We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, good views.”
Review of The Rising Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rising Sun
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a nice meal on the front patio overlooking the estuary. It can get crowded on the front patio which makes it a bit noisy to enjoy conversation during your meal and with tables fighting for space. At one point I had to ask a crowd of "high brow" teenagers to move around when one of them decided to move his chair into the side of my wife to allow a girl to sit on his knee, thus giving my wife no elbow room to eat. Then he loudly announced how they had to make room to allow the nice people to enjoy their meal. No manners amongst the younger higher classes! But that's not a fault of the pub, we were just unlucky I think. The food was good, although a little pricey for the fact you have to fetch your own cutlery and condiments from inside the pub, although they do tell you to get these yourself when you pay for your order at the bar.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scribblepea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 229 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

Disappointed with the food. I ate the mussels which had not taste whatsoever. I think they had been boiled in water and then dunked into a lot of flavourless sauce. When you cook mussels you need to put them in the ready made sauce alive so that all the mussel juices flavour the sauce. My friend had the sole which looked quite a miserly portion compared to the one he had had the previous evening for a similar price. The food was brought out but we were told to help ourselves to cutlery - thought this rather odd as it wasn't a self service cafe! The position of the restaurant was good and the cider went down well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Susanner_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We visited here in the week and the food was good, but having paid the sum of £80 I was very unimpressed that I was then expected to trail through the bar to our front patio table clutching knives and forks, salt, pepper, a bottle of vinegar and an assortment of condiments in sachets, If I want a job a waitress I will get one. EvenTesco's cafe has condimemts on the table. Very, very poor customer service in my opinion......hence the low rating.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank susiejbCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Some people seem to like this hotel/pub, others don't. I didn't really, but found the staff to be helpful and you can take your dog, which is why I've gone for an average rating rather than poor. Higher than average charge for dogs.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have sea views, but noise from the pub. Rooms at the back are quieter, but are he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manxamelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I have visited the rising sun many times for lunch.
It has always been brilliant. I've never had a bad meal. Nor have any of my group (some of whom, like me have visited often)
The service is always friendly and the food is always good.
I would recommend this to anyone.
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Abi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I can recommend the entire menu of this establishment and the excellent "Specials board". A welcoming public house on the seafront with the most welcoming staff I have encountered for some time. Nothing was too much for them to deal with and all done with an excellent attitude that the customer comes first. Highly recommended. I will be returning in October to stay a few nights. If the rooms are as good as the Bar / Restaurant it will be a brilliant break !

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Not our first visit to the Ring Sun as we've stayed in St. Mawes previously. We knew before we visited what to order and we weren't disappointed. Beautiful large cod with mushy peas and real chips, all piping hot. It's such an all round nice pub, great wide ranging menu for starters, snacks, mains and desserts, with very friendly and polite helpful and efficient staff, The seating area inside is roomy and airy, and the outside patio area is a well positioned and comfortable sun trap to enjoy your food and view the boats and ferries to-ing and fro-ing in the bay

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T3JHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.0 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ship and Castle Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
197 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
927 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rising Sun

Address: The Square, St Mawes TR2 5DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range: $136 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rising Sun 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Rising Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rising Sun Hotel St Mawes
Rising Sun St Mawes
Rising Sun Hotel St Mawes
The Rising Sun St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing