We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (490)
Filter reviews
490 results
Traveler rating
365
75
24
17
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
75
24
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews idle rocks attention to detail tasting menu waves lapping high tide a hot water bottle oysters main course beautiful hotel great room head chef overlooking the harbour the general manager nespresso machine lamb dining room birthday treat
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 490 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile

If you go to St. Mawes don't miss to have at least one of those wonderful drinks or the delicious crab salad on the terrace of the hotel. We liked everything so much that after our walk we came back and enjoyed again the relaxed atmosphere and the unique sea view. Friendly waiters, good food, good drinks!

Stayed: June 2016, traveled with family
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2016

Dear Claudia,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, so glad you enjoyed your time on the terrace with us - twice.

We look forward to seeing you again and again.

Best wishes
Paul Goodwin, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2016

Firstly, St Mawes is such a wonderful place; quiet, unspoilt and absolutely charming. We drove over on the King Harry Ferry: lovely little car ferry across the Fal from a sweet little road, with lovely staff (they have film nights, now showing Pirates of The Caribbean and Perfect Storm ... love it!).

The Idle Rocks hotel is right on the waterfront, not even a road separates you from the sea. The staff are lovely, the hotel is beautifully done (very Kit Kemp-ish) and our double-aspect room overlooking the harbour was gorgeous. It's not cheap, but it's definitely a unique place to stay.

Breakfast was excellent, too. Shame that some guests think that money can dispense with manners: like the woman standing in the corridor having a long telephone conversation after 10:30pm, or the man who came down to breakfast, not even reaching his table where his fellow diners waited, but went straight to the breakfast table to spoon cereal on his bowl and all over the floor, then not even waiting to get back to his table to glug down a glass of orange juice.

Idle Rocks, your hotel is truly lovely - thoughtful, friendly and beautiful. Guests, you might not be beautiful, but you can have manners.

Room Tip: Definitely book a room with a sea view
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Choosy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2016

Dear Choosy44,

Thank you for your honest review following your stay with us. We are delighted to hear how 'truly lovely' you found us and our 'wonderful place' of St Mawes. It really is a special place.

We hope you can join us again in the future.
Best wishes
Paul Goodwin, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2016

First of all the location is magical, sitting right on the waterfront in St Mawes, with a great patio in front of the hotel overlooking the sea, perfect for a relaxing drink on a sunny day before lunch or dinner.

The hotel decor is beautiful and the attention to detail is amazing. The hotel staff are all delightful, attentive but definitely not overbearing or stuffy.

The food is to die for, breakfast certainly sets you up for the day and the two evening meals we had in the hotel were absolutely first class.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for a room with a sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julestog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2016

Dear Julestog,

Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us. It was delightful to read about your visit and I'm pleased to hear that the team looked after you well and you enjoy the whole experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind regards
Paul Goodwin, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2016

St Mawes is a long way and not on the way to anywhere. So is the journey worthwhile just to stay at The Idle Rocks in St Mawes. The answer is definitely yes. The hotel is a very worth new member of the Relais and Chateaux franchise. Impeccably refurbished without any bling. It commands the Harbour setting. Wonderful in every way. We stayed 4 nights.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the harbour with wonderful views from the bath.
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank intrepidmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMawes2015, Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear intrepidmanchester,

Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent stay with us for four nights. We are so pleased to hear that it was worth the long journey to get here and that you enjoyed your whole experience.

We hope you will be able to join us again in the future.
Kind regards
Paul Goodwin, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2016

What a delightful place St Mawes is, and The Idle Rocks Hotel is the icing on the cake.

Beautifully situated to view and watch all that goes on in this sublime Cornish fishing and boating village.

Everything about the hotel is gentle and friendly. The rooms are beautifully decorated with an eye to co-ordination and design, with simple and relaxing decor, clearly a deal of thought has gone into all aspects of the luxury needs of the guests..all that I have said about the rooms also applies to the rest of the hotel.

The staff are all young, and have clearly been well trained, nothing is too much trouble and they are all friendly..a great balance of young people working together..very refreshing.

The restaurant and food is equally as good as the rest of the comments above.

We have really enjoyed our relaxing 4 days with our other friends from the Cotswolds, we all, even though we are nearer the end than the beginning, lead very busy lives, we have all agreed that it's been a rejuvenating and relaxing oasis in our busy schedules to have stated here at The Idle Rocks..We will definitely return..Thank you All, and Thanks to Chris H for the recommendation. Tim Harrison. Tour the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank T1MBO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StMawes2015, General Manager at The Idle Rocks, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2016

Dear Tim,

Thank you for your lovely review following you and your friends recent stay with us. We are so glad to hear how relaxing your found the 4 days and I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team, who will be delighted to hear your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you all back in the future.
Kind regards
Paul Goodwin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews