We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty lunch”
Review of The Watch House

The Watch House
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Orebro, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very tasty lunch”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a crabsalad and a cheese and ham sandwich for lunch. Nothing special but really well made and tasty. Nice staff. The caces and cookies looked delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karinn-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaiKrum, Manager at The Watch House, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for visting us on your trip to St Mawes and for the lovely review! Hope to see you again next time you are in town.

Thanks,
The Watch House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    129
    49
    32
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Herefordshire
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Oh boy that was good!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were a party of 14, obviously a lot more than their normal, but they coped with us brilliantly and without delays.
The food is absolutely superb, to the extent that we asked for the chef to come out for well deserved thanks and applause. 14 people times 3 courses, and every course absolutely delicious and beatifully presented. Congratulations Watch Tower. You desrve to succeed.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pantodame1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaiKrum, Owner at The Watch House, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. Your group was an absolute pleasure to have and it was a nice treat for Will to have the round of applause at the end of your meal. We are so glad that you enjoyed everything so much and look forward to seeing you all again next time you are down!

- The Watch House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Good food, shame about the manager”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Our visit started off well; we were welcomed into the restaurant and shown to a table. Three of our party ordered megrim sole, which was one of the specials; unfortunately this was sold out, so we were offered silver mullet as a replacement. The table next door had had megrim, and it was a large fish served with a big bowl of potatoes. When our meal arrived, it was a tiny piece do fish on top of about 5 tiny pieces of new potato. We called the manager over to explain the problem, which was when things began to go wrong. He did bring extra vegetables and potatoes, but was very defensive, and did not listen to our complaint. His attitude was very rude, and we felt quite uncomfortable. The other meal was excellent, and the mullet was beautifully cooked, it was just that the fish portions were very small. The manager made a big fuss and insisted we speak to the chef, although we said that was not necessary. The chef dealt with the problem much more sensibly, and did not charge for the fish. We were leaving feeling appeased, but the manager had to have the final word, suggesting we were not good enough for his restaurant, although he knew nothing about us. It was such a shame, as the food was good, and a minor problem became a big confrontation totally unnecessarily. Do not be put off visiting The Watch House because of this review, you could probably have a great meal, especially if you get served by someone with more customer service skills.

Helpful?
4 Thank chapyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaiKrum, Owner at The Watch House, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you very much for dinning with us while you were in St Mawes.

I'm very sorry that your meal did not go as well as we would have liked. While it is not uncommon for us to run out of our daily fresh fish specials later in the evening, it sounds like this situation could have been handled much better. I'm not sure what happened with our manager that evening, as he is usually very good with customers, but we have spoken with him and are extremely sorry if he made you feel in any way unwelcome!

We really appreciate that you still recommend people try us when they are in St Mawes and I only hope we can make it up to you next time you visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“very patchy”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We just spent a week in St Mawes and went to The Watch House several times. Food, wines and service were generally good - very nicely cooked. This restaurant is pleasant with a nice atmosphere. The fish and chips in the restaurant was excellent (though smaller portions for the price than equivalent restaurants here in the Midlands).
On our last visit the service was indifferent. My steak was the worst I've ever had - nicely cooked, but they really should change their supplier. A favourite pudding was roast figs with clotted cream - BUT, on our last visit, they said it would come with a mix of icecream and clotted cream. When it arrived, it was just icecream. Very disappointing, especially when the waitress rudely demanded "do you want it or not?" To think that the Co-op (less than 50 yards away) was still open and sells clotted cream - surely somebody could have popped out and got some?
An order of fish and chips from the take-away round the back (even smaller portions) was over-cooked and when the guy serving dropped a piece of fish, breaking it, he was still intending to serve it. We had to ask for it to be replaced (with a wait of about 10 minutes).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLesserMerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaiKrum, Owner at The Watch House, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are very happy you enjoyed most of the meals you had with us and thank you very much for dining with us several times while you were in St Mawes!

I'm very sorry about your last evening with us as it sounds like it wasn't up to scratch with the rest of your meals. We did pass on your feedback to our bucher regarding the steaks, but I have to admit it was a bit of a surprise to us as we buy very good pieces of meat and have never had issues with their steaks in the past. They are an incredibly reputable company we do prefer to use them as they are the well known to be the best buchers in Cornwall and even supply to places like Jamie Olivers Fifteen. That being said, we want to make sure we keep the quality up, so we will keep a sharp eye on what they send through over the next few weeks.

In regards to your pudding, I am very sorry about running out of clotted cream and the way this was handled. We have spoken to our waitress about this and how she can handle the situation better in the future. We have also spoken with our takeaway team regarding your fish.

All in all, I'm very sorry that after a few great meals with us, things ended on a bad note. I hope that the next time you are back in St Mawes we can improve our consistency and ensure all of your meals and experiences with our team are excellent!

Thanks,
The Watch House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Shockingly Awful”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A simple take away order which was stone cold! Complained and less than helpful member of staff said was all freshly cooked so replacement would be 10-15 minutes. Asked how freshly cooked could be delivered cold. Was the accused of being offensive!!! Spoke to manager..not much better ! So I would avoid this one not only is the food of a below expected standard it is also hellishly expensive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshireUKRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaiKrum, Owner at The Watch House, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I am very sorry about your order of chips being cold on the day you visited us. We do cook our chips fresh to order, but they do start to cool the second they are out of the frier. It sounds like in this case our team did not do enough to ensure you got your chips fast enough or wrapped to keep them hot.

We are using our winter break to fit out a new fryer which should allow us to cook fresh chips faster and help them stay hot longer. This should remove the issue of you having to wait and should ensure they are always fresh and piping hot.

In regards to the price, we do try to keep the cost of our chips as reasonable as possible and only charge £2 for a large plate of chips. With the quality of ingredients we use, it is hard to get the cost much lower than that.

Thanks,
The Watch House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Watch House also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to The Watch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing