We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Cheerful Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ship and Castle Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights in a superior room, staff very friendly and well organised. The room was first class with views of St Mawes harbour.I understand that the Hotel is due for refurbishment over the next few months which I hope will secure the popularity of the Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hotelsleeper_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 473 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2010

On reading the reviews before going to St.Mawes I was not expecting much of the hotel.
We were pleasantly suprised when we arrived. OK the hotel is an old building but did not see much peeling wallpaper!! The stair carpets are frayed but not dangerously so.
The staff are great, the rooms were clean and warm, no problems with the hot water.
The breakfast was good, plenty of choice but sometimes not very hot. The evening meal,
the starters were good but the main courses not as good as other Shearings hotels I have been to. The portions of veg were very small, two small dishes between 2 people just really enough for one person. Sweets OK.
The evening entertainment was excellent.
Overall we thought it was great value for money and would go there again.
I understand that the hotel is to be refurbished ready for next year.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WendyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We were looking for a weekend away and this part of Cornwall offers plenty of good places to visit and St Mawes has the added benefit of the regular ferry service over to Falmouth - we spotted a national press ad for what looked to be a decent hotel & booked. Days later we arrived and were allocated room 101. There the disappointment began - tatty bedding - sheets with holes, stained matted blanket, stained bedcover; the lino in the bathroom was rippled making the floor uneven, the avocado bath and surrounding tiles were poorly sealed - some parts held together with adhesive tape, the lightswitch was faulty, the corridor outside stank of damp. We asked to move to another room and to see the manager ... the person we asked simply shrugged ! As for the meals - if you are a vegetarian you'd best forget it. The waiting staff were hard working and pleasant but could scarcely understand or speak a word of English so were unable to explain any of the dishes on the menu. If you like stone cold overcooked pasta it might suit you ..... say no more ! We await a response to our complaint from the operator Shearings who really should be capable of providing much better facilities and service to its customers.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TastravellerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Location fabulous, staff friendly, but that's where it ends. Hotel needs complete redecoration as minimum right now. Wallpaper black in places from people who have driven suitcases into walls over years, carpets threadbare, some wallpaper held up with white plastic tape. Room small with wallpaper covering half of window. Window opened to brick wall. As a consequence room very stuffy. Had to sleep with bathroom door open to let air through. Contrary to recent comment from hotel manager, this is not a hotel that is good value for money. Good value for money infers just that..value..decent quality decor, decent food that doesn't cost the earth. Hotel set up for budget coach trips. No space to socialize in evening away from cabaret turn. Sincerely hope that management start to take on board the feedback on this site and refurbish hotel and as a result turn it into somewhere that does justice to the lovely location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carly34_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

The lift was out of order for 6 days (due to be replaced, however); Lots of repairs needed; Smell on one Landing and from outside, Wallpaper held on with gaffa tape; We changed rooms after 2 days due to toilet cistern needing repair plus the shower was only 18" square. Second room an improvement but wallpaper hanging off wall and bathroom in need of some work. Waitresses worked hard in the Restaurant (food was quite good) but service was often slow (some guests left without being served at one meal). The water served in the restaurant had an antiseptic taste to it. Overall, It seems that some rooms are OK whilst others are in need of renovation. If Shearing are prepared to spend a good deal of money this could be a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank parkstma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We have just spent 7 nights at the Ship and Castle on a Shearings coach tour.Our room No. 122 had an excellant view over the harbour.We were stunned and surprised to find only a hand-held shower head in the bathroom.No shower screen or shower curtain.The water from the hot tap was rarely even warm making it impossible to fill a bath.In addition the toilet cistern took 15 minutes to fill making it most inconvenient for us to flush the toilet.Ventilation of the bathroom was impossible as the small window frame had been sealed.
During our stay we had some rainfall which got into the public areas causing bad odours.It was obvious by the peeling wallpaper that rainwater regularly penetrated the hotel.The management was aware of this problem and had attempted to tape the wallpaper to the wall and put a dehumidifier on the landing.
The dining room staff were harassed.There did not appear to be any system in operation to ensure the correct food reached the correct table.As a result some guests did not receive their food for 45 minutes at times.The restaurant manager was most apologetic.We recommend that guests should buy fresh fruit and juices from the Co-op next door as the food offered at breakfast was such poor quality.
We think a hotel inspector shown these problems would close the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Psquared675738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Surprised at the last two comments - what do people want?
O.K my very generous son had arranged an upgraded room for us to a superior sea view and it was absolutely lovely.
The Shearings package cost is very good value for money.
Note to Shearings we have been to the Eden project far too many times now perhaps you could offer some alternative tour to this now?
Only down side - maybe if you a big big eater then the evening meal may be a little small but the food was very good all the same.
ALL IN ALL - a nice stay with a beautiful room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLIPFLOP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Mawes
0.1 mi away
The Idle Rocks
The Idle Rocks
#1 of 5 in St Mawes
409 reviews
0.0 mi away
The St Mawes Hotel
The St Mawes Hotel
#3 of 5 in St Mawes
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tresanton
Hotel Tresanton
#2 of 5 in St Mawes
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
904 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
927 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship and Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship and Castle Hotel

Address: The Quay, St Mawes TR2 5DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro District > Roseland Peninsula > St Mawes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in St Mawes
Price Range: $70 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship and Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where the Rivers' Fal and Percuil meet to join the open sea, St Mawes boasts the perfect picture postcard retreat and at the heart of the village, right on the quay you will find The Ship and Castle Hotel. Once The Ship and Castle Inn, and a warren of small fishermen's cottages (remnants of which can still be seen at the rear of the existing building) The Ship and Castle is now a 54 bedroom hotel with all the charm and character one would expect for its location. Our bar and lounges offer the perfect location for a peaceful day in St Mawes watching the world go by, or enjoying a traditional Cornish Cream Tea. We have a selection of sea view rooms which understandably are in high demand and are well recommended to make your stay that little bit more special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your The Ship and Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship And Castle Hotel St Mawes, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing