We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service ,expensive food”

Hotel Tresanton Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in St Mawes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $65
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The dining room has a calm and cool Mediterranean atmosphere with a mosaic floor and tongue and groove walls. It has a terrace on two sides, where lunch, drinks and candlelit dinners are served in the summer, and whenever the temperate climate allows.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent service ,expensive food”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Lovely situation with great staff. The bloody Mary's are second to none but the food does not live up to expectation. The pizza was ok but nothing like the quality of Daylesford yet more expensive .Overall worth a visit for the experience but the food is a bit disappointing in its execution. It has great local produce yet doesn't quite hit the mark

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lowsonfordllama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    73
    34
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Really lovely meal, in a very lovely hotel”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We popped in to Hotel Tresanton for afternoon tea on a recent trip to Cornwall and ended up staying for dinner as it was just so lovely. Went with our children, and like any truly 5 star establishment, they were made to feel very welcome. Roaring fires, friendly staff and lovely food. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank We_do_love_to_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“special place and memorable food”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Food art - beautiful - with interesting and complex flavour, texture and colour - completely satisfying

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stroudtastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
1 review
“A lovely surprise”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We were here in late March, without plans or reservations and it was recommended to us. They had a table, the staff were wonderfully friendly yet professional. The food was super. The rocket, beet, and orange salad was light with a nice balance of flavors and textures. For a main I had sea bass, which had a crispy skin and was light and flaky, balanced off against green beans and olives, whose saltiness both matched and contrasted the fish. My wife had the gnocchi--they too were excellent (not the little potato bombs that you sometimes get). The deserts were divine, the Tunisian orange cake was spongy, chewy and rich while the pannacotta was quite simply the best I had ever eaten. A truly outstanding dinner.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joshua S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egloshayle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous service.... great views”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Lunch at the Tresanton is a great experience. Firstly the guy who was front of house asked if I would like my car parked...which was a huge yes please.....Lunch was the most delicious fresh cornish crab salad I have ever had, the stunning views from the outside terrace add to the attraction plus the inside restaurant are immaculately decorated as I would expect for an Olga Polizzi venue, after all she is the 'Hotel Inspector '. Recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggiewombwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Tresanton Restaurant also viewed

St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 
St Mawes, Roseland Peninsula
 

Been to Hotel Tresanton Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing