We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!”
Review of The Watch House

The Watch House
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Didn't go into the actual restaurant but ordered food from the takeaway hatch (The Watch Out). Ordered fish and chip and a couple of other items including the burger. Only had to wait 10 mins for seven peoples food which was very good and we were impressed with the quality. Would recommend!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jpercyscauldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    126
    49
    31
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food in a simple, clean and relaxed environment”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The local seafood was fantastic, nice wine selection and well cooked, simple and elegant dishes which are not overly complex for complexities sake. we would def return the next time we come to St Mawes

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MWCOD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic takeaway”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

The fish and chips we had to take away were delicious, best takeaway chips I have ever had. Would be 5 star if there was a non cod option for fish. Will hopefully give the restaurant a go.

Helpful?
Thank Travellingnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Service it very good”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Four of us ate Saturday lunch here, it was a little busy (&noisy) downstairs and so we took up the offer of a table upstairs, but we were just about forgotten. In fact after our main course we really wanted a dessert but gave up waiting for a member of staff to take our order, so we went downstairs to pay the bill and went further along to the Italian cafe for our dessert.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We ate here for lunch in March. Location is good, right on the harbour front. However, food was just okay, nothing amazing, and we felt it was a little overpriced for what it was. I had the crab rarebit and unfortunately found a few pieces of crab shell which wasn't very pleasant.
The interior could be improved as it felt a little cold and not very cosy. Friendly waitress and a good prompt service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatsyPim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Watch House also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to The Watch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing