile.
The dining room itself is simply & cleanly decorated, you can dine in the bar/conservatory area or if you like - though in the next room where there is a log fire crackling away and a sofa or two to rest after dinner.
(or if the weather suits, the outdoor area - overlooking the harbour!)

The menu is varied with a good choice of 'pub grub' and of course locally sourced fish and other ingredients, as well as a daily-changing 'Specials' board.

As you may of guessed we had the Fish & Chips (twice actually!) and also dined here a 3rd night! where i changed to a starter of Scallops - nicely cooked, and a Rib-eye Steak, again cooked well.
Portion sizes are sure to fill and there is a wide selection of wines (if not so much beers) available from the bar.

All in all a great hotel/restaurant to get a decent meal, fairly priced.

And seriously if you like a good Fish & Chips, TRY HERE!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jimmyboriquo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RisingSun11, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for your review of our establishment, your comments are much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great ferry trip and fab Sunday carvery. Well worth a visit. Great in winter or summer. Lovely sun deck and log fires inside.

Thank Natasha6319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Before the change of ownership this was one of our favourite places to eat in St. Mawes. The last time we went there for Sunday lunch the food was terrible! We complained at the end of the meal (so as not to embarrass our guests) and were told that if we had sent our food back at the beginning they would have given a refund! We will never go there again.

    • Food
Thank Tillybox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RisingSun11, Manager at The Rising Sun, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for your review and i am sorry you were disappointed. The rising sun has been under the same ownership for 5 years now and we always put our customers first. I do apologise that you felt your food was terrible, and i do wish this had been bought to our attention as soon as you started eating, not after you had eaten, so this could have been rectified from the start and would have not caused embarassment to you or your party.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rising Sun also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to The Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing