We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very patchy”
Review of The Watch House

The Watch House
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“very patchy”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We just spent a week in St Mawes and went to The Watch House several times. Food, wines and service were generally good - very nicely cooked. This restaurant is pleasant with a nice atmosphere. The fish and chips in the restaurant was excellent (though smaller portions for the price than equivalent restaurants here in the Midlands).
On our last visit the service was indifferent. My steak was the worst I've ever had - nicely cooked, but they really should change their supplier. A favourite pudding was roast figs with clotted cream - BUT, on our last visit, they said it would come with a mix of icecream and clotted cream. When it arrived, it was just icecream. Very disappointing, especially when the waitress rudely demanded "do you want it or not?" To think that the Co-op (less than 50 yards away) was still open and sells clotted cream - surely somebody could have popped out and got some?
An order of fish and chips from the take-away round the back (even smaller portions) was over-cooked and when the guy serving dropped a piece of fish, breaking it, he was still intending to serve it. We had to ask for it to be replaced (with a wait of about 10 minutes).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLesserMerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaiKrum, Owner at The Watch House, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
We are very happy you enjoyed most of the meals you had with us and thank you very much for dining with us several times while you were in St Mawes!

I'm very sorry about your last evening with us as it sounds like it wasn't up to scratch with the rest of your meals. We did pass on your feedback to our bucher regarding the steaks, but I have to admit it was a bit of a surprise to us as we buy very good pieces of meat and have never had issues with their steaks in the past. They are an incredibly reputable company we do prefer to use them as they are the well known to be the best buchers in Cornwall and even supply to places like Jamie Olivers Fifteen. That being said, we want to make sure we keep the quality up, so we will keep a sharp eye on what they send through over the next few weeks.

In regards to your pudding, I am very sorry about running out of clotted cream and the way this was handled. We have spoken to our waitress about this and how she can handle the situation better in the future. We have also spoken with our takeaway team regarding your fish.

All in all, I'm very sorry that after a few great meals with us, things ended on a bad note. I hope that the next time you are back in St Mawes we can improve our consistency and ensure all of your meals and experiences with our team are excellent!

Thanks,
The Watch House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    124
    49
    31
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Shockingly Awful”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A simple take away order which was stone cold! Complained and less than helpful member of staff said was all freshly cooked so replacement would be 10-15 minutes. Asked how freshly cooked could be delivered cold. Was the accused of being offensive!!! Spoke to manager..not much better ! So I would avoid this one not only is the food of a below expected standard it is also hellishly expensive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshireUKRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaiKrum, Owner at The Watch House, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
I am very sorry about your order of chips being cold on the day you visited us. We do cook our chips fresh to order, but they do start to cool the second they are out of the frier. It sounds like in this case our team did not do enough to ensure you got your chips fast enough or wrapped to keep them hot.

We are using our winter break to fit out a new fryer which should allow us to cook fresh chips faster and help them stay hot longer. This should remove the issue of you having to wait and should ensure they are always fresh and piping hot.

In regards to the price, we do try to keep the cost of our chips as reasonable as possible and only charge £2 for a large plate of chips. With the quality of ingredients we use, it is hard to get the cost much lower than that.

Thanks,
The Watch House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great quality food”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This restaurant is more contemporary in style than most of the others in the area - the walls are plain white, with plain white linen on the tables: rather austere, but the simple candles gave it a romantic atmosphere. The food and wine was excellent, beautifully presented, with a nice pause between courses - a change not to feel rushed by the staff, especially as we had a late booking. The service we received was the best we'd had all week. If we ever go back to the area, I'd definitely return here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaiKrum, Owner at The Watch House, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We are glad you had such a wonderful meal with us and that you found the restaurant so pleasant and relaxing. We have worked very hard to try to improve our service this summer and it's great to have such positive feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again, should you make it back to St Mawes in the future!

Thanks,
The Watch House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Had dinner here two nights on the trot. As a previous reviewer said, the cooking is of a higher standard than The Tresanton which is twice the price. Lovely flavours from a chef with a very light touch. Worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Cricketmad52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaiKrum, Owner at The Watch House, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for eating with us while you were in St Mawes and for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed the food and hope to see you again next time you are in town!

Thanks,
The Watch House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great but not great service”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Loved the food but our waiter was not great, long time for a glass of wine, not willing to listen but the food was good when it came. I'd recommend it for sure and I'm sure we were just unlucky with who served us.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank neil33g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaiKrum, Owner at The Watch House, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you very much for visiting us when you were in St Mawes. I'm glad that you loved the food, but very sorry about the lack of attention from your waiter. We are working very hard to ensure that we have great service at the Watch House, but it sounds like we obviously still have a bit more work to do with our staff training!

We have spoken with the waiter you mentioned (we have a very small team) and will be continuing to work hard to ensure the quality of our service matches that of the food.

Hopefully we can prove this to you next time you are in St Mawes.

Thanks,
The Watch House Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Watch House also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to The Watch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing