We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A house that made you feel at home”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Dreamcatchers

Dream House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dream House
Breathtaking sea views Kitchen to die for
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Dream House
Breathtaking sea views
Kitchen to die for
Open plan living. Magnificent sea views
Sea views from every room. Log burning fire
Lie in bed and look out to sea
Dramatic bath also with sea view
Great garden too
Stylish interiors . Hypnos beds.Egyption cotton sheets
Direct access to deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jelp1
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A house that made you feel at home”
Reviewed September 3, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a large house and with three generations, we needed it for our recent holiday. We booked over 12 months ago to ensure we got the actual week of Grandad's birthday. The house looked too good to be true on all the promotional materials, but it did not disappoint in anyway. The house is well planned with large living space downstairs and bedrooms and bathrooms to cater for everyone! The garden is superb and the younger members of our family loved it, in fact the trampoline was used more than once every day!
One of the best parts for all of us, was the views over St Mawes- they are stunning and standing on the balcony early in the morning, the sense of peace and tranquility was superb.
Service from the owner and her team was great and we hired Haydn the chef for the evening of the birthday, which was a great treat for us all. Would recommend to families of all ages and say enjoy the experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and views
Liked least: Small kitchen
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2016
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am delighted that you had the perfect holiday to celebrate Grandad's birthday and every member of the family had fun. I look forward to welcoming you back to stay at St Mawes Retreats in the near future Best wishes Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony M
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A magical two weeks with Family and Friends”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from two glorious weeks in this beautiful and luxurious House overlooking St Mawes estuary.
We were greeted by the Housekeeper and were given an in depth introduction to the house and all its amenities. The service received during our stay was second to none. The owners have paid attention to every detail including the most comfortable beds and top quality linen to make their guests feel pampered. We were even provided with buckets and spades for the children and scones and clotted cream on our arrival!! We felt very welcome and spoilt...A very special Holiday and we will be back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, were no expense has been spared to provide 5 star facilities
Liked least: The climb up the hill to get to the house on foot, but well worth the effort!!!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2015
Thank you for your lovely review following your stay in Dreamcatchers. I am delighted you all has such a magical stay.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you and your family and friends back to Dreamcatchers very soon.
Best wishes Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
611dford
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Magical St. Mawes”
Reviewed June 16, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

St. Mawes is a magical spot and Dreamcatchers doesn't disappoint. We loved our week here. The house is perfect for both relaxing and staying in or as a base for exploring Cornwall. It is well equipped for cooking and entertaining, drinking wine on the balcony or watching movies. We will definitely be back.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 17, 2015
I am delighted that you fell in love with the magic of Dreamcatchers and the stunning sea views and it was the perfect holiday house offering everything for entertaining guests. I am really looking forward to welcoming you back to Dreamcatchers very soon. Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen G
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dreamcatchers Holiday House in St Mawes is Magical.”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

For 5 star luxury , with 180 stunning views and 400 yards from yards from the waterfront you need look no further than 'Dreamcatchers' holiday house let by St Mawes Retreats.
With top of the range fixtures and fittings, total peace and tranquility , yet all amenities within walking distance, it would be difficult to find anything better.

This beautiful house is tastefully decorated and equipped to the highest standard; think Vileroy and Bosch bathrooms, Sebatier knives, Delonghi kettle and toaster, floor to ceiling , wall to wall curtains in beautiful colours that are reflected in the several large orchids dotted around the house . The crisp, pure white, cotton sheets and beds that are so comfortable make it hard to arise in the morning, especially as you can lie in bed and gaze at the mirror calm, sea backed by rolling hillsides. Gently swaying sail boats are moored here, others ghosting in and out of this idyllic anchorage whilst seagulls swoop , circle and call . However, it's also tempting to potter onto the glass surrounded balcony outside your bedroom for early morning croissants bought locally and fresh coffee made in the fitted Baumatic coffee machine. The children can play on the enclosed lawned area below in complete safety and within your view while you relax.
This immaculately clean house boasts 4 double bedrooms, all with magnificent ensuites , two sitting rooms, 5 large televisions, one with a Wii for children or the young at heart and a further play room and shower room. No queuing for the bathroom in this house, no matter how many people are staying.
The layout is topsy turvy having bedrooms on a lower level and the open plan kitchen, diner and large sitting room above making the second, equally large balcony at a perfect height for out door dining whilst enjoying spectacular views. There is a full size BBQ on this level and crockery, glasses and cutlery enough to host large numbers of twenty or more. Two large dining tables, one in - one out, that can be brought together for such an occasion.
Good natured humour abounds throughout the house for example 'Leave your choos here' at the front door and with limed oak floors it is comfortable to walk around bare footed.
Attention to detail sets this holiday let apart from the norm. Every day one comes across another interesting objet d'art like the hand made toast rack with dividers of star fish, lighthouse etc or the Alphabet Art on the wall saying 'Dreams.'
There is full central heating and a Jotul wood burner on the top floor. Looking in the visitor book, that holds not a single negative comment, it is apparent that people come here all year round in all weathers and enjoy the stunning views through the wall to wall glass sliding doors in the sitting room , whilst remaining warm and cosy.
There is so much to praise and nothing to fault in this holiday house that I am I danger of rambling on and running out of superlatives but the icing on the cake is that St Mawes Retreats is run by an amazing and personable, young woman who does everything in her power to make your holiday memorable, from bottles of champagne and ready made Cornish style picnics awaiting you on arrival, to sending in a top class chef to cook for you. Apparently she will even arrange for a massuer to visit and you can have your food shopping delivered in advance to be unpacked and ready for you in the very well equipped, state of the art kitchen.
Of course, there are many local attractions such as St Mawes Castle, The Harbour, the wonderful coastal walks and further field The Eden Project, to name a few but truthfully it's hard to tear yourself away when this house has so much to offer.
If I had to sum up this place in a word, it would be 'Magical.'

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Art work and decor
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horatio31
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Dreamcatchers is quite remarkable. It is rare indeed to find that the reality of the holiday home actually surpasses the marketing description and the pictures. The owners have done a wonderful job in designing the space to capitalise on the location and meet the needs of a family. The views are incredible. Every window has a view of the sea, the garden is perfect for children, the house is immaculate, beautifully decorated and furnished, but also practical and family friendly, and you are a stone's throw from the hub of St Mawes. We cannot fault it- only that we do want to return again and I fear once our secret is out it may be difficult to book in again!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing