We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deceptively good, understated gem.”
Review of The Watch House

The Watch House
Ranked #4 of 17 Restaurants in St Mawes
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Deceptively good, understated gem.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

It would be easy to miss this little restaurant on the front in St Mawes. It doesn't look much from the outside and the decor is modern if a little spartan. When we stuck our heads around the door, there was only one other couple and their Retriever having lunch. The fact that it is dog friendly got us through the door - why are the British so stuffy about well behaved dogs in restaurants?

The food was interesting, well-presented and really tasty. The special that I had - sardines on toast - was fantastic; well-seasoned, fresh sardines filleted on a fresh tomato salsa but everyone else's food was equally good. The only minor criticism is that the fries accompanying the WH burger could have been crisper and hotter. The food and beer were all locally sourced and were all of good quality.

I suspect that the Watch House might suffer a little from a. some really good local competition and b. its self-effacing personae (can a restaurant have a personae?). It is under-stated and appears to fall into he trap of trying to cater of everyone - it doesn't really need to offer afternoon teas! - when it should reply be sticking to what it does best; great food, well cooked, well presented and at good value.

Give it a try.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaidBacknHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    121
    49
    31
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“So good we went back next day”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a very good late lunch here from an interesting menu. We were warmly welcomed and well looked after during out stay. The pudding menu largely consists of cakes, however. This sits less well with the rest of the menu but allows tea to be served between lunch and dinner. The meringues could have been lighter and detracted from the rest of the experience. But we went back the following day and had another good meal - but avoided pud. Same cheerful welcome and good service. Booking is advised for Sunday lunch. The place may look less than full but they will not compromised standards by accepting more diners than the kitchen can deliver to in an adequate and timely manner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FPrefect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice food”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The service and food was faultless and were given a table before prior reservation, however,we arrived at the Watch house at 20.30 and ordered our starter and meal straight away.Unfortunately we did not have our main meal until 22.00 which is too late.There were also a table nearby that had been vacated before we arrived but the table was not cleaned whilst we were there. Secret Sleepers Society.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 17sss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have walked past this restaurant so many times - it just doesn't look that exciting. However, now we realise just what we've been missing! We had an absolutely excellent lunch in here today - beautifully presented, excellently prepared and using high quality ingredients - we both thought it was one of the best we have had for a long time and will definitely be returning (would like to try it for dinner now too). Lovely, lovely sardines on toasted sourdough with a tomato mixture (using real tomatoes!) and even the watercress was there to compliment the flavours. The service was excellent too and even our accompanying dog was treated in a friendly way. We're returning for another very soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quality food in a friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Enjoyed eating here more than anywhere else in St Mawes. Slightly limited menu but cooked and presented well. Good value for money and a view of the harbour from most tables upstairs, but need to book in advance as very popular.
Specials and desserts were offered verbally and would be better on a tasteful board, as it was hard to remember them all and it's always nice to be able to mull over your choice a while.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank camper6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Watch House also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to The Watch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing