We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oops!”
Review of The Watch House

The Watch House
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Oops!”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Would have liked to have eaten in the restaurant but were running out of time so opted for the takeaway hatch. Chips were totally uneatable ... hard as carrots. Would have gone back with them but we were ages away in the car park and it was raining. Returned day after to complain but place shut. What a pity, reviews of restaurant so good, wish I could say the same for the takeaway hatch.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank franfurlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Watch House, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear franfurlong
We're very sorry you had a bad experience at the Watch Out take away window and equally sorry that we were shut when you came back to complain as we do like to put things right when ever possible and appreciate constructive criticism especially when it comes to our food.

It seems you were very unlucky with the quality of our chips as we are particularly proud of the fact that we hand chips potatoes daily, steam them for approx 20mins and chill them before frying them to order to hopefully give the perfect chip-crispy outside but soft fluffy inside. As we use fresh potatoes delivered daily, we are some times caught out when the season changes, as the potatoes can change quite a bit and we have to vary the cooking times and temperatures accordingly. It sounds you may have been very unlucky and had a batch of chips that have "slipped through the net" and were not steamed for the required length of time to pass the 'pinch' test to check they are soft enough and ready to be fried.

I can only apologise and hope that next time you are in the area, you can give us another try and see that our chips are some of the best you'll eat. If you let us know who you are when you come to the window, I'll make sure your chips are on the house to make up for the last batch!

Thanks,
Will Gould (Head Chef/Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    124
    49
    31
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Having visited the Old Watch House for many years, we visited today and were a little apprehensive as to what we might find. However, we were pleasantly surprised. I had the WH burger which was served on a board with a small bowl of chips and a large pickled gherkin. Yummy! The burger was really tasty, the chips were perfect and the portion size was just right for me. Full marks to the chef! Just one comment. The outside of the restaurant still looks a bit bland and unwelcoming and it is hard to tell whether you are open or closed. Other than that, we can highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiddly54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Watch House, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Hi Tiddly54,
Thank you very much for the great review and I'm glad you enjoyed our Watch House Burger. We've worked really hard to get it right!

I realise that from the outside the front of the restaurant is a bit stark. We were trying to keep it minimal and traditional, but we agree we could use a bit more to invite people in. We are getting some new signs made to help better communicate when we are open, especially for those rainy days when we don't want the front door open for guests. Thank you very much for your feedback on this and hopefully if you come back in a few months time it will look a bit more welcoming.

Kind Regards,
The Watch House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very expensive compared to other places”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

The price of food and drink is stupidly expensive a this place, although great in quality, you can definitely get the same quality for cheaper prices in St Mawes.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank CondeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at The Watch House, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Suranyi S,
I'm very glad you enjoyed the food, but sorry you found our prices a bit high. We try to keep our prices competitive with the other places to eat in St. Mawes, although sometimes a fish special might ended up being a bit higher due to the fresh ingredients and the fact we try to use local sustainably caught fish.

Cheers,
The Watch House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dinner in June”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Good front of house staff, and a good menu, fresh produce well presented. Table clothes!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Simbo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Watch House, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
HI Simbo65,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We hope to see you at the Watch House again soon!

Cheers,
The Watch House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Super food and friendly staff”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Spent a week in St Mawes in May and having already read a write up I booked in advance. What a great restaurant, such good fish dishes as you would expect, but also the vegetables were local and seasonal. We enjoyed it so much that we came back another night, and also had some of there take away fish and chips another night! Just one thing, out of high season, they are not open every night.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank berksbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Watch House, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Hi berksbs,
We are glad you had such a wonderful time and that we lived up to your expectations (and previous reviews). Thank you for making us such a big part of your trip - 3 nights in one week is pretty impressive! Hope that we see you again next time you are in the area!

Cheers,
The Watch House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Watch House also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to The Watch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing