We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top luxury guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nearwater Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 St Mawes B&B and Inns
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“top luxury guest house”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

superb place. Run by friendly and extremely knowledgeable couple. Ideal if you turn up without a plan for your days out!
cant find any faults with the Nearwater, its smoothly run, a great place to stay and located in a beautiful seaside village.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_2020_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    9
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
71
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This B and B is a real testament to how far the sector has come in the past few years, with small establishments offering a true bespoke and boutique experience that is a true alternative to larger hotels. The Nearwater is a beautiful house and garden with a very high quality specification and finishes, which is complemented by Amelia's warm and professional personality and service.

Our room was Percuill, which is a good size and offers glimpses to the sea. The room is fresh and the bed very comfortable.

I do however agree with previous reviews that if you want a quiet intimate experience then you should avoid periods when they are running events. Whilst we were staying they were running a 3 peaks event which did make the house somewhat hectic particularly at breakfast and I don't think would suit most people. In this instance we didn't manage to sample the normal breakfast fare and we did have confusion at checkout as no one was around. However as you will note we haven't marked nearwater down on this point for 2 reasons: firstly they did ask if we minded others joining us and having a more simple breakfast and we agreed - so obviously we could have said no and they would have kept it separate, and secondly it is very commendable that this couple takes such an active role in their local community - so just be sure and check before you go if something is on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKlondon09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights at the start of the Summer at the smaller "Cabin" room

If you do book this room DO NOT worry that it is going to be too small. I've stayed in smaller standard sized rooms in many hotels! Beautifully furnished and absolutely spotless. Almost like being on a luxury yacht.

Ingenious use of space with bespoke, solidly built furniture and hidden storage. Very tasteful nautical feel with highly chromed port-hole mirror and flush metal cabinet handles. Excellent quality fabrics and drapes and a VERY comfortable bed with soft furnishings and bolsters.

En-suite was a bit of a squeeze but only because there is a very large shower, which was quite luxurious. The room and en-suite were kept rigorously clean throughout our stay. Absolutely gleaming.

Our hosts were sprightly and knowledgeable, seeming to be both efficient and relaxed at the same time. A feat of character! Breakfast was very good with a different daily special available if you didn't fancy the regular choices. Cereals, fruit (banana for me ;) yoghurt, cooked breakfast all available and all of fine quality.

In essence, you should go! St. Mawes is one of the most beautifully kept and genuine little fishing villages in the area with loads of routes to explore the headland. Nearwater B&B is 2 minutes walk from the harbour (hence the name!) and, if like us, you fall in love with St.Mawes, there's no real reason to venture further afield!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6ft3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night of our 'minimoon' last week and we were impressed with the high quality accommodation, definitely 5 star standard. Amelia and Tim were wonderful hosts and the breakfast was exceptional. We hope to stay here again soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here during the St Mawes Classic Car Festival and it really could not have been better. Although the owners were busy organising the Festival, they still had time to attend to their guests and make us comfortable.
The rooms are light and airy, with comfortable beds and all of the luxury amenities.
Breakfast was (if you availed yourself of all that was on offer) sufficient to see you through to the following morning. Every day there was a different special, and all of it looks especially delicious.
The house is new and freshly decorated and has (for St Mawes) the important off street parking. It is only a short 5 minutes’ walk to the harbour and the centre of the town.
We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Three of the rooms are on the first floor. I think that only one is on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed with my parents at Nearwater over Easter in summers and percuil. We had a very warm welcome and were offered a hot drink and hot cross bun which we had in front of a lovely open fire. This was very welcome as it was bitterly cold outside. The rooms were exceptionally clean. You have use of a pantry which is very handy if you want to make yourself a cup of tea or coffee anytime of the day and the fridge was useful to keep our wine cold. The proximity of the b&b to the harbour and town is a 10 min walk, where there are lovely pubs and restaurants to eat. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouLew72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a visit to St Mawes. It was a very nice B&B. The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. The shower was amazing and the luxury toiletries were really appeciated.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love_travel_0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.2 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
393 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Ship and Castle Hotel
0.3 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
628 reviews
2.9 mi away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Trewithian
485 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nearwater Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nearwater Bed & Breakfast

Property: Nearwater Bed & Breakfast
Address: Nearwater Polvarth Road | Nearwater, St Mawes TR2 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in St Mawes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New 2010 luxury Bed & Breakfast in the beautiful fishing and sailing village of St Mawes. The house has been completely renovated in a coastal/New England style. Accommodation includes all modern facilities combined with the personal touch of your hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nearwater Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nearwater Bed & Breakfast St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing