We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual luxury - average food.”
Review of Hotel Tresanton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Tresanton
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2009

I stayed at Tresanton for one night as part of a touring holiday. The valet parking was seemless, and the staff in general were efficient and polite - and at no point did you get the impression it was in order to gain larger tips, as can be the feeling elsewhere. The decor of the hotel is very much casual, rather than glamourous luxury. The terrace has great views, and the ideal spot to enjoy a G&T.

We had a very nice lunch on the terrace, but were distinctly under-whelmed with the evening meal. The tables in the restaraunt seemed very close together, and not at all conducive to a private conversation - my husband and I felt like we were on one large table eavesdropping on ten strangers! The menu seemed strangely constructed, and the food rather bland and tasteless in comparison to other restaraunts with a similar price point. Fine dining is one of our hobbies and we felt that this meal should have been much better for a hotel of this quality.

I did have a massage as recommended, and although the massause was obviously highly qualified and knowledgable, I felt as though I had been beaten up at the end of it, and had some spectacular bruises the next day! I guess the moral of the story is that you need to make it clear if you want a relaxing, rather then "therapeutic" massage. However, I'm sure it did my muscles/joints good!

Overall, I would recommend Tresanton for its ambience and service. I completely understand why the hotel doesn't supply tacky add-ons such as tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms (why spoil a lovely room with a kettle and tea bags). Anyhow, I'm sure that the staff would arrange for tea/coffee to be sent up if requested. I'm sure there were parts of the hotel we didn't discover (were there gardens???), but very much enjoyed our relaxing night there.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 658 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2009

Great mediterrean-style food. Simple and elegant. Beautiful dining room with mosaic floors, white table cloths and a great view - even better from the terrace.

Service is fabulous - we went there after long walks, looking windswept and, one time, wet, but they couldn't have made us feel more welcome despite our poor appearance.

Dinner is expensive but the all day brasserie style menu is reasonable - £10 for a plate of exquisite fresh pasta for example, with seafood, or ricotta and herbs.

We didn't stay but used the small but lovely lounges.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank konahooha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

We recently stayed following many recommendations from both friends and colleagues. If you have not been to St Mawes- DO visit- The hotel (and town) is simply a perfect retreat from the City madness and mayhem. We found perfection in every way- the food is well prepared and mouth-wateringly tasty (as is the wine!) ‘Relaxed atmosphere’ is so very overused- but NOT in this case, the stunning almost Mediterranean views and the décor still have us raving. The town has many interesting & quirky shops including the hotels boutique (which was my wife’s favourite find!) The local pub (ideally sited next to the boutique!) serves an excellent pint of local ale. Lastly, everyone we have spoken to have insisted we must have a massage from Dawn- what can I say? WOW!! The BEST massage ever- anywhere!
Would we recommend this hotel to anyone? Most certainly, our highest expectations were met in every way; we can’t wait to get back!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovestotravel1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I was unhappy to be kept waiting on the phone to see if they could "fit us in " for lunch. When we arrived there were only 4 people in the place!
The Hotel receptionist was so of hand and the restaurant manager was almost as bad. The restaurant had no atmosphere at all.
The food was just not good enough for £25 per head for two courses, starter of lobster spaghetti was so small, with bouncy lobster and no flavour. Main of pork belly with on crackling! fiddly bits of apple and potato in thimble size pieces. The basic ingredients were good when they went in the kitchen but was it the chefs day off?
The view is good as was the wine and coffee. I suggest eating at the Deli in town and having your coffee and a cold glass of wine on the terrace at this over rated hotel which is more like a B+B that has grown than a hotel, with lots of steps connecting lots of small rooms.
Parking is a real problem and the road is very narrow.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank foodiegirltwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fbertolini, Manager at Hotel Tresanton, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2009

I don’t feel this review is a fair reflection of what the hotel has to offer.

When you ring to book a table, the phone is answered by a hotel receptionist. Reception would know immediately if a hotel room was available but not necessarily a table in the restaurant. They do need to check on a restaurant booking sheet, which might take a few seconds to access.

The pork crackling is grilled separately and used as a garnish. I am not sure why this is described as a derogatory point, as it is an integral part of the dish.

There are lots of steps in the hotel and this comes with our great location by the sea. We explain the location of the rooms to everyone booking the hotel and we have porters who deal with the luggage and valet park guest cars in the hotel car park. We are also very happy to valet park the cars of lunch and dinner guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

I've just come back from 3 days at the Tresanton and had to write a review to say how enjoyable it was. Everything was spot on - the staff were friendly and professional, the food was excellent, yummy cocktails in the bar and super speedy room service.

We arrived and within seconds our car had been whisked away by a valet and our bag spirited up to our room. There were lots of little extras which made the place feel special. A hip beach bag in our room with towels, Hunter wellies in your size, umbrellas and raincoats in borrow. Our room was made up twice a day and always seemed spotless and lovely.

We stayed in Room 28 in the Nook which was gorgeous - huge bay window with a seat overlooking the harbour. It was like having your own apartment - entrance straight off the road with no hotel reception to pass. Lux bathroom with walk in shower and bath for two.

St Mawes is a pretty little village, lots to do in the area. Only downside is there no real decent pub - we ate and drank in both and very average.

There were lots of kids staying and they seemed well catered for - there was a games room, Wendy house and children's tea at 5:30 (which meant no children in the dining room in the evenings). If you were planning on using the baby listening service I would advise staying in the main hotel. The buildings are dotted around the site and I wouldn't have felt comfortable leaving our little ones alone so close to the road/harbour.

Would highly recommend this hotel for both a romantic break and a family holiday!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

The Tresanton is a great place to go for a treat. Yes the prices are high but in terms of value it delivers. Its not a good place to go if on a budget (we normally are, but weren't on this trip) as looking at the prices might spoil the enjoyment.

We went as a group of two couples and booked the family suite, room 25. It turned out to be a good choice as the second bedroom is more than adequate in terms of size. The main bedroom has an ensuite and there's a second off the living area with sizeable shower. As the top floor room in the top block (its on a hill) 25 has a great view from the balcony. If with kids (we don't have any so this view may be wrong) I would think the ground floor suite or one of the rooms in the main block might be better - as the spiral staircase might be tricky to navigate with a child.

The hotel is spread up the side of a hill. Its not far by any means up to the top block but in the height of winter or with anyone infirm maybe get a room nearer the bar!

Service was brilliant. The hotel itself was brilliant. There are lots of hidey rooms where you can get even more solitude to read a book / papers - so a winter stay is very tempting. We really did feel very comfortable and at ease - its a very fine line to get all the details in place to make that happen (the Covent Garden Hotel does it too). Breakfast was awesome. I'd say evening dinner was good for once or twice per trip but we headed out to sample the rest of St Mawes too.

We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

My husband and I have stayed in this hotel (for a 3 or 4 night break) on eight occasions now - needless to say, we obviously enjoy it! We will be returning again in June this year.
From the moment we pull up outside, the hustle and bustle of city life disappears - and the Tresanton calm envelopes us. For us, much of it's charm is the laid back, apparently casual air ... all made possible by an excellent army of staff.
Personally, we like the slightly 'disjointed' variety of buildings as they help to give Tresanton its own personal feel. We prefer to stay in the bedrooms in Upper Tresanton - they all have private terraces where you can enjoy breakfast, a glass of wine or even dinner. Even 'though this is quite an uphill trek for the waiters, they always appear polite and cheerful! However, the two 'small' bedrooms really are quite small.
The restaurant tables are rather close together - however the food itself and the service are both excellent. I would NOT agree with several other reviewers that the food is overpriced.
Trips on Pinuccia and the rib are great fun - we have both booked again for this June and just hope the weather isn't too bad!
Without a doubt, would recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsCWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.3 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
200 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
216 reviews
3.3 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ship and Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tresanton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tresanton

Address: 27 Lower Castle Road, St Mawes TR2 5DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range: $247 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tresanton 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tresanton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tresanton Hotel St Mawes
Hotel Tresanton St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing