We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A return to my past!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Mawes Castle

St. Mawes Castle
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This round stone artillery fortress was built for Henry the Eighth in 1542, using a cloverleaf plan with a four-storied round tower. Take the free audio tour to discover life at the castle during the Civil War and explore the castle and grounds with its stunning views out to sea. Child friendly and dog friendly.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A return to my past!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

50 years' later I returned to St. Mawes, where my family used to rent a self accommodating apartment above the "old fire station". For me these were the most exciting memories! The old castle, built by Henry VIII, now in the hands of English Heritage was a feast for my eyes! Well preserved and a delight to visit!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank coralnavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    134
    21
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Lovely location, good audio tour, very interesting visit with great views across the Carrick Roads and to St Anthony's Lighthouse

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JuneHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A 'must' for Henry VIII fans”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with our visit to this castle. We used the audio guides, which gave us so much more information and enjoyment to our visit. Our daughter had just sat her A level history exam on the Tudors, so she was fascinated to visit one of Henry VIII's coastal fortresses. Excellent location overlooking Fal estuary towards Pendennis Castle (also English Heritage). Car park next to castle and tea & coffee available in shop. Venue can be hired for weddings April-Sept. on Saturdays, so check before setting out, that Castle is open.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 074Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
520 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

We ignored all the perimeter parking signs and drove into St Mawes to see the castle. We ended up parking in town, paying and walking back to the castle. A great walk. We met a couple that had taken the ferry across from Falmouth to walk around in St Mawes. Great idea as you only have to park once to see both towns. At the castle we realized there is a large parking area at the castle that had plenty of room. The castle is great for kids as there are only 3 floors, so you can keep up with them. The bottom floor cannon openings can be climbed through to the outside and there is a lot of green area among the ramparts. Great for a picnic, very scenic.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BobxxxxCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This castle is perched on the hill side overlooking Falmouth bay and over the water so you can't get a better location. You can see st Anthony's lighthouse from here over the sea and across to pendent is castle in Falmouth. They do weddings here as well which must be fab. Lovely gardens and really interesting visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cheshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Mawes Castle also viewed

 

Been to St. Mawes Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing