We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Victory Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Victory Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 St Mawes B&B and Inns
Scooterdog28
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Fish and chips decidedly average. Service so slow..tick tock tick tock. The poor girls' in the bar trying to do too many things at once. It wasn't their fault...more staff needed.

The tables in the bar are so close together it is impossible not to hear everyone's conversation.

When there are so many lovely places to eat we won't be returning to The Victory.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooterdog28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    14
    6
    9
See reviews for
15
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walton on Thames
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

My partner's family have been visiting St Mawes since 1975 - he has fond memories of staying at The Victory Inn. The last time we went to there was 5 years ago for a meal on the upstairs restaurant - lovely meal with friendly service. Oh dear how things have gone downhill since then.

We booked a 4 night stay in August this year - and at £90 a night were looking forward to a pleasant and enjoyable stay. How wrong we were !!
We booked to stay in The Cabin room but were put in The Nelson Room (the one at the front of the pub).
The stairs up to the "formal Restaurant" and rooms were scruffy and go past a junk cupboard - nice! Our room was down a dark back corridor passed bags of dirty laundry and a cleaning. cupboard.
The room itself was stuffy and had not been cleaned or hoovered - there were dirty tissues and empty bottles under the bed. The bathroom ceiling and shower had mould growing up them and the tiles by the sink were loose and broken.

In the 4 nights we stayed there the room was not cleaned, we received no clean towels, the dirty water tumblers & coffee cups were not replaced, neither were the bottles of drinking water. There was an kettle, dusty bowl of tea bags and a half empty jar of instant coffee.
Most of all it was the noise - I know it's a pub and during opening hours noise is to be expected - but to be kept awake for 4 nights until 3am is not acceptable !!

The pub menu was a tatty laminated piece of paper with bits of masking tape over the dishes that weren't available. Food in there was ok but nothing remarkable for the prices charged. One evening we decided to eat upstairs in the "formal restaurant" - recalling the lovely meal we had there 5 years previously.
It has become scruffy and run down. The outside terrace is a mess with water filled dirty ashtrays - not quite the description on the website.
We were both expecting a proper menu but were handed the same scruffy and torn piece of laminated paper as we’d been given on our first night downstairs in the bar. The wine menu had stains all over it and was sticky. Another disappointment and a lesson learnt - after that we ate at The Rising Sun and were treated properly as paying guests/customers should be.

The “Rear Patio Garden” was a health hazard - adorned with dirty overflowing ashtrays, an old dishwasher and rusty patio heaters. The smell was nauseating.

If we could have found somewhere else to stay, we would have but unfortunately for us everywhere was full. We now know why The Victory Inn still had vacancies.

When we asked to speak to the manager, we were told he might be in later but they weren’t sure when. So, I listed our numerous complaints with the lady who was working when we left.

I have to say, she was very sympathetic and listed our grievances with a promise to pass them on to the manager. I sincerely hope she has done so. We were given a discount on the balance we owed - which was a nice gesture - but does not excuse the appalling standard of service we received during our stay at The Victory Inn.

In summary, I suggest that they either concentrate on running a pub, a restaurant or providing clean, comfortable, reasonably priced accommodation. As it is clear that they do not have the properly skilled or trained staff to run all three.

At £90 a night I expected a much better service. My advise is pay the extra £30 a night and stay at The Rising Sun !

Room Tip: Don't book The Nelson Room if you want to sleep during your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleMavis71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St Mawes hotels

Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a similar experience to the previous review. Five out of the six meals were very good. One meal was disappointing however. We asked for seasonal vegetables instead of new potatoes and received pickled red cabbage and mashed swede – hardly seasonal vegetables in July!
The service was poor. The waitress was not particularily friendly and on two occasions, did not bring us things we asked for.
When I came to pay, I was charged for the bill for the neighbouring table. It was quickly sorted out but it is a concern if another customer has had the same experience.
We booked the Victory Inn on the strength of previous reviews and would go again as on balance, the food was good but this review would have been 5 stars if the service was better.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank codhead628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

As the title says nice food but the service was very poor indeed we had booked a specific table then mooved to a tiny table in the corner then had the opposite table put on our bill and it took 3 attempts to sort it out and we were still over charged for the drinks so what sould of been a nice evining turned out to be a farce !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harwell1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
142 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We arrived @ 2pm just at the end of lunch time service and it was still extremely busy. We were able to check in although we were an hour early, despite being rushed off their feet the staff were very pleasant and friendly especially the lady that checked us in.

Our room 'The Cabin' was cosy with everything needed for a comfortable stay, the ensuite had a bath as well as an overbath shower and beautifully luxurious white fluffy towels, tea making facilites with plenty of tea and coffee and a jug of fresh milk as requested.

It was curry night on the Thursday that we stayed and the food was delicious and plentiful, all served with a smile despite being under extreme pressure. I'd recommend booking a table to ensure a seat as its a very popular eatery, there's also a restaurant upstairs that seats 30 people.

Breakfast although delicious when it arrived was a bit shambolic, we'd arranged to eat at 8.30, I think the normal time is 9am and no-one had told the poor girl who was busing cleaning the bar that we were expecting breakfast at 8.30. Once she realised that we were upstairs waiting in the restaurant she was very attentive and nothing was too much trouble, despite this though we missed our bus which was a bit of an inconvenience but not the end of the world there's always a taxi!!

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay and wish it had been longer.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms, one with bath at the back of the pub the other with a shower over the bar wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tavistock
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

we stayed here for one night as part of our honeymoon and what can i say a beautiful location to start with the bar has nice friendly staff the food was most acceptable and the room was delightful clean and tidy and fresh towels and plenty of tea and coffee facilities would defintely recommend apart from the fact please remember you are staying ina pub and should respect that some noise does travel from the bar but this didnt worry us at all

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Really enjoyed our food at The Victory Inn - bar manager and staff were really friendly and the place was packed out. Totally different to our visit last year!

The curry was so good then we went back for their curry night which is held on a Thursday night.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.1 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Mawes
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 6 in St Mawes
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 6 in St Mawes
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#5 of 6 in St Mawes
211 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ship and Castle Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victory Inn

Property: Victory Inn
Address: Victory Steps, St Mawes TR2 5PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Victory Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victory Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victory Inn St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing