We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cream tea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The View Cafe

The View Cafe
Ranked #14 of 15 Restaurants in St Mawes
Price range: $6 - $14
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Description: The View Cafe is on the harbourside in the Cornish fishing village of St Mawes. As it´s name suggests it boasts uninterupted views across the harbour and the Percuil River estuary.Open daily The View Cafe offers a variety of of light bites and lunches ranging from traditional Cornish Pasties to Fish & Chips. We also offer a wide variety of Sandwiches, Baguettes and Paninis, all of which are freshly prepared to order.
llandudno
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cream tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

reasonably priced and massive scones, the staff were very good and efficient, the cafe was very clean and all prices were reasonable

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The View Cafe, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your visit.

We take pride in our Café product being of a high quality whilst being excellent value for money.

Regards
David
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    21
    14
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A hidden gem with a beautiful view.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Popped in to get out of the cold and was delighted by the service and the view. Ended up staying for a cream tea and a light lunch. The staff were so friendly and the service was excellent. Give it a go, you won't be disappointed.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mac070668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, Manager at The View Cafe, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your kind words complimenting us. The team will be pleased to read you found the service to be good, as well team being friendly. Hopefully you will be drawn back to see us again soon!
Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
569 reviews
313 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Great little place with a harbour view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We popped into here while on our travels of the wonderfully scenic Cornwall. We were served straight away as it was pretty quiet and our order was delivered almost straight away. We both had Cornish Cream Tea and it was beautiful and fresh. There were 2 fresh scones with clotted cream and jam.

Very nice place we will return to in the summer months.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony_and_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The View Cafe, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your comments, it is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed our efficient service, good quality food and indeed wonderful views.

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards
David McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great views and amazing location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

What a great location where you can sit and watch the ferries and fishing boats arrive with a lovely latte and a cream tea!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angulimala28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The View Cafe, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review, I agree 100% with your comments. I regularly unwind whilst sat in the Cafe with a Cream Tea, and watch the world pass by - for a treat!.

Hope to see you again

Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I ate in this cafe whilst holidaying in the village. Fast effective service with a smile, nice menu and lovely fresh food. I especially enjoyed the locally caught crab, and my wife thoroughly enjoyed the fish cake.
My only regret is not eating here on every day of the holiday.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigbazajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShipandCastleHotel, General Manager at The View Cafe, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your time here. It is pleasing to read you found the team efficient and friendly as well as the food good. Hope to see you again soon.

Regards
David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Cafe also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to The View Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing