We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location... Average food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rising Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Rising Sun
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in St Mawes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location... Average food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We come to St Mawes most years and normaly end up eating at the Rising Sun at least once. I've always had an enjoyable time there and have been pleased with the food, however this time, less so. The menu had not changed from previous years but the specials offered a nice alternative. That being said, everything on the menu, including the specials were very over-priced for what it was. On the counter side, some of our portions were very large!

As far as the service went, it was very hit and miss. There were several young waitresses who could not of been more attentive, whereas one waitress rudely informed us that a table was reserved for residents when in fact that was not the case and she did not apologise for the confusion.

I am not one to mind getting my own cutlery, but for the prices they were charging it didn't quite work for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    62
    24
    22
    18
See reviews for
59
94
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St.Mawes Truro
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Rising Sun, excellent food, varied and interesting menu. The staff at the bar are welcoming and the waiting staff very attentive. Fish & Chips on Fridays or any other day excellent!
A very good carvery every Sunday lunchtime & Wednesday evening is a must summer as well as winter.
To get the table you want get there early as no bookings are taken to reserve a table.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodneysSt_MawesTruro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Myself and a party of five others stopped off for a spot of lunch after visiting St Mawes for the day. We are all from Falmouth so appreciate local businesses being busy during the summer months.
When we arrived we all quickly made up our minds on our orders. So we made our order in pairs as we are three couples. We were served one after another so you would expect a small delay between each set of meals being ordered? Wrong! The first two meals were served then a wait of 20 minuets went by until the next meals came out. It was a further 15 minuets before I decided to complain as it had been a total of 35 minuets from the first meals being served and we were still waiting on two meals! By this time the rest of the party had finished there food! The lady told me it was because we had ordered separately and that there was hot and cold food ordered so that's why?? Outrageous really! I cancelled my order and asked for a refund. We were refunded the amount for our food but still charged £2.30 for one orange squash with tap water. Purely out of common courtesy you would think it would be a nice way to apologise by not charging us for the drink! We then returned to Falmouth where We enjoyed a nice lunch in the tree top cafe!
Overall the food that was served was of a poor quality and the service was shocking!
Local businesses depend on locals. Out of the six of us we all agreed we will never visit the rising sun again and we will all be strongly advising others to do the same.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We only went there for breakfast, and the service was horrible. The waitress dropped tea on the table and never went back to clean up - but the table was already dirty and the dishes themselves weren't even clean! the food was not so bad but considering the price we paid the toasts could at least have been toasted! Quite an unfriendly place, we were either ignored or dispised by the staff because we were backpackers. I don't know about the hotel part of that "restaurant" but I would not recommend it to anyone if it is even half as bad as the restaurant. It's a shame such a place sells such food at such a price and stills calls itself a great restaurant. It's an expensive one, sure, but that's all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ambrose_Gwinnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Well I had never been to St Mawes before and so did not know what to expect, what an amazing place it is we arrived on Saturday 10th August and it was carnival day we checked in at the Rising Sun and when we got to our room we opened up the curtains and the view was amazing it was at the very front of the hotel and so overlooked the harbour, lovely room big and clean. We ate at the pub in the night and it was lovely breakfast was good.

One downside it was Carnival night and there was a live band and disco on the quay till 1.00am which we went to it was really good, we got back to the hotel at 11.20pm and found the front door locked and we had no key to get in we banged on the door and eventually i got the telephone number and rang them and they came down to let us in! At no point were we told the pub would be shut so we were very disappointed with that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToffeeBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Had recommendation for this place for food, but proved to be very average at best. The size of the portions is good and the food edible, just basic and a little bland. That said, on a children's meal with side salad, the salad had a strong honey and mustard dressing. Not sure many kids would like the dressing and shows the chef doesn't know about children's meals. Fish and chips was good, but a little pricey at over £10, just as good from the takeaway across the road for alf the price. Unlikely to revisit for food and wouldn't recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Yes_Chef2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

On first impression, the hotel looks promising.The conservatory, entrance and bar / dining area looks clean and welcoming; however we were disappointed with the bedroom and en-suite.It was dated, old fashioned and a little depressing.The room however was clean but had a slightly musty smell.The breakfast was disappointing too.It is a shame as the Rising Sun has so much potential and is in a perfect location with stunning views.It is over priced.The staff were very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 17sss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.1 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 6 in St Mawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ship and Castle Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
3.1 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun

Property: The Rising Sun
Address: The Square, St Mawes TR2 5DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rising Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Rising Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rising Sun Hotel St Mawes
Rising Sun St Mawes
Rising Sun Hotel St Mawes
The Rising Sun St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing