We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful and relaxing”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Stargazers

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula, Truro District, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matthew M
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful and relaxing”
Reviewed May 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A great week at Stargazers, weather mixed but such a good house, well quipped kitchen to make full use of the excellent local fish and meat.
Really comfortable open plan area with lots of great space and those views!!.
Could not fault anything
Already booked a return week later in the year

Matthew & Lynn, Herefordshire

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So easy, St Mawes Retreats were superb, we just turned up
Liked least: No Sky tv
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisstreet
2 reviews
“Stunning”
Reviewed January 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at Stargazers for an extended Family Holiday. Ages ranged from 50+ to 2 years. It was AMAZING. The views were stunning, the cottage beautiful, the town quiet and surrounding areas gorgeous. We couldn't have asked for a better cottage to stay in for the week.
Everyone must experience staying at this place at least once in their lives. It was an absolute please and we will be back - next time we will be trying out the personal chef, who has come highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annaslos
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning accommodation with views to match”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The first thing that hits you when you arrive at the property is the stunning location - resting at the very top of the hill and overlooking the bay. Walking into Stargazers the wow factor continues - panoramic views of the bay from the enormous window seat in the kitchen, the patio windows in both living rooms and again from the master bedroom. It really is breathtaking.

The interior is beautifully designed, finished to the highest standard and oozes luxury - from the enormous super king size bed with Tempur mattress, his and hers chaise's, and big fluffy Selfridges bath towels to the beautiful art throughout.

We had the most amazing weather but if it breaks there's enough technology / entertainment to keep you occupied with a games room, home cinema set up and games console.

The kitchen is spacious and fitted to the highest standard.

Stargazers is next door neighbour to the renowned Hotel Tresanton which is worth a visit or two for amazing food on the terrace or in the stunningly lit dining room with mosaic floors. There are steps down to the hotel if you turn left out of Startgazers.

If you fancy eating breakfast out, pop down to the harbour and grab a pasty from the bakery or order from the cafe over the road and enjoy the outdoor seating and watch the world go by.

The ferry from St Mawes to Falmouth runs every 30mins or so - buy your tickets from the harbour and enjoy a day trip to Falmouth.

There are a number of idyllic little beaches and villages within a short drive from St Mawes -
don't leave without going to the Hidden Hut for a spot of locally sourced and freshly prepared lunch from the chefs cooking in the open air in their massive gas powered range which overlooks the secluded beach of Portcurnick.

You can also try paddle boarding or sea kyaking which are advertised at the harbour in St Mawes (we didn't get round to doing this though).

We had the most amazing, relaxing and luxurious week at Startgazers, can't wait to visit again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 20, 2015
Thank you for your fabulous comments. I am delighted that you fell in love with Stargazers and the WOW FACTOR of the magnificent sea views and the house. I do hope I will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Stargazers again soon.Best wishes Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2468Appre...
Bourne End, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“No better place to stay in Cornwall - simply wonderful!”
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My wife and I stayed here with friends towards the end of September into early October. In rapid succession (!) these 3 things hit you on arrival at Stargazers: the abundance of living space, even with a full compliment of 10 persons; the luxurious and stylish furnishings; and then the quite stunning view of the (St Antony's) headland opposite and St Mawes Bay, below. As a location, it's perfect. Near enough for an enjoyable leisurely walk down to the village shops, pubs or restaurants. But away from the slightly noisier options around the harbour. The gardens are beautiful too, gently secluding the property from neighbouring ones. Everything is maintained to the very highest standard and per person it works out extremely good value, as it would still do for smaller parties too. Loads of thought has been given towards children (e.g. indoor table tennis and pool tables, games consoles, motorised little cars amongst other beach toys and games - even wetsuits provided!) as well as adults (e.g. separate wine fridge, massive BBQ, tvs in every room and they'll even arrange for a chef to come in and cook for you if so desired) We also had some food shopping delivered and the housekeeper had helpfully arranged to meet / put it all away before we arrived. Very kind and nothing was too much trouble. St Mawes itself is a prime location on the Cornish peninsula and you'll know why from reading other websites. Loads to do, nearby beaches are fantastic etc and our week simply flew by - we didn't want to leave! But if you're fortunate to stay at Stargazers then you'll understand why I believe there's no better place to stay in Cornwall. It's simply a beautiful house in a stunning location where the owners have gone out of their way to provide guests with all the comforts of home (and a few more!).

Get a few friends together and just GO! I can't recommend highly enough.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BadgerFoo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“A truly fantastic house with amazing views”
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

From the joining instructions to the 'what to do' booklet, the attention to detail was so impressive.

The house itself isn't that imposing on the outside, but wow, the inside and the views more than make up.

The house is huge with large living/kitchen area and big bedrooms. It's all beautifully decorated and tastefully furnished. It has a warm, homely yet luxurious feel. And it was spotlessly clean and well maintained.

To say it's well appointed would be an understatement. It has everything you need - great bathrooms, board games, games room, great sofas, fantastic kitchen, good wifi and TV's everywhere! And everything was great quality - no skimping or cutting corners.

The bed was amazing. Certainly one of the best beds I have ever slept in, and probably one of the biggest too!

Its position overlooking the bay (and directly behind the Tresanton Hotel), gives truly wonderful views and is quote mesmering. I happily sat for hours just watching the boats bobbing along, and the weather changing further out to see.

Breakfast on the terrace was just a delight.

St Mawes itself is a charming place with some great food and drink venues and lots to see and do within a short drive/boat trip.

I can't wait to go back or try one of their other houses. Just hope the sun shines again for a whole week!

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury beds
Liked least: It was all perfect.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mummytotw...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magical, amazing, stunning and totally gorgeous!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous week here with our whole family aged from 4 to 74 and everyone absolutely loved it! I want to write a review as it is such a gorgeous place and Amanda (the owner) has made it very special. The interiors are beautiful and the highest spec I've ever found in a rental house. The beds have to have a special mention as they are unbelievably comfortable - 3 x 6ft beds (also makes a change as usually there is only one big bed in a house). Outside the views are stunning and the kids loved the gardens with secret paths and the trampoline. Amanda organised a chef to come one evening and it was really delicious, she organised flowers for my mother and she checked them with the housekeeper prior to our arrival - when she found they weren't as good as she expected she organised another lovely bouquet to replace it before I even had a chance to see it! Everything exceeded our expectations. I am hesitant to write such a glowing report as I'd like to keep it a secret so we can return but that wouldn't be fair. If you are considering staying here - go for it - you won't regret it. We will be back as we are regulars to St Mawes and we can't wait to return to Stargazers or maybe Dreamcatchers next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan E
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful views in a fantastic coastal retreat”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We whizzed down to Stargazers for a short break with friends in February.

The location is stunning, with sweeping views across the bay and beautiful grounds that seems to amble on forever.

Inside, Stargazers is equipped for your every whim, with TVs everywhere, electric cars for the kids and most importantly, a lovely open plan kitchen and long dining table to spend your time cooking, eating and drinking with friends and family.

Perfect.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The showers could be cold
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing